Jump to content


How this System will Run WOT maxed out


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

_HOXTON_ #1 Posted 07 August 2012 - 01:17 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 35793 battles
  • 581
  • Member since:
    03-27-2012
i am thinking of buying a new gaming pc best between performance and price, any advice are highly appreciated

Processor 4x 3.1 GHz Intel Core i5-3450 Ivy-Bridge
Graphics Adapter 2048MB GeForce GT630 (HDMI/DVI)
System Memory 8 GB [2x 4GB] DDR3-1333 RAM
Hard Disk / SSD 500 GB S-ATAIII
Operating System home premium 64bit
Mainboard ASUS P8Z77-M

Edited by Dezhxim, 07 August 2012 - 01:17 PM.


rainmakerjg #2 Posted 07 August 2012 - 01:21 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 19918 battles
  • 377
  • [SPIKE] SPIKE
  • Member since:
    10-18-2010
Sorry but it will not change significantly your performance as WoT is using only one Core of the processor. It will limit access to your graphic processor and memory anyway. So If you are planning to buy computer for WoT - make sure that single Core is as big as possible or you can just buy computer as described and wait for new game engine. If they will access 3 other cores - you will have really good gaming machine.

von_chom #3 Posted 07 August 2012 - 01:42 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17146 battles
  • 1,409
  • [_CALM] _CALM
  • Member since:
    09-18-2010
bit of OT :

but i can recommend you another processor i5 2500k, i doubt u will ever use your CPU at 100%
(EDIT : looks like CPU price is same, but still 2500k looks better to me)

also for the graphic card, 2GB of ram.. u can pick something cheaper and invest that money to SATA3 disk (as a storage for games etc)

because i cant imagine game which will take 2GB of VGA ram

my 2cents :)

Edited by von_chom, 07 August 2012 - 01:46 PM.


Barba667 #4 Posted 07 August 2012 - 01:49 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 47206 battles
  • 21
  • [W-ACE] W-ACE
  • Member since:
    06-09-2011
Look at my PC i play BF 3 on high but on WOT i get only 40 fps and some strange lagg with normal ping 25-55.

CPU - Intel i5 2500k sandy 3,3 GHz
GPU - vtx-ati radeon hd6870
RAM - G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1866 MHZ 2x4GB
MB - ASROCK P67,PRO3,iP67
OS - Win 7 Ultinate 64bit

Yag0 #5 Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:04 PM

    Lieutenant –°olonel

  • Player
  • 3168 battles
  • 3,420
  • Member since:
    04-24-2012
Isn't DDR3 designed to be used in trichannel ?

So 3x4gig would perform faster , and as Barba said get the 1866Mhz .

Edited by Yag0, 07 August 2012 - 06:04 PM.


CrySpy #6 Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:52 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 22321 battles
  • 1,001
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    04-07-2011

View Postvon_chom, on 07 August 2012 - 01:42 PM, said:

also for the graphic card, 2GB of ram.. u can pick something cheaper

Excellent advice. Do not follow it.

You have chosen a budget GFX card, I recommend you to move up to mid range cards. It doesn't look like Nvidia has got any good mid range cards for the 600 series at the moment. AMD has though. 77xx-78xx should suit your needs best.

To sum it up, swap your budget GFX card with a midrange one and you'll have an excellent system for not so much money.

DDR3 is the third version of DDR(not East Germany, for you witty guys). It should also be noted that it is the amount of RAM that makes the biggest difference. Higher clock speed or lower access times should not be a concern unless you are benchmarking.

edit: the "k" prefix in Intel's CPUs are more expensive and offer no performance gain over the non "k" models other than the overclocking aspect

Edited by CrySpy, 07 August 2012 - 06:54 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users