Jump to content


How do I set up W.o.T to join the Public Test Server?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

Witblitz #1 Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:24 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 9055 battles
  • 352
  • [NDC] NDC
  • Member since:
    01-15-2012
Can someone tell me what steps to take to be able to join the 0.8.0 Public Test when it launches next week? Do I make a copy of my existing WoT installation, what do I need to change for it to be able to patch to 0.8.0 and join the test server?

PCManiac #2 Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:27 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Special Beta Tester
  • 13674 battles
  • 1,147
  • [VKS] VKS
  • Member since:
    05-06-2010
There will be a public announcement on main WoT page (also known as Portal) with a link to 0.8.0 client and all necessary instructions.

Grabarz19_PL #3 Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:28 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 10968 battles
  • 4,430
  • [NOFUN] NOFUN
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010
If you want to keep the original 7.5 WoT client you will have to make a copy of it, then once the test server launches there will be a patch to download which you will have to apply on the copied version of your game.

And as above, the instructions will be given.

Homer_J #4 Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:31 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17545 battles
  • 13,153
  • [AXIOM] AXIOM
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010
The last few tests have all been different, some wanted a copy of your existing install, some had a complete standalone test client to download.  With this being a major update beyond a bit of interface tweaking and new tanks it's likely to be the latter.

We won't know until the test is announced.

Swoopie #5 Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:49 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 18579 battles
  • 1,966
  • [IDEAL] IDEAL
  • Member since:
    01-15-2011
Wait, it's coming already next week?

Gremlin182 #6 Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:50 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 17567 battles
  • 1,653
  • Member since:
    04-18-2012
As they said the last few betas you copied your original game into another folder.
Name the folder so you know its a beta then download the small exe file put that in the folder and run it.

Make sure its going to update the files in the beta folder not your originaal.
Once updated create a new shortcut or just run the exe from within the beta folder and your on the test server.

You maye have difficulty getting into the game at some times of the day due to too many players on the server.

That worked for the previous betas we will just have to see what happens when 8.0 is announced.