Jump to content


[0.8.1] Vertical Tech Tree (With pretty lines!) v1.5.2 [2012-11-02]


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
149 replies to this topic

Poll: The Horizontal Tree... (670 members have cast votes)

Do you like the new horizontal Tech Tree? (Or as they now call it, simply "Research"...)

  1. Yeah, i think it's better then the old one! (104 votes [15.52%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.52%

  2. Hell no, bring the vertical one back or atleast make it optional! (499 votes [74.48%])

    Percentage of vote: 74.48%

  3. What's with these tanks that's lit but i still haven't researched them?!? (also, give me a vertical Tech Tree tyvm) (67 votes [10.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.00%

Where did the experience/credits needed for a tank function from 0.7.5 go?

  1. Yeah, where did it go WG? (626 votes [93.43%])

    Percentage of vote: 93.43%

  2. I don't know, I don't care... (44 votes [6.57%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.57%

Vote Hide poll

fast_eddie #21 Posted 04 October 2012 - 12:16 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5363 battles
  • 41
  • Member since:
    08-13-2012
Please implement this WG---i have no clue as to whats going on in the V8 tech tree, its awful!!!

Pettingson #22 Posted 04 October 2012 - 12:28 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 9732 battles
  • 70
  • [-SWE-] -SWE-
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010

View PostPopovic123, on 04 October 2012 - 12:08 AM, said:

YAY!
MY HAPPINESS WILL NEVER END!

Ty, ty, ty, ty....
Thank you too for the support heh! I'm not taking all the credit and thanks though. My emphesis in my version is on the lines. And separation of premium tanks :D

Also, here's the US Tree:
https://dl.dropbox.c...0/shot_1209.jpg

Pettingson #23 Posted 04 October 2012 - 01:54 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 9732 battles
  • 70
  • [-SWE-] -SWE-
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010
First post updated with download link!

You're now free to try it out and give me feedback here on the forums. I'm going to bed now, but wanted to get this up here before i was going :D

Deathtiny2266 #24 Posted 04 October 2012 - 02:46 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 9267 battles
  • 2
  • [E-STU] E-STU
  • Member since:
    04-20-2012
nice one! -   hopefully WG will change their minds so you don´t have to do all tanks too ^^

Until that - big tnx from me!

Maj_Havoc #25 Posted 04 October 2012 - 04:58 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 5549 battles
  • 557
  • Member since:
    07-01-2010

View Postminifighter4300, on 03 October 2012 - 10:08 PM, said:

if you show it. maybe they even will use the one you made :) dont think it happens but GJ ;)
War gaming often use mods or ideas from the community and add them to the game, adjustable OTM is just one example, and the new post round stats screen is much like that displayed by an app I cannot mention(due to Eula restrictions), that data mines the dossier file at the end of rounds.

Mick6666 #26 Posted 04 October 2012 - 06:59 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    10-04-2012
This was so awesome i had to register to +1 it.
And so i can quote it properly on the SEA forums, this is so awesome it needs to be shared.

zaprazvazap1 #27 Posted 04 October 2012 - 07:08 AM

    Corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 30298 battles
  • 165
  • Member since:
    07-19-2010
i have 1280 x 1024 and i still have to scroll it to the right... :(  can you make it smaller please?

Aslain #28 Posted 04 October 2012 - 08:40 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 14600 battles
  • 12,719
  • Member since:
    07-20-2010
Will you add arrows to the lines? Because now it's unclear for some vehicles which vehicle leads to which one.

_b_ #29 Posted 04 October 2012 - 08:48 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 57984 battles
  • 4,179
  • Member since:
    04-06-2011
Slowly getting used to the new tree,..but looking at yours I realised just how much I missed the old vertical tree!! Looks great so had to give you a + for it!

Hope WG notices this, incl Ectar and the rest of the wg related crew that frequents this forum :)

AN225 #30 Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:13 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 29107 battles
  • 1,947
  • Member since:
    10-09-2011
I kinda hoped you will remove M3lee from usa tree, guess i still have to grind that :P

s1oan #31 Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:14 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 47995 battles
  • 937
  • [250H3] 250H3
  • Member since:
    12-05-2010
Great job! :Smile_Default:

May I add some more suggestions ?

- Please add some more info when you hover over an item : Remaining XP to develop it, remaining credits too buy it, remaining battles to develop it (using the average xp per battle in that vehicle).
- Move all premium tanks to another tab or add a checkbox to show them. This will save lots of space.
- Make all icons a little smaller till there's no need of scrollbars at lower resolutions.

Thank you very much for your hard work! +1 :Smile_Default:

gen1je #32 Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:16 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Clan Diplomat
  • 24599 battles
  • 596
  • [SBITE] SBITE
  • Member since:
    06-30-2011
Could you put premium tanks on the right?

Liviu_Von_Prundar #33 Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:28 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 37115 battles
  • 167
  • Member since:
    12-01-2011
God bless you, Pettingson !!!

_Paxly_ #34 Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:50 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 23685 battles
  • 625
  • Member since:
    04-22-2011
Great Job man!!!

and if u can do this, would be AWESOME :)

View Posts1oan, on 04 October 2012 - 09:14 AM, said:

- Please add some more info when you hover over an item : Remaining XP to develop it, remaining credits too buy it, remaining battles to develop it (using the average xp per battle in that vehicle).



nepumax #35 Posted 04 October 2012 - 10:55 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 9646 battles
  • 583
  • Member since:
    01-30-2012

View Postmakor86, on 04 October 2012 - 09:16 AM, said:

Could you put premium tanks on the right?
I had the same idea. Do it please!

And a further question is: Why don't you make a few lines directly?

Posted Image

Grim_Ragnar #36 Posted 04 October 2012 - 11:25 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 44895 battles
  • 24
  • [LUCKY] LUCKY
  • Member since:
    06-15-2011
Finally the most important fix for 0.8.0
many thanks!!!

I noticed a little "bug":
as long as the mouse is NOT hovering over a vehicle icon or the
scroll-bar you are not able to scroll using the mouse-wheel.
I think this comes from the removed background from the tech tree
and could be fixed with a simple transparent background image.

keep up the great work

XanaduFIN #37 Posted 04 October 2012 - 01:12 PM

    Private

  • Beta Tester
  • 16516 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010
It's awesome!
WG should definetly put this to the game.

Edited by XanaduFIN, 04 October 2012 - 01:12 PM.


SztywnyPan #38 Posted 04 October 2012 - 01:28 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 13844 battles
  • 647
  • [REPT] REPT
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011
You have done better job than this "professional" studio. :) Awesome job!

AN225 #39 Posted 04 October 2012 - 01:41 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 29107 battles
  • 1,947
  • Member since:
    10-09-2011
So i might add something :)

-Moving premiums to the right and place them all in one row, you will save entire column for ppl with lower res. We all know witch tier are premium tanks.
-If premiums are on the right, lower res ppl wont even have to scroll to see those.

ps: i have absolutely no idea how are you doing this. but if you need any help in pure "hard labor" i am in :)

EDIT: would making a fake account to give you one more +1 be bad? :D

Edited by AN225, 04 October 2012 - 01:43 PM.


Pettingson #40 Posted 04 October 2012 - 03:08 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 9732 battles
  • 70
  • [-SWE-] -SWE-
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010

View Posts1oan, on 04 October 2012 - 09:14 AM, said:

Great job! :Smile_Default:

May I add some more suggestions ?

- Please add some more info when you hover over an item : Remaining XP to develop it, remaining credits too buy it, remaining battles to develop it (using the average xp per battle in that vehicle).
- Move all premium tanks to another tab or add a checkbox to show them. This will save lots of space.
- Make all icons a little smaller till there's no need of scrollbars at lower resolutions.

Thank you very much for your hard work! +1 :Smile_Default:
Well, i'm unsure how to make that, but someone with working knowledge of actionscript could most certainly do that i believe. Since i got the swf premodded, i only did the lines and positioning of the tanks, I'm unsure how i would do that.

View Postmakor86, on 04 October 2012 - 09:16 AM, said:

Could you put premium tanks on the right?
I also wrote that in my second post, but it was so late last night that i just put it out so i could get some sleep heh...

View PostAslain, on 04 October 2012 - 08:40 AM, said:

Will you add arrows to the lines? Because now it's unclear for some vehicles which vehicle leads to which one.

View Postnepumax, on 04 October 2012 - 10:55 AM, said:

I had the same idea. Do it please!

And a further question is: Why don't you make a few lines directly?
Well the reason to why i didn't do them directly was because of there not being any arrows, and the reason why there's no arrows is best described by this pic:
https://dl.dropbox.c...0/shot_1214.jpg
It seems that it takes the angle of the arrow from the last axle on the line towards the "goal" BUT if this happens towards the left. Which it isn't made to be, only right, up or down. It gets wierd. Pointing towards the axle and not the "goal"(the tank in question)

If anyone would want to mod the original swf to fix the arrow problem, scrolling problem and such. Or give me hints to an exact tutorial i'd be happy. Since it seems when i compile my fla's it's always wierd and not working as it should...

View PostAN225, on 04 October 2012 - 01:41 PM, said:

So i might add something :)

-Moving premiums to the right and place them all in one row, you will save entire column for ppl with lower res. We all know witch tier are premium tanks.
-If premiums are on the right, lower res ppl wont even have to scroll to see those.

ps: i have absolutely no idea how are you doing this. but if you need any help in pure "hard labor" i am in :)

EDIT: would making a fake account to give you one more +1 be bad? :D
And indeed, i did write this in a post i made further down, but i just wanted it out yesterday so ^^

And thank you for the offer but don't worry ^^


Will do a separate low res version :D


EDIT:
I guess i could fix the arrow problem with a few more programming "tricks" but would take more effort. Also to be noted, i couldn't get the lines to start from more then one location at the moment. Hence why all start from middle below. I will look into this!

Edited by Pettingson, 04 October 2012 - 03:44 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users