Jump to content


[0.8.1] Vertical Tech Tree (With pretty lines!) v1.5.2 [2012-11-02]


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
149 replies to this topic

Poll: The Horizontal Tree... (670 members have cast votes)

Do you like the new horizontal Tech Tree? (Or as they now call it, simply "Research"...)

  1. Yeah, i think it's better then the old one! (104 votes [15.52%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.52%

  2. Hell no, bring the vertical one back or atleast make it optional! (499 votes [74.48%])

    Percentage of vote: 74.48%

  3. What's with these tanks that's lit but i still haven't researched them?!? (also, give me a vertical Tech Tree tyvm) (67 votes [10.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.00%

Where did the experience/credits needed for a tank function from 0.7.5 go?

  1. Yeah, where did it go WG? (626 votes [93.43%])

    Percentage of vote: 93.43%

  2. I don't know, I don't care... (44 votes [6.57%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.57%

Vote Hide poll

Pettingson #1 Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:48 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 9517 battles
  • 77
  • [-SWE-] -SWE-
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010
Hello my fellow tankers! If you, like me, have been confused since 0.8.0 came out you'll like this. I found a mod that made the tech tree more compact, and i started going through the files. I noticed I would be able to make them vertical :o

After i had started working on it i looked if someone else had done the same, and they had. But what they lacked was the pretty lines(The hardest part about the whole thing)

Thanks to a post EW_ did in his topic i finally was able to solve the problem I had been having these last days!
The one i wrote about here!

Screens:
Spoiler                     

The reason why there's only lines and no arrows is because the arrows points in wierd directions sometimes. So instead i made the lines easier to understand, by going down, side, then up to the tank beside :D

Sadly... This does not affect the research areas of the tanks. That would be a much bigger effort.. And seeing how many dislikes as it is now perhaps WG will do it themselves. Until then, enjoy :o

Tech Tree Styles: (Not high contrast, Yet. But rightclick working)
Spoiler                     

DOWNLOAD V1.5.2:(Vertical Tech Tree)
High and Low Resolution:
Mediafire

Changelog:
Spoiler                     

Edited by Pettingson, 03 November 2012 - 01:22 AM.


Diego5194 #2 Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:53 PM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 12519 battles
  • 478
  • [CHUPS] CHUPS
  • Member since:
    07-10-2010
Great job!I'm so confused when I'm looking at the tech tree,it's easier to look a vertical tree than a horizontal one.

Keep up the good work!

Edited by Diego5194, 03 October 2012 - 09:54 PM.


Morty_Jhones #3 Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:03 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 14176 battles
  • 142
  • [HGMAD] HGMAD
  • Member since:
    10-31-2011
nice work, I dislkie the Hoazontal tec tree As well but the main resion WG did it was so as to slip the prem tanks into the apropreate lines. if you could find a way to slip them into the tree great :Smile_great:

if you look there are plenty of tanks out there that they ant done yet and i suspect many more prem tanks and hopfully normal tanks for them to fill in the blanks with.

minifighter4300 #4 Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:08 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 14949 battles
  • 86
  • [DKPB] DKPB
  • Member since:
    06-16-2011
yeah very good idea maybe wargaming will, make one that looks like, if you show it. maybe they even will use the one you made :) dont think it happens but GJ ;)

JauneDasie #5 Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:11 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 18782 battles
  • 1,224
  • Member since:
    08-31-2011
OMG thanks so much for this!!! Can't wait to use it :Smile_great:

Edited by BSDrelent, 03 October 2012 - 10:11 PM.


Pettingson #6 Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:15 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 9517 battles
  • 77
  • [-SWE-] -SWE-
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010

View PostDiego5194, on 03 October 2012 - 09:53 PM, said:

Great job!I'm so confused when I'm looking at the tech tree,it's easier to look a vertical tree than a horizontal one.
Keep up the good work!
Thank you heh! Same :D

View PostMorty_Jhones, on 03 October 2012 - 10:03 PM, said:

nice work, I dislkie the Hoazontal tec tree As well but the main resion WG did it was so as to slip the prem tanks into the apropreate lines. if you could find a way to slip them into the tree great
if you look there are plenty of tanks out there that they ant done yet and i suspect many more prem tanks and hopfully normal tanks for them to fill in the blanks with.
Well i can put the premiums anywhere i want, or remove them compleatly from the Tech Tree. I put them beside so you won't get confused by them clogging up the real deal. Perhaps they should be on the right side instead, so they wouldn't push the Tree out for those with low res :D

View Postminifighter4300, on 03 October 2012 - 10:08 PM, said:

yeah very good idea maybe wargaming will, make one that looks like, if you show it. maybe they even will use the one you made  dont think it happens but GJ ;)
Hah, i doubt that xD But thank you anyway. I simply took a mod i went a step longer with heh :o

View PostBSDrelent, on 03 October 2012 - 10:11 PM, said:

OMG thanks so much for this!!! Can't wait to use it :Smile_great:
Me neither D:

AN225 #7 Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:17 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 19903 battles
  • 1,771
  • [TESLA] TESLA
  • Member since:
    10-09-2011
Dude, you just made my day. If u ever come to Belgrade, Serbia; you have a drink from me :)

EDIT: French tree looks awesome :)
Germans, well still way better then horizontal thing, althou lines looks a bit complicated, still they were complicated back than :)
After a year here this won't be a problem :)

Can't wait for the rest :) Great job man :)

Edited by AN225, 03 October 2012 - 10:25 PM.


Pettingson #8 Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:28 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 9517 battles
  • 77
  • [-SWE-] -SWE-
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010

View PostAN225, on 03 October 2012 - 10:17 PM, said:

Dude, you just made my day. If u ever come to Belgrade, Serbia; you have a drink from me :)

EDIT: French tree looks awesome :)
Germans, well still way better then horizontal thing, althou lines looks a bit complicated, still they were complicated back than :)
After a year here this won't be a problem :)

Can't wait for the rest :) Great job man :)

Thanks for the feedback! Yeah I think they are a bit complicated too myself. Now that i've fixed the problem i had, perhaps i can make them easier to understand.

Eddy__ #9 Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:28 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21804 battles
  • 558
  • [BTHRT] BTHRT
  • Member since:
    03-21-2012
Keep going! Can't wait ;)

Pettingson #10 Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:35 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 9517 battles
  • 77
  • [-SWE-] -SWE-
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010
Okey, did a sublte but still effective change:
https://dl.dropbox.c...0/shot_1205.jpg

This clears up alot of the confusion for my own part. Thoughts?

Edited by Pettingson, 04 October 2012 - 11:05 PM.


TigrisPanthera #11 Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:45 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 12116 battles
  • 41
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011
+1 and fantastic work.

Was about to suggest similar around the 3001H but you are too efficient clearly!

Do you think you should increase the distance lines drop down before going across slightly? Just thinking that when the lines are faded due to lack of research, then junctions can be hard to see (maybe I am just a bit blind). To take an example, the VK3002DB. perhaps dropping them a few pixels will make them easier to see when they are not possible but you are planning ahead. Just a suggestion and hope you dont think I am critisising. Edit : separating them has helped already but see what you think.

Edited by TigrisPanthera, 03 October 2012 - 10:46 PM.


SpiderXoo7 #12 Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:49 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 23595 battles
  • 724
  • [CRM] CRM
  • Member since:
    07-08-2011
Awesome! thanks for this! ..... Why the hell WG couldn't just originally do the tree like this in 8.0 is beyond me... who the hell thought the horizontal mess they made was a good idea I wonder...

MK1palmer #13 Posted 03 October 2012 - 10:49 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 9982 battles
  • 1,000
  • Member since:
    08-25-2011
Why realy. its not hard to read.  Comon.

Pettingson #14 Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:00 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 9517 battles
  • 77
  • [-SWE-] -SWE-
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010

View PostTigrisPanthera, on 03 October 2012 - 10:45 PM, said:

+1 and fantastic work.

Was about to suggest similar around the 3001H but you are too efficient clearly!

Do you think you should increase the distance lines drop down before going across slightly? Just thinking that when the lines are faded due to lack of research, then junctions can be hard to see (maybe I am just a bit blind). To take an example, the VK3002DB. perhaps dropping them a few pixels will make them easier to see when they are not possible but you are planning ahead. Just a suggestion and hope you dont think I am critisising.

Yeah... Someone should mod the SWF to remove the damn research/credits buttons from the Tech Tree xD

They do indeed get hidden at the DB. They aren't compleatly in the middle yet! So 3-4 pixels i could put them down :D

Don't worry, as long as you don't sound like a prick i'm happy ^^

EDIT: There, now that's "fixed"(better atleast), it's in the middle between now!
https://dl.dropbox.c...0/shot_1208.jpg

Edited by Pettingson, 03 October 2012 - 11:08 PM.


Koptor #15 Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:09 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 6431 battles
  • 125
  • [RNGC] RNGC
  • Member since:
    06-08-2012
+1 Excellent work on the tree   :Smile_glasses:

Edited by Koptor, 03 October 2012 - 11:10 PM.


TigrisPanthera #16 Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:19 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 12116 battles
  • 41
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011

View PostPettingson, on 03 October 2012 - 11:00 PM, said:

Yeah... Someone should mod the SWF to remove the damn research/credits buttons from the Tech Tree xD

They do indeed get hidden at the DB. They aren't compleatly in the middle yet! So 3-4 pixels i could put them down :D

Don't worry, as long as you don't sound like a prick i'm happy ^^

EDIT: There, now that's "fixed"(better atleast), it's in the middle between now!
https://dl.dropbox.c...0/shot_1208.jpg


<sounding like an angel> ^^

That looks great for my blind eyes :)

BolshoyN #17 Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:36 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 39210 battles
  • 538
  • [RED_S] RED_S
  • Member since:
    10-16-2010
Try this one

http://forum.worldof...е#entry13442313

AN225 #18 Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:38 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 19903 battles
  • 1,771
  • [TESLA] TESLA
  • Member since:
    10-09-2011
That german tree looks awesome :) can't see a damn thing i would add on it :) great work man :) WG should hire you :P

Pettingson #19 Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:43 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 9517 battles
  • 77
  • [-SWE-] -SWE-
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010

View PostTigrisPanthera, on 03 October 2012 - 11:19 PM, said:

<sounding like an angel> ^^

That looks great for my blind eyes :)
Hihi, there you go! <3

View PostShadowhachi, on 03 October 2012 - 11:36 PM, said:

I didn't even try that one because the lines looked hideous xD I did take a look in the XMLs though, in which he had barely done anything about the lines.

View PostAN225, on 03 October 2012 - 11:38 PM, said:

That german tree looks awesome :) can't see a damn thing i would add on it :) great work man :) WG should hire you :P
Hah, not quite! ;o

Popovic123 #20 Posted 04 October 2012 - 12:08 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 13709 battles
  • 972
  • Member since:
    08-22-2011
YAY!
MY HAPPINESS WILL NEVER END!

Ty, ty, ty, ty....