Tank suspension

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
33 replies to this topic

kellso #1 Posted 15 October 2012 - 06:34 PM

Sergeant

• Player
  • 0 battles
I've been curious ever since i started playing WoT about the Suspension.
When looking at the US shermans, German Tigers and the USSR their T34/85 and the top tier tanks mostly have the suspension like the M103.
They all have different suspensions.
Now im wondering. Wat suspenion is good and wat is bad? and why are there many different suspensions?

Gaulwa #2 Posted 16 October 2012 - 12:46 PM

First Sergeant

• Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
Did you ever saw the history of bicycles?
http://4.bp.blogspot...cle-history.png

Suspensions are the same. It wasn't easy to find something that would fit all the required purposes.

I'm no suspension expert, but I'll try to explain the big lines:

Big wheels suspensions? Great for speed, easy to maintain, but if the wheels do not have the proper vertical freedom to follow a rough terrain, you might encounter some issues to maintain your speed.
Torsion bars suspension and leaf spring suspension were very sturdy and easy to maintain, but were also a bit rough and lacked the better offroad capabilities of springs.

Very often, it also depended of the industrial capacity of your country. Do you need something simple and easy to maintain in the field? Or something more complicated, but providing better offroad capacity.
Also, depending on the recoil or the weight repartition of the tank, you didn't necessary had a choice if you wanted the suspension to hold that weight.

Many suspensions hold pro and cons depending on your needs.

Some suspensions were unfit for swamps and cold climates and had a tendency to freeze or clog with mud and tree roots like the Panther:
Spoiler