Jump to content


XVM Updater 2.9 (one click install/update)

xvm install update

  • Please log in to reply
1244 replies to this topic

McThundertail #21 Posted 13 January 2013 - 12:58 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 6468 battles
  • 301
  • Member since:
    08-12-2012

View PostLaCourgette, on 12 January 2013 - 01:50 PM, said:

I think these problems aren't caused by XVM itself, since it only downloads data at battle startup. Lag spikes are common on the EU server since one or two weeks, and perhaps you just had some unlucky disconnects due to your ISP or whatever. Anyway, if you can prove the game is running better while XVM is not running, we can tell it to XVM team and search a way to fix it.
Without XVM i have stable 50-70 ms ping and no lag or disconnects, but with XVM enabled i had ~110 ms ping and sometimes random disconnect in the battles.... :Smile_mellow:

LaCourgette #22 Posted 13 January 2013 - 03:21 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 23570 battles
  • 1,968
  • Member since:
    02-18-2012
XVM Updater v1.1
  • Greatly improved WoT installation folder auto-detect.
  • Improved a few translations/message boxes.
  • Improved graphical user interface.
  • Improved script interpreting procedure.
  • Fixed an error appearing randomly at the end of processing.
  • Fixed an error appearing if a drive wasn't ready.
  • Added win chances display option.
  • Script source can now be forced from command line (ex: "XVM_Updater.exe TEST.script").
  • Install/update procedure can now be stopped when the current action is finished.
  • If an error appear while downloading, error reason is now displayed.
PS: backward compatibility with previous versions is kept, XVM can still be updated with 1.0.1 version.



View PostMcThundertail, on 13 January 2013 - 12:58 AM, said:

Without XVM i have stable 50-70 ms ping and no lag or disconnects, but with XVM enabled i had ~110 ms ping and sometimes random disconnect in the battles.... :Smile_mellow:
You can try to install XVM again and launch WoT without XVM-Stat running (so XVM doesn't impact your Internet connection). Be sure everything is running fine (without lag and disconnections) then launch WoT from XVM-Stat shortcut that should be set on your Desktop. If lag & disconnects appear, there might be a problem with XVM and I'll inform XVM team of this issue .

2alertred #23 Posted 13 January 2013 - 03:32 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 16016 battles
  • 2,040
  • Member since:
    08-04-2011

View PostMcThundertail, on 13 January 2013 - 12:58 AM, said:

Without XVM i have stable 50-70 ms ping and no lag or disconnects, but with XVM enabled i had ~110 ms ping and sometimes random disconnect in the battles.... :Smile_mellow:

I suggest you run a    http://www.pingplotter.com/
and  insert wot IP and play few game with XVM and few without. Make 2 copys of the internet ports and you will see what causes lag.

Edited by 2alertred, 13 January 2013 - 03:33 PM.


McThundertail #24 Posted 13 January 2013 - 08:08 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 6468 battles
  • 301
  • Member since:
    08-12-2012

View Post2alertred, on 13 January 2013 - 03:32 PM, said:

I suggest you run a http://www.pingplotter.com/
and  insert wot IP and play few game with XVM and few without. Make 2 copys of the internet ports and you will see what causes lag.
Thanks both of you but i just installed XVM again and till now it works fine :)

Pastaiolo #25 Posted 14 January 2013 - 12:51 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 10490 battles
  • 1,112
  • Member since:
    01-19-2011
Hai LaCourgette :P

I see that it doesn't download the xvm-doc folder, that contains some example config, imho it would be nice for the program to download said folder too.

LaCourgette #26 Posted 14 January 2013 - 04:53 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 23570 battles
  • 1,968
  • Member since:
    02-18-2012
Hey Pasta,

The folder was deleted at the end of the procedure, like some readme.txt files and a few other temporary data. I wanted to keep the WoT folder clean but if people need these files, better perform a full installation in my opinion.
So I fixed the script remotely, the folder should be available if you update XVM again.

Edited by LaCourgette, 14 January 2013 - 04:55 PM.


TonyWwW #27 Posted 14 January 2013 - 10:04 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 33053 battles
  • 122
  • Member since:
    04-05-2011
Many thanks for this very very neat program :Smile_great:  I have tried unsucessfully to install XVM and couldn't get it working (I know I am thick) now I have it :Smile_Default:

Thanks

TonyWwW (Ex Clan buddy)

dieselro #28 Posted 15 January 2013 - 09:53 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7388 battles
  • 27
  • [REST] REST
  • Member since:
    05-03-2011
If you have installed V 1.0, you have to re-run the installer to update, or it's self-updating when you run the wot with xvm shortcut? Sorry for the "dumb question" :)

Cheers

Edited by dieselro, 15 January 2013 - 09:54 AM.


LaCourgette #29 Posted 15 January 2013 - 11:09 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 23570 battles
  • 1,968
  • Member since:
    02-18-2012

View PostTonyWwW, on 14 January 2013 - 10:04 PM, said:

Many thanks for this very very neat program :Smile_great:  I have tried unsucessfully to install XVM and couldn't get it working (I know I am thick) now I have it :Smile_Default:

Thanks

TonyWwW (Ex Clan buddy)
Hey Tony, I'm glad to hear it helped you, thanks for your feedback. :Smile_Default:

View Postdieselro, on 15 January 2013 - 09:53 AM, said:

If you have installed V 1.0, you have to re-run the installer to update, or it's self-updating when you run the wot with xvm shortcut? Sorry for the "dumb question" :)

Cheers
This program is just a "mindless installer/upgrader", it'll install the last XVM version regardless of your actual XVM setup so you have to run it every times the WoT client get a new version or when XVM get a critical update (not that often fortunately).
I didn't want to put a XVM-updater that launch XVM that launch WoT if you know what I mean, this isn't impossible to realize but it's not a good way to do things in my opinion. And of course, when you get XVM installed with this tiny program, you can delete it afterwards without any problems.

dieselro #30 Posted 15 January 2013 - 11:53 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7388 battles
  • 27
  • [REST] REST
  • Member since:
    05-03-2011
Thanks for your quick answer LaCourgette! I ran it and everything seems to be in working order! +1

IGL #31 Posted 15 January 2013 - 05:31 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 36358 battles
  • 1,512
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011
[x] keep old configuration file

result: config overwritten with default one.

GG Courgette

dieselro #32 Posted 15 January 2013 - 06:31 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7388 battles
  • 27
  • [REST] REST
  • Member since:
    05-03-2011
And now another :) Can you pls tell us how to uninstall it? Works perfect, but too much info can be bad at sometimes

LaCourgette #33 Posted 15 January 2013 - 07:20 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 23570 battles
  • 1,968
  • Member since:
    02-18-2012
@ IGL:

View PostLaCourgette, on 09 January 2013 - 12:25 AM, said:

Q: How does the 'Keep old XVM configuration file' option works?
A: Once you update to the latest game version, your res_mods/0.8.x folder is no longer used, so the utility will simply copy your old configuration file and put it back in your last XVM version installation directory. Use this option if you don't want the standard configuration created by the XVM's creators.

To keep the same sarcastic tone: thanks for reading! This option works only when the game is updated.

So, someone on the french forum told me that "Keep the old configuration file" was a bit ambiguous, I agree with that anyway and I'm working on it.
I think there is no need to use sarcasm or whatever, I do this on my free time and I'm not a paid programmer so if something goes wrong I think you can inform me normally, it won't hurt. Also please remember I made this program to help people and I'm not earning money or whatever with it, I don't wanna bother you if something doesn't work but it can happen.

Also, you should have read this probably:

View PostLaCourgette, on 09 January 2013 - 12:25 AM, said:

Please keep in mind that this software is still in development phase, some errors can appear on unusual configurations (old computer, over-tweaked WoT installation, restricted user account, ...). Anyway, I'll fix all issues as fast as possible if you give me enough informations: which error, 'Current action:' line text, WoT installation folder (if detected), Windows version.
So as I said, every problems/bugs will be fixed as fast as possible, just give me some time.



@ dieselro: I just made this for you:
http://www.mediafire...vfqyiqlolsg8x7l
With the last version (1.1) of XVM Updater, just drag & drop this file on the program icon without starting it previously (a message box will appear saying that the script source has been forced). It will uninstall completely XVM and put back a shortcut to the WoT launcher on your desktop, do not execute this script if you have mods in your res_mods\0.8.2\gui\ folder, because the program will erase everything in that directory. XVM Updater will told you that XVM was installed successfully but it's the default text to say everything went fine, please note that none of the options will work with this script.

Cippalippus #34 Posted 16 January 2013 - 12:01 PM

    Captain

  • Beta Tester
  • 34447 battles
  • 2,407
  • [TKBS] TKBS
  • Member since:
    07-09-2010
Amazing job, gonna try it, will update if it works.

edit: it works!

Edited by Cippalippus, 16 January 2013 - 07:19 PM.


FootballFan #35 Posted 16 January 2013 - 12:32 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 23472 battles
  • 685
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
I have problem with time indicator, look at this(top left corner next to lag indicator) Can I turn off one of those timers ?

Posted Image

Joggaman #36 Posted 16 January 2013 - 02:27 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 20388 battles
  • 5,010
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-23-2011
If i want playername in OTM together with tank-name, what to do?

R4ntanplan #37 Posted 16 January 2013 - 03:04 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 13084 battles
  • 1,103
  • Member since:
    07-29-2012
If I try to update, it dowlnoads xvm and starts to copy, but than it holds an says, the file is in usage?

Edited by K4rup, 16 January 2013 - 03:04 PM.


LaCourgette #38 Posted 16 January 2013 - 03:58 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 23570 battles
  • 1,968
  • Member since:
    02-18-2012
@ FootballFan & Joggaman: please use this thread for XVM related question, I'm not really used to XVM configuration editing and I think you'll get more accurate answers in the official topic.

@ K4rup: the launcher, xvm-stat.exe or the game process may be stuck (that means running but not displayed in your taskbar or on your screen). I advise you to reboot your computer and launch XVM Updater first, without opening anything before.

Lord_Zulu #39 Posted 16 January 2013 - 04:46 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 51482 battles
  • 575
  • Member since:
    09-01-2010
+1 from me V useful thank you for doing this

Purgafox #40 Posted 16 January 2013 - 05:51 PM

    Corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 19806 battles
  • 153
  • [S-W-C] S-W-C
  • Member since:
    09-01-2010
Hiho

i installed XVM via your Installer and it is kind of working. But it somehow wont show me the Data ingame and i have not found anything to activate it yet. :) Could you give me a nudge into the right direction?

Purga





Also tagged with xvm, install, update

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users