Jump to content


Upgrading the T29

t29 upgrades

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

GeneralJock #1 Posted 05 August 2012 - 08:22 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 386
  • Member since:
    11-06-2011
I've upgraded the tracks, engine and gun on the T29 now. I am looking at the radio and turret now.

Radio - 9,000XP to go from 395m to 745m which is from a Tier VI to a Tier IX radio. Surely that will worsen the MM for games since you're introducing a Tier 9 module? Is the tougher MM worth the extra range?

Turrent - whopping 12,100XP for an additional 50m viewing range, and some additional weight to slow you down. Same traversing rate, same armour. I can't see the point of this upgrade other than to elite and move up to the T32?

What do you guys think?

Ntown #2 Posted 05 August 2012 - 08:42 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 234
  • Member since:
    07-09-2011
Modules don't affect MM
Turret: more HP, worth it

saml6131 #3 Posted 05 August 2012 - 08:45 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 4,053
  • Member since:
    08-12-2011
Also, upgraded turret increases your rate of fire for your 105mm gun.

GeneralJock #4 Posted 05 August 2012 - 08:47 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 386
  • Member since:
    11-06-2011
I though the MM took account of the module tiers when placing you in-game? I defer to your greater knowledge.

Useful info on the RoF and HP.

Thanks alot guys.

typhaon #5 Posted 05 August 2012 - 08:51 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 5,991
  • Member since:
    08-22-2010

View PostGeneralJock, on 05 August 2012 - 08:47 PM, said:

I though the MM took account of the module tiers when placing you in-game?

That was back in early beta days... now the module tiers are just cosmetical and mean nothing.

slowcow #6 Posted 02 September 2012 - 11:21 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 417
  • Member since:
    04-15-2011
Perhaps anyone can tell me, do I need to unlock tracks before I can equip 105mm and turret?

Blogis999 #7 Posted 02 September 2012 - 12:14 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 48
  • Member since:
    12-14-2011
bad ass T29 , love it very nice vs same tier batles , alot win , 1 of best tier 7 heavys in game, just go turet gun and radio + engine

slowcow #8 Posted 02 September 2012 - 12:16 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 417
  • Member since:
    04-15-2011
Still confused, so I do need at least new turret to equip 105mm?

Aegaeon #9 Posted 02 September 2012 - 12:22 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 288
  • Member since:
    11-06-2011
weight: .. calculate the diffrence of ur old gun and the next gun u wanna mount. add this diffrence to weight of ur tank. number is higher than the max-weight? u cant, else u can mount it.
research: is gun in a reasearch-line behind the 2nd turret u allrdy not have researched. u need the new turret 1st. is the gun not behind the 2nd turret, u can mount it into 1st turret.

Edited by Aegaeon, 02 September 2012 - 12:23 PM.


baizondi #10 Posted 03 September 2012 - 11:14 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 290
  • Member since:
    04-06-2011
First thing you need is to research the suspension. You need that extra load capacity in order to mount other modules. From there it is all up to you. I personally reserched the modules as follows: suspension, turret, gun, engine, radio, engine- second upgrade. The 105mm gun can be placed on the stock turret.

Villan1 #11 Posted 05 September 2012 - 06:38 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 368
  • Member since:
    03-28-2012

View Postslowcow, on 02 September 2012 - 11:21 AM, said:

Perhaps anyone can tell me, do I need to unlock tracks before I can equip 105mm and turret?

yes

manti111 #12 Posted 05 September 2012 - 07:18 PM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 474
  • Member since:
    12-22-2010
Not having the T29 (On the M6 now), but this is the upgrade path I would take myself:

Tracks, to be able to mount everything
105mm
Turret
Engines

Already have the radio.

Might actually swap 105mm and turret as the 105mm only fires 4.3 rounds a min in the stock one. Improved one cranks to 5.something rounds a min.

Edited by manti111, 05 September 2012 - 07:20 PM.


ady5 #13 Posted 09 September 2012 - 10:22 AM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 152
  • Member since:
    09-05-2010
I agree

View Postmanti111, on 05 September 2012 - 07:18 PM, said:

Not having the T29 (On the M6 now), but this is the upgrade path I would take myself:

Tracks, to be able to mount everything
105mm
Turret
Engines

Already have the radio.

Might actually swap 105mm and turret as the 105mm only fires 4.3 rounds a min in the stock one. Improved one cranks to 5.something rounds a min.

I agree, although I for one researched the second engine because I want to get into positions rather fast.

For me the order was:
Tracks(to install rammer/vent/stab)
Gun(to get better XP so I level faster)
1st engine(so i won't be so sluggish, and retreat faster, I relay mostly on alpha damage and go back in cover). Also, installing the 2nd turret with the stock engine is a pain for relocating or getting into positions(extra weight)
Turret(extra HP, better RoF)
Radio
2nd engine

I suggest you research the engines on T29 because you'll also use them on T32 and I think T29 is a better tank to do that, lower tier, hence better MM.

Edited by ady5, 09 September 2012 - 10:23 AM.