Jump to content


Tier 2 Cruiser III Pom Pom Gun BUG or feature?

Cruiser British Light Tank Pom Pom Tier 2

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

ed_hunter #1 Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:31 AM

    Private

  • Beta Tester
  • 8738 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    01-20-2011
Have anyone else noticed that Pom Pom Gun on this tank cannot shoot further than 350m? This is really annoying, as in numerous situations you need to shoot at high range. And no, dont tell me the gun is not precise enough cause thats not true. At least 1 shell out of 100 should hit. I have tried the gun in the training with my friend and guess what: at ranges below ~350m I had 70+ % hits and at ranges beyond ~360m I had 0% hits. I fired hundreds of shots. The difference between hit and no hit is few meters. At one range I hit him almost every shot and if he is few meters further I miss every shot. If you dont beleive me just try it. Try to shoot someone at range of 360+m, you will miss every shot, that I guarantee. Dont know whats the deal with this gun. Have developers made it this way on purpose to prevent sniping? I assume noone from wargaming cares about this and they wont even read this, but I am interested in what community say. Thanx for your attention.

OberstKnorre #2 Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:47 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 22270 battles
  • 454
  • Member since:
    05-13-2011
gz for noticing this. Never heard about it.
I would suggest sending the replay of this training matches with a detailed description to the support. Maybe its really a unknown bug.

Balderik #3 Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:57 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 14648 battles
  • 112
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012
All automatic weapons have limited range. This is a game design feature, not a bug. So if you dislike the limited range you should go for another tank or another gun.
If you play the tank differently and get closer to the enemy you will soon see the strong side of the automatic weapons.

ed_hunter #4 Posted 31 December 2012 - 02:57 AM

    Private

  • Beta Tester
  • 8738 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    01-20-2011
Actually I have been successfully hit by pz II at ranges beyond 350m. I cant hit him, he devastated me. And pz II autocacanon is lower caliber than Pom Pom. Besides Pom Pom is not autocannon, it has drum, more like high tier French. Why dont they have limited range then? I am afraid you are not right about this :/ Need to find better explaintation. I hope I will have the youtube link to the match soon, if my friend is willing to record it and upload it. Then you can see what am I talking about.

Balderik #5 Posted 31 December 2012 - 02:23 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 14648 battles
  • 112
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012
Ok, yes you are right the pom pom is semi-automatic not automatic.
According to gamemodels3d.com, both the pom pom and Pz II's long 38 mm gun should have a range of 395 m. I have no idea how accurate this is or how they got the information, but its the only info I know of:
http://gamemodels3d....nks/vehicles/g8
http://gamemodels3d....ks/vehicles/b30
But if you testet the pompom and found a limit of 350 m then that's probably the correct limit. You could try to also test the PzII and see if it really has the described range of 395 m. If so, it explains your problem.

ed_hunter #6 Posted 01 January 2013 - 01:49 PM

    Private

  • Beta Tester
  • 8738 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    01-20-2011
I dont actually have time to test pz II now. nvm that, the real problem is this range limit on pom pom. you really feel handicap with this gun. I mean ppl shoot at you, and you see them but cant fight back? thats awfull :/ I hope I will have yt links soon...

jurjeskovici #7 Posted 01 January 2013 - 01:54 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 7502 battles
  • 979
  • Member since:
    10-15-2011
At that rage you will struggle to penetrate anyway, so I wouldn't really care. Also that tank is best used a a flanker or arty hunter.

ed_hunter #8 Posted 01 January 2013 - 03:06 PM

    Private

  • Beta Tester
  • 8738 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    01-20-2011
I dont have any troubles penetrating tier 1 and 2 tanks at 345m, and I would have trouble penetrating them at 355m? I would say you are wrong. I dont think that Pom Pom couldnt penetrate 1-10mm of armor at 355m. Other guns with same penetration dont have trouble.

Lancasthor #9 Posted 02 January 2013 - 10:11 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 19049 battles
  • 586
  • Member since:
    10-11-2010
Noticed this "feature" and even asked about it somewhere.
The limit of given 400 meters is way closer to 350 in reality, and that truly creates frustrating situations where you just have to try few times if it was you and your luck, or game mechanics making your shell disappear two meters before kill.

Some clarity to this issue would be nice. I enjoy taking my PomPom against Christmas-premium T2's

FTLK #10 Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:23 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 2 battles
  • 37
  • Member since:
    10-16-2012
Watch your reticle marker, it should turn red if your target is too far away to get hit by your shell (it turned blue for me in colorblind mode, you might try that for a change, its much more obvious there)

XPuntar #11 Posted 06 January 2013 - 04:08 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 14529 battles
  • 1,967
  • Member since:
    08-19-2012
Oh, so that is why I have so few hits on my Cruiser III when I am sniping? Even when I think I hit the opposing tank? Hmmmmm???

IronMouse #12 Posted 06 January 2013 - 04:40 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 12751 battles
  • 46
  • [FIOS] FIOS
  • Member since:
    03-19-2011
I'm a regular PzII driver and from experience (not real testing) I can say that anything beyond 360 meters can't be hit with the long 2 cm gun. Yes, even 361 meters. Seems the shell just "vanishes" and no comments from the crew about ricochets or non-penetrations anymore. Also, there is no indication anywhere that the target can't be hit (maybe recticle just goes "blank" as if not aiming at a tank, can't remember right now). You just have to know this and play accordingly. I assume this is how it works for all semi-automatic guns of that tier.

Edited by IronMouse, 06 January 2013 - 04:48 PM.


Tirbushon #13 Posted 10 January 2013 - 07:48 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 45639 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    10-11-2011
It is no gimmick- it is penetration of the cannon related to the distance. The reticle turns red so no penetration possible. That's all. The first cannon has no such problem and I can snipe with it even at ranges closer to 500m (it has higher penetration value).  This is the explanation I have for myself and I think it is the most possible one.

Cheers!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users