Jump to content


[8.0] Crash of the WOT Application after click on "Play" button in WOT Launcher

Crash 8.0 access start-up launcher

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

darksnake #1 Posted 30 September 2012 - 09:03 AM

    Private

  • Beta Tester
  • 5065 battles
  • 3
  • [AIR] AIR
  • Member since:
    10-17-2010
Hi All,
My WOT game is crashing when I try to launch the game from the "Play" button of the WOT Launcher. I am aware that if this would have been a systematic bug, the forum would have been bombarded with complains, but since I am the 1st one reporting, I have to dig into my Windows system to identify wtf is the issue.
My system is a Dell XPS L501X (i5 M460 2.53GHz, 8GB Ram, 500GB hdd, Intel Video HD + NVidia GeForce GT 420M), and the game is set to use the NVidia card from NVidia Application Selector. The "Exception Code" shows me that this is a fatal memory access violation.

I have installed the game from its full install kit but also from its internet installer, but I have the same error. I will try to update the video driver of my NVidia card or to use the Intel HD instead, but this will make the gaming very very slow.

In Windows Application log, the Error appears as:

Faulting application name: worldoftanks.exe, version: 0.8.0.0, time stamp: 0x505b52ff
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0xffffffff
Faulting process id: 0x22ac
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd9edd5bc3284f
Faulting application path: D:\My Briefcase\My Games\World_of_Tanks\worldoftanks.exe
Faulting module path: unknown
Report Id: a0f1901b-0ad0-11e2-9d16-ac72baadc5a3

In Windows Application log, the Information appears as:

Fault bucket , type 0
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0
Problem signature:
P1: worldoftanks.exe
P2: 0.8.0.0
P3: 505b52ff
P4: StackHash_9b10
P5: 0.0.0.0
P6: 00000000
P7: c0000005
P8: ffffffff
P9:
P10:
Attached files:
These files may be available here:
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\AppCrash_worldoftanks.exe_82cbb7af54ae46848d7b14a40eba1bd7ad649d1_1d939a1d
Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: a0f1901b-0ad0-11e2-9d16-ac72baadc5a3
Report Status: 4

darksnake #2 Posted 30 September 2012 - 09:21 AM

    Private

  • Beta Tester
  • 5065 battles
  • 3
  • [AIR] AIR
  • Member since:
    10-17-2010
I have switched to "Intel Video HD" as prefered graphics processor and after that the game started succesfully. This is very unpleasant for me, because of the poor 3D performance of this card compared to the NVidia card.
I will try to update the NVidia graphic driver version, probably there is the issue. My NVidia graphic driver version is: 266.39

cant_be_bothered #3 Posted 30 September 2012 - 09:21 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 20517 battles
  • 514
  • Member since:
    07-09-2012
I see this quite regularly too, not all of the time but it does happen.  Nvidia GTX560Ti

Edited by sromano, 30 September 2012 - 09:22 AM.


Messiah26 #4 Posted 30 September 2012 - 09:25 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 10808 battles
  • 14
  • [RDDT1] RDDT1
  • Member since:
    02-27-2012
I have the same problem with ATI Radeon HD 5700.

andy2k10 #5 Posted 30 September 2012 - 09:40 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 14105 battles
  • 885
  • [-RPD-] -RPD-
  • Member since:
    11-21-2010
my wot chrashes on my laptop, after i log in and it says that the game is preparing to enter the garage...and bam. windows-7 64 bit tells me that the game dont work.
no mods installed. allready re-installed the game. but it keeps chrashing.

darksnake #6 Posted 30 September 2012 - 10:42 AM

    Private

  • Beta Tester
  • 5065 battles
  • 3
  • [AIR] AIR
  • Member since:
    10-17-2010
I have succesfully upgraded the NVidia driver on my system and now the game application is runing fine.
I have also battled 3 times to "validate" that the application works stable.

Now my driver version is 306.23. The initial version was 266.39.

The NVidia driver I had until now was the original one from the Dell support site for my laptop system (Dell XPS L501X) and it was almost one and a half years old. It doesn't include an automathic update functionality, and personally I haven't update it manually because my laptop system is a "company" own and not a "private".
Now, desperated to play the game, I manually updated my NVidia video drivers with the official drivers from the NVidia support. I noticed that the NVidia official driver has an automathic update feature, so I will be "up-to-date" from now on.

P.S. I hope my company's IT department will "forgive" me for upgrading my video drivers without their "permision and blessing", I did it with my best intentions for a better goal ... to play the game!

Lurenkask #7 Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:54 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 17101 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    05-30-2011
I discovered that if I deny WoT to handle edge-smoothening and instead set my graphicscard( AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series) manually to morphologic filtering x8 I can suddenly start the game without any problem.
No other parameter seem to matter. :Smile_great:

brownie212 #8 Posted 19 November 2012 - 01:40 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 1 battle
  • 1
  • Member since:
    11-11-2012
I'm experienceing this problem too, I'm running an AMD HD 6250, all drivers are up to date and i've attempted the solution suggested by lurenkask above. does anyone have any ideas what else i can do to play the game?