Jump to content


Upgrading the PC

Pc upgrade

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
39 replies to this topic

Sturmtiger_304 #1 Posted 30 January 2013 - 12:28 AM

    Brigadier

  • Beta Tester
  • 19603 battles
  • 4,081
  • Member since:
    08-18-2010
So, my XFX 9800GT finally said it's last words yesterday, after the recent Nvidia patch that completely borked it for some reason, I decided that my 5 year old PC needs some upgrades.
I'm writing this on the same pc, as I found a crappy XFX 7900GS lying around in the closet that still works suprisingly.


I've managed to scrape some info of goodies at our local hardware store & I came up with this:

1x: Intel® Core i3-3220 Processor

1x: Gainward GeForce GTX 650Ti 1 or 2GB PhysX, it's like 10 bucks difference.

1x: G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1600MHz 240-Pin PC3-12800 Desktop Memory F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL

1x: ASRock B75M-DGS LGA 1155 Intel B75 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard, but I can't find a site that allows me to buy it & send it to Norway at all, and this MB is no-where to be found at our local stores.

1x: Crucial M4 2.5″ 64GB SATAIII SSD, for OS only.

=

500$, including shipping to Norway. I got a case, some SATA lying around, 550W power supply & a optical drive.

It HAVES to be a Nvidia graphic card, I don't trust Radeons.
I'm trying to keep it around 500$, less would obviusly be great. I'm following this scheme: more green than orange in price to power ratio: http://www.hardware-...aming-pcs-v3-6/

If I take everything I don't need from this screenshot, like the case, hdd & power supply,  it would end up at 443$. Need another graphic card though:

Posted Image

_HOXTON_ #2 Posted 30 January 2013 - 12:59 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 37201 battles
  • 586
  • Member since:
    03-27-2012
always feels great when you building a new rig :-)
your setup is fine to run world of tank and considered a budget pc...just don't expect to run the game in maximum

Sturmtiger_304 #3 Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:21 AM

    Brigadier

  • Beta Tester
  • 19603 battles
  • 4,081
  • Member since:
    08-18-2010
I was thinking to run games like BF3/Skyrim/GW2/WT/MWO etc with at least high/near maximum settings on 1650x1050 resolution.

BigDov #4 Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:29 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 8319 battles
  • 518
  • [TXG-F] TXG-F
  • Member since:
    09-17-2010
should be fine even on max for all those games, I run World of tanks on max, and even mech warrior:online as long as AA is turned off can have the gxf on full @ 1650x1050, and that's a similar rig to what your building, except i went the AMD/ATi route :P

proc:Phenom x6 T1100 BE
ram: 8gb corsair vengeance.
GFX: 2x xfx 6870 1gb in crossfire.

BigDov #5 Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:37 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 8319 battles
  • 518
  • [TXG-F] TXG-F
  • Member since:
    09-17-2010
oh yeah as for the asrock MB, try overclockers.co.uk, they will deliver to norway or any where in the world.

Not sure if this is the actual MB but looks like it :- http://www.overclock...rodid=MB-087-AK

Sturmtiger_304 #6 Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:55 AM

    Brigadier

  • Beta Tester
  • 19603 battles
  • 4,081
  • Member since:
    08-18-2010
Do you know what the difference is between:

This: http://www.newegg.co...ID=3067296&SID=

And this: http://www.overclock...rodid=MB-087-AK

If it isn't any real difference noticable to performance, I'm probably going to buy the one you linked at Overclocked. Looks like I have to invest in a micro atx case as well.

Grand_Moff_Tano #7 Posted 30 January 2013 - 02:15 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 1764 battles
  • 10,728
  • [BC28] BC28
  • Member since:
    05-20-2011
I'm Upgrading my PC too :P

MSi 760GM-P21 FX
Ballistix Sport 8GB - 2x4GB Sticks
CAVIAR 500GB 16MB 7200 SATA 6GBS
RETAIL BOXED AMD X3 450
MS WIN 7 HOME PREM 64-BIT - SP1
CM HYPER TX3 EVO COOLER
500WATT POWER SUPPLY 24PIN

And I'm transferring my nVidia GeForce GT430 Graphics card

Edited by Pichu_Trainer, 30 January 2013 - 02:17 AM.


Sturmtiger_304 #8 Posted 30 January 2013 - 02:22 AM

    Brigadier

  • Beta Tester
  • 19603 battles
  • 4,081
  • Member since:
    08-18-2010
Nice Pichu, but I'd rather invest in a 600 series so you don't have to re-buy a graphic card anyways in the near fuature.

Still, wtb answer for my question above. :<

rancidpunk #9 Posted 30 January 2013 - 03:26 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 45873 battles
  • 407
  • [ORCA] ORCA
  • Member since:
    07-25-2011
Looks like a good set up :)

Just one thing to be aware of is that the Gskill ram on the original list will definitely work at the low voltage 1.5v but Asus website says it doesn't support 1600mhz on the MoBo spec and the one you have listed is rev.2.0 so you'll need to flash the bios if you get it anyway as it's at rev 3.0 now.

I had the same problem with my low power asus board but it's like wading through treacle finding the exact spec, the ram I bought was recommended to go with the board but just about worked so I got the GSkill you listed instead since the mobo recognises that ram profile instantly!

Sturmtiger_304 #10 Posted 30 January 2013 - 03:36 AM

    Brigadier

  • Beta Tester
  • 19603 battles
  • 4,081
  • Member since:
    08-18-2010

View Postrancidpunk, on 30 January 2013 - 03:26 AM, said:

Looks like a good set up :)

Just one thing to be aware of is that the Gskill ram on the original list will definitely work at the low voltage 1.5v but Asus website says it doesn't support 1600mhz on the MoBo spec and the one you have listed is rev.2.0 so you'll need to flash the bios if you get it anyway as it's at rev 3.0 now.
Rev 2.0? Sorry, I've just returned to the geek world from a long break & I'm not not up to date with stuff. :>

The GSkill RAM should work with the ASrock MB, if it doesn't work with Asus, I won't be surprised as it haves the Corsair listed instead.

rancidpunk #11 Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:09 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 45873 battles
  • 407
  • [ORCA] ORCA
  • Member since:
    07-25-2011
Just means the revision of the motherboard from the manufacturer, It's just a bios update but on newer stock they will already have installed the new bios at the factory i.e. box says Rev. 3.0 but the one you are buying says Rev. 2.0 so just a case of updating your bios when you build the system.

The Asrock motherboard is probably the best bet as it supports 1600mhz ram with the newer Ivybridge Intel chips.

The Corsair ram is a pain in the arse as it doesn't register with the mobo properly in any intel builds I've done with it but the GSkill Ripjaws is recognised instantly, something to do with the XMP (Extreme Memory Profile) compatibility on the motherboards. Most amusing to find Corsair 1600mhz gaming ram will set itself to 1066mhz by default on low power boards but won't tell you and you'll never find out unless you look!

It's all geek I know but one last point to consider is stretching your budget to an i5 quad core for much better bang for buck imho and future proofing unless you really need hyperthreading (i3 and i7 processors only) which is bugger all use for gaming but speeds up other stuff like movie editing etc.

http://www.overclock...d=5&subcat=1990

http://www.overclock...d=6&subcat=1275


This Sandybridge mobo and processor (the legendary i5 2500k) are a fair bit more expensive but give the huge advantage of being easily overclocked. I've had mine stable at 4.9ghz on air cooling but set them back to factory now as I don't need the power until Total War Rome 2 comes out! Should last for a good few years longer than the i3 will for handling newer games!

Sturmtiger_304 #12 Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:41 PM

    Brigadier

  • Beta Tester
  • 19603 battles
  • 4,081
  • Member since:
    08-18-2010
New order:

MSI GeForce GTX 650Ti OC Power Edition 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card £90.82  1  £90.82

Intel Core i3-3220 3.30GHz (Ivybridge) Socket LGA1155 Processor (77W) - Retail £74.99  1  £74.99

ASRock B75M Intel B75 (Socket 1155) DDR3 Micro ATX Motherboard Out of stock £44.16  1  £44.16

Corsair Vengeance 8GB (1x8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C10 1600MHz Single Channel Module (CMZ8GX3M1A1600C10) £39.99  1  £39.99

Crucial V4 32GB 2.5" SATA-II Solid State Hard Drive Out of stock £32.49  1  £32.49

= £338.94

rancidpunk #13 Posted 30 January 2013 - 02:02 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 45873 battles
  • 407
  • [ORCA] ORCA
  • Member since:
    07-25-2011
That processor won't work on that motherboard, wrong chipset!

I'll do a build for you later if you like, max budget about £350?

Edited by rancidpunk, 30 January 2013 - 02:03 PM.


Sturmtiger_304 #14 Posted 30 January 2013 - 02:12 PM

    Brigadier

  • Beta Tester
  • 19603 battles
  • 4,081
  • Member since:
    08-18-2010
Fuuu.

Isn't the 1155 working for both? They both got the same socket.

Grand_Moff_Tano #15 Posted 30 January 2013 - 02:15 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 1764 battles
  • 10,728
  • [BC28] BC28
  • Member since:
    05-20-2011

View PostSturmtiger_304, on 30 January 2013 - 02:12 PM, said:

Fuuu.

Isn't the 1155 working for both? They both got the same socket.
Best option is to get advice from a Computer shop before you get your stuff

Sturmtiger_304 #16 Posted 30 January 2013 - 02:47 PM

    Brigadier

  • Beta Tester
  • 19603 battles
  • 4,081
  • Member since:
    08-18-2010

View Postrancidpunk, on 30 January 2013 - 02:02 PM, said:

I'll do a build for you later if you like, max budget about £350?
Sure thing.

Budget is about £450, including shipping (usually somewhere from 30-60£) + VAT (20%) to Norway. Postal number is 5020, Bergen.

I've all ready ordered a graphic card + a ssd, so the budget is down by £120 to £320.

Commander_MC_Flabby #17 Posted 30 January 2013 - 03:31 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 12265 battles
  • 61
  • Member since:
    02-04-2012

View Postrancidpunk, on 30 January 2013 - 02:02 PM, said:

That processor won't work on that motherboard, wrong chipset!

I'll do a build for you later if you like, max budget about £350?

Don't be silly. I recently built a system with an i3220 and a B75M chipset for someone and it works like a charm.

View PostSturmtiger_304, on 30 January 2013 - 02:47 PM, said:

I've all ready ordered a graphic card + a ssd, so the budget is down by £120 to £320.

Very reliable company which I listed. Shipping prices are upon request for your country though. Give it a try. I'm sure it will ship for +/- 40 pounds ~50 euros. Try to find it cheaper local though. DOA's are easier to solve that way, may you have the misfortune.

When you plan on overclocking later with a new processor; 322,29 euro~ 276,22 pounds
http://www.alternate...P8Z77-M/991246/
http://www.alternate...i5-3470/965969/
http://www.alternate...600_Kit/885866/

No overclocking; 297,29 euro ~255,16 pounds
http://www.alternate..._Pro4-M/999999/
http://www.alternate...i5-3470/965969/
http://www.alternate...600_Kit/885866/

Edited by Commander_MC_Flabby, 30 January 2013 - 03:56 PM.


rancidpunk #18 Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:39 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 45873 battles
  • 407
  • [ORCA] ORCA
  • Member since:
    07-25-2011

View PostCommander_MC_Flabby, on 30 January 2013 - 03:31 PM, said:

Don't be silly. I recently built a system with an i3220 and a B75M chipset for someone and it works like a charm.

How am I being silly? It says specifically on the Intel website that the processor that he is thinking of buying requires the Intel Z77 (77watt) chipset. Other i3220 processors can use the 75 watt boards but not this one.

The i5 builds you have listed Commander look like a really good deal compared to the i3 builds (I'd go for the overclocking one personally) so go for one of them OP!  

I don't want to sound like I'm stating the obvious but depending on the size of the SSD you have bought make sure when you do a clean install that you move all your downloads/directories/temp files to your mechanical drive BEFORE you install games etc or it'll be full really quickly.

Edited by rancidpunk, 30 January 2013 - 05:58 PM.


Commander_MC_Flabby #19 Posted 30 January 2013 - 08:54 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 12265 battles
  • 61
  • Member since:
    02-04-2012

View Postrancidpunk, on 30 January 2013 - 05:39 PM, said:

How am I being silly? It says specifically on the Intel website that the processor that he is thinking of buying requires the Intel Z77 (77watt) chipset. Other i3220 processors can use the 75 watt boards but not this one.

The i5 builds you have listed Commander look like a really good deal compared to the i3 builds (I'd go for the overclocking one personally) so go for one of them OP!  

I don't want to sound like I'm stating the obvious but depending on the size of the SSD you have bought make sure when you do a clean install that you move all your downloads/directories/temp files to your mechanical drive BEFORE you install games etc or it'll be full really quickly.

The difference between the B75 and Z77/H77 isn't about Wattage. It's an 'entirely' different chipset. NEVER trust the Intel website, didn't mean to insult or anything. An I3-3220 will run like a hobo on fire on both chipsets. The difference I think you're refering to (still don't believe that's the case though) is probably the improved processor integrated graphics which isn't important here as he has a seperate graphics card

The reason why I recommend a H77/Z77 over the B75 with sturmtiger's build is so you can use SRT (intel smart response technology) which basically turns your SSD into a cache for your normal HDD for files most commonly used. Among other things your operating system. Just consider it. I know, I know, nerdy complicated stuff;
http://www.hardwares...-Explained/1292 (Old article but it should give you an idea what it is).

Also I forgot to mention would you choose the H77 chipset then,besides not being able to overclock, you won't be able to run two graphics cards in SLI/Crossfire mode if that is your cup of tea.

Edited by Commander_MC_Flabby, 30 January 2013 - 09:17 PM.


Sturmtiger_304 #20 Posted 30 January 2013 - 10:20 PM

    Brigadier

  • Beta Tester
  • 19603 battles
  • 4,081
  • Member since:
    08-18-2010

View PostCommander_MC_Flabby, on 30 January 2013 - 03:31 PM, said:

Don't be silly. I recently built a system with an i3220 and a B75M chipset for someone and it works like a charm.



Very reliable company which I listed. Shipping prices are upon request for your country though. Give it a try. I'm sure it will ship for +/- 40 pounds ~50 euros. Try to find it cheaper local though. DOA's are easier to solve that way, may you have the misfortune.

When you plan on overclocking later with a new processor; 322,29 euro~ 276,22 pounds
http://www.alternate...P8Z77-M/991246/
http://www.alternate...i5-3470/965969/
http://www.alternate...600_Kit/885866/

No overclocking; 297,29 euro ~255,16 pounds
http://www.alternate..._Pro4-M/999999/
http://www.alternate...i5-3470/965969/
http://www.alternate...600_Kit/885866/

Nice list, I only got one question: Will this MB fit into these RAM & this chip? All in all, these will cost £267.4 with shipping & vat.





Also tagged with Pc, upgrade

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users