Jump to content


100% GPU load in Garage

GPU Garage

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
39 replies to this topic

Xander77 #1 Posted 16 November 2012 - 02:24 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 19871 battles
  • 48
  • Member since:
    01-22-2012
Is it just me or is the garage very GPU intensive?

I only ask because currently I can use either the garage in world of tanks to stress test my GPU cooler or Unigine Heaven! Now call me old fashioned but shouldn't the relatively simple garage be a little less hardware intensive?

(I should state, I've got it running full screen 1920x1200, max settings and NO V-Sync on an EAH6970 DCii..cept now the DCii bit is out of date)

Ravensburg #2 Posted 16 November 2012 - 02:41 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13027 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    03-17-2011
I have this GPU issue too with a 6950, high settings and no vsync. No GPU intensive use at gameplay, only at garage.

unknwn #3 Posted 16 November 2012 - 02:43 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 20194 battles
  • 215
  • Member since:
    02-12-2011
Wot is really good at using hardware resources without any real results.

BloodMoney #4 Posted 16 November 2012 - 02:46 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 15768 battles
  • 82
  • Member since:
    08-14-2011
I can hear the fan on my gpu going quickly in the garage nearly just as fast as when in battle on a map. For some reason the garage must be just as intensive as in battle do not know why.

vistvan83 #5 Posted 16 November 2012 - 02:47 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 12530 battles
  • 326
  • [THUC] THUC
  • Member since:
    09-28-2010
Same here...this engine is funny as it can be.

Sortus83 #6 Posted 16 November 2012 - 02:49 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 7042 battles
  • 92
  • Member since:
    07-22-2010
never noticed anything like that.. ill give it a try. But ive got a NVIDIA card.

kwk75l48 #7 Posted 16 November 2012 - 02:58 PM

    Captain

  • Beta Tester
  • 20355 battles
  • 2,356
  • [TDC] TDC
  • Member since:
    11-28-2010
yep that garage is very gpu demanding in the early days if i left it in garage for 3 mins it would overheat my gpu and crash.

mrd555 #8 Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:01 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 9359 battles
  • 1
  • [SW666] SW666
  • Member since:
    05-18-2011
Actually, the problem is that the garage ISNT very resource intensive. Because of that the GPU isn't held back by things like the CPU or memory bandwidth. This causes the GPU to go nuts with rendering, it will output hundreds of frames per second. Also, the GPU has many different elements such as shader units, texturing units and rasterizers. Heavy graphic loads, like during a battle, mostly stresses the shader units while leaving other parts underutilized. The garage, being much simpler, doesnt stress the shader units as much. This causes other parts of the GPU to be used more often.

In short, while it is much easier to calculate a garage frame as opposed to a battle frame, the simplicity of the garage causes the GPU to calculate MUCH more frames per second than when in battle, increasing total GPU load.

Turning on VSYNC should solve this 'problem', because that setting will only allow the GPU to render a frame if the monitor is ready to output it (typically 60 fps).

i486DX #9 Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:04 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 9 battles
  • 1,418
  • Member since:
    05-29-2012
Same with a 6950, Im goint go turn on V-Sync and see what happens.

Ravensburg #10 Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:04 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13027 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    03-17-2011

View Postmrd555, on 16 November 2012 - 03:01 PM, said:

Actually, the problem is that the garage ISNT very resource intensive. Because of that the GPU isn't held back by things like the CPU or memory bandwidth. This causes the GPU to go nuts with rendering, it will output hundreds of frames per second. Also, the GPU has many different elements such as shader units, texturing units and rasterizers. Heavy graphic loads, like during a battle, mostly stresses the shader units while leaving other parts underutilized. The garage, being much simpler, doesnt stress the shader units as much. This causes other parts of the GPU to be used more often.

In short, while it is much easier to calculate a garage frame as opposed to a battle frame, the simplicity of the garage causes the GPU to calculate MUCH more frames per second than when in battle, increasing total GPU load.

Turning on VSYNC should solve this 'problem', because that setting will only allow the GPU to render a frame if the monitor is ready to output it (typically 60 fps).

Interesting, I`ll test it when I back home. Thanks.

SteveCeleste #11 Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:04 PM

    Private

  • Beta Tester
  • 11773 battles
  • 19
  • Member since:
    09-16-2010
Please do not bother WG about this, they are busy copying tanks and putting little Chinese flags on them.

Carlasmarksas #12 Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:08 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 37934 battles
  • 43
  • Member since:
    10-20-2011
If you are in garage and want to get a coffe our etc just turn on the reserch tree and gpu wount go up on full throtle, gtx 560 TI worked for me, sorry for mistakes. Have a good day.

krpi #13 Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:12 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13771 battles
  • 40
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011
ati x850 xt

My room temperature is climbing up by some 2 degrees per minute while i am in garage.

zseeeeee #14 Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:21 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 10580 battles
  • 204
  • Member since:
    06-26-2012

View PostSteveCeleste, on 16 November 2012 - 03:04 PM, said:

Please do not bother WG about this, they are busy copying tanks and putting little Chinese flags on them.
+1 of the day!

Aimless #15 Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:24 PM

    Major

  • Beta Tester
  • 25312 battles
  • 2,715
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    12-19-2010
I remember having had this issue with some test server client months ago. Not sure if a driver update solved that problem  :Smile_mellow:

RaimundP #16 Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:25 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 27101 battles
  • 1,198
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011
Use Vsync.

60 fps are enough.

unknwn #17 Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:34 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 20194 battles
  • 215
  • Member since:
    02-12-2011
Use vsync with 58 fps limit on 60Hz monitors. Vsync usually gives huge input lag in some games, WOT including. With vsync and 58fps limit there is almost no "felt" input lag.

Edited by unknwn, 16 November 2012 - 03:44 PM.


Trinitron_ #18 Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:35 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 16612 battles
  • 43
  • Member since:
    03-27-2011

View Postmrd555, on 16 November 2012 - 03:01 PM, said:

Actually, the problem is that the garage ISNT very resource intensive. Because of that the GPU isn't held back by things like the CPU or memory bandwidth. This causes the GPU to go nuts with rendering, it will output hundreds of frames per second. Also, the GPU has many different elements such as shader units, texturing units and rasterizers. Heavy graphic loads, like during a battle, mostly stresses the shader units while leaving other parts underutilized. The garage, being much simpler, doesnt stress the shader units as much. This causes other parts of the GPU to be used more often.

In short, while it is much easier to calculate a garage frame as opposed to a battle frame, the simplicity of the garage causes the GPU to calculate MUCH more frames per second than when in battle, increasing total GPU load.

Turning on VSYNC should solve this 'problem', because that setting will only allow the GPU to render a frame if the monitor is ready to output it (typically 60 fps).
Yes, but someone on another forum told me that Wot V-sync does not work in the garage. So a solution could be to use your GPU software. In Nvidia controlpanel  you can let Nvidia enable V-sync for specific games you have.
Hopefully it overun Wot....

Edited by Trinitron_, 16 November 2012 - 03:39 PM.


Xander77 #19 Posted 16 November 2012 - 04:28 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 19871 battles
  • 48
  • Member since:
    01-22-2012
Okay that's weird.

Turning V-Sunc on and the GPU goes down immediately to 66% load.

Kind of counter-intuitive though as V-Sync most often causes more GPU load!

zmeul #20 Posted 16 November 2012 - 04:47 PM

    Captain

  • Beta Tester
  • 19552 battles
  • 2,135
  • Member since:
    07-10-2010

View PostTrinitron_, on 16 November 2012 - 03:35 PM, said:

Yes, but someone on another forum told me that Wot V-sync does not work in the garage. So a solution could be to use your GPU software. In Nvidia controlpanel  you can let Nvidia enable V-sync for specific games you have.
Hopefully it overun Wot....
I dunno who told you what
but turning V-Sync on works for garage view too, it's the same bloody engine (!)
it's not a bitmap that you get to spin around





Also tagged with GPU, Garage

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users