Jump to content


Upgrading PC


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

dun_kirk #1 Posted 03 July 2012 - 10:09 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13520 battles
  • 22
  • Member since:
    01-17-2012
Bare with the noob. I've had my "new" pc for 2 years. I have currently a fairly minimal system. However from googling it sounds like I can upgrade a fair bit.

Currently
32 Bit set up on mother board
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.4GHz)
3GB DDR2 PC2-5300 (2/4 slots)
256Mb Nivida 8400GS

yet I can apparently do the following....

64 Bit Bios switch on mother board
Intel Core 2 Quad ~ overclock to 3Ghz?
8GB DDR2 PC2-5300 (4/4 slots)
1GB Graphics card? (PSU:ISO-P500S, max 405Max watt, +12V (27-37A) )

Any insight into this?

I think I might upgrade the graphics card first, it seems the easiest. Many 1G cards say:

"Minimum of a 300 Watt power supply. (Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 18 Amps"

One issue is, maybe I misread but the total ram of 32bit is about 3-4G, (RAM + graphic card etc). Is that true? If I upgrade to a 1G card would I have to 64bit the mother board to support the extra RAM of the card?

Thanks

PointyHairedJedi #2 Posted 03 July 2012 - 10:14 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 27740 battles
  • 533
  • [CIRC2] CIRC2
  • Member since:
    03-21-2012
My understanding is that the graphics card on-board RAM is treated differently than the system RAM - only the card actually uses it.  I also would upgrade to a 400W supply to be on the safe side, but it really depends on the power needs of the graphics card you get.

I'm in sort of a similar position, only unfortunately my computer is somewhat older so more RAM & a better processor mean getting a whole new motherboard into the bargain.  I was able to upgrade my graphics card without too much trouble (though the latest drivers make it fall over badly, probably because I'm still using XP).

MazaisNestabilajs #3 Posted 03 July 2012 - 10:19 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 21242 battles
  • 1,417
  • [L-G-N] L-G-N
  • Member since:
    09-12-2010
You can't just "switch" from x86 to x64 system. If you mean replace the motherboard, then buy one with a 1155 socket(buying an old 775 motherboard wouldn't be smart) and get a i5 processor, eats less electricity (specially the ivy bridge) and is better in all other ways.
It's not worth to upgrade that system.

Anyway, if you go with the upgrade, that processor takes plenty of power and if you want a GDDR5 videocard then you need at least 500W+ power supply.
And no, you never sum videocard memory with physical memory.. that's not how it works.


As I saw from your post you practically don't know anything about building a rig and what you know is mostly incorrect, I suggest you go to an online shop and take a ready build, don't assemble it yourself...
No idea where you live but in USA there is an awesome store called NCIX, you can take a look at their rigs even if you don't live their you can buy the same parts in a different shop.

i486DX #4 Posted 03 July 2012 - 10:29 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 9 battles
  • 1,422
  • Member since:
    05-29-2012
Wow, wow, wow. Hold on matey, please read a bit about how PCs work before you start screwing with yours. Because from what Ive read in the OP, it wont end well.

My advice is to ditch this PC and go for a new 1155 Ivy Sandy/Bridge Socket Board as Lito said or AMD AM3+ (Meh, cant recomend AMD to be honest) Give us a budget to work with.

Edited by i486DX, 03 July 2012 - 10:35 PM.


LOVE_U_LONGTIME #5 Posted 05 July 2012 - 06:54 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 27229 battles
  • 753
  • Member since:
    03-02-2011

View PostLito, on 03 July 2012 - 10:19 PM, said:

You can't just "switch" from x86 to x64 system. If you mean replace the motherboard, then buy one with a 1155 socket(buying an old 775 motherboard wouldn't be smart) and get a i5 processor, eats less electricity (specially the ivy bridge) and is better in all other ways.
It's not worth to upgrade that system.

Anyway, if you go with the upgrade, that processor takes plenty of power and if you want a GDDR5 videocard then you need at least 500W+ power supply.
And no, you never sum videocard memory with physical memory.. that's not how it works.


As I saw from your post you practically don't know anything about building a rig and what you know is mostly incorrect, I suggest you go to an online shop and take a ready build, don't assemble it yourself...
No idea where you live but in USA there is an awesome store called NCIX, you can take a look at their rigs even if you don't live their you can buy the same parts in a different shop.

I'd go even higher mate, I would go for at least 700W. The PSU is the most over-looked piece of hardware in a PC. People forget that the PSU is the "heart" of the machine, and should go above what they actually need.

i486DX #6 Posted 06 July 2012 - 01:14 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 9 battles
  • 1,422
  • Member since:
    05-29-2012

View PostBushwaka, on 05 July 2012 - 06:54 AM, said:

I'd go even higher mate, I would go for at least 700W. The PSU is the most over-looked piece of hardware in a PC. People forget that the PSU is the "heart" of the machine, and should go above what they actually need.

1155+Decent GPU= 600W PSU is plenty

piep #7 Posted 06 July 2012 - 01:45 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 8627 battles
  • 540
  • Member since:
    05-27-2011

View Postdun_kirk, on 03 July 2012 - 10:09 PM, said:

64 Bit Bios switch on mother board

Your CPU can already run a 64bit OS. You just need to get appropiate OS (i.e. Ultimate versions by microsoft) and check how much ram memory does your mainboard support.

PSU: if you are getting a cheap one, try going a bit higher in watts, since their efficiency can hit some low %s. Implying, that you are going for something like this, a 450w-500PSU would easily cut it.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users