Jump to content


Windows 8 - World of Tanks wont start

Windows 8 launcher wont work world of tanks bug windows

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

dpwulp #1 Posted 12 February 2013 - 10:28 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    03-30-2012
Hi tankers,


Yesterday i have installed Windows 8 (upgraded from Windows 7).
Of course i'm a big fan of World of Tanks, so after installing all drivers (include NVIDIA for Graphics and others), i was going to install World of Tanks. Firstly it worked. The launcher was going to download the game. With that downloading, the download can be paused. I did that, because my family wanted to watch some video (our internet is not very good   ).

When i now start up the launcher, it wont show any GUI (Graphical User Interface). My computer (i7 processor, so it can run WoT of course), starts to have a cpu usage of over 15% till 20%; Windows Task Manager shows that it was coming from the World of Tanks launcher. Rightnow i have re-installed the game several times. I have also tried the compactibility settings set to Windows 7 and XP (service pack 3). And i have also given Administrator privileges to the launcher.

On Windows 7, World of Tanks worked very well, but now it dont. I have installed the most up to date drivers btw.


Hope that you tankers can help me out!

Alighierian #2 Posted 12 February 2013 - 10:42 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 1,452
  • Member since:
    06-13-2011
pure wot or with mods included?
since it's know that dokan library (part of xvm) has to be installed in win7 comp. mode (and run in that as well) else it wont work

HellDiv3r #3 Posted 12 February 2013 - 10:43 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 81
  • Member since:
    05-19-2011
No GUI? Does a frame of the launcher show? Or is it just a running process with no actual application?

**EDIT**
OK most importantly, are you referring to the launcher or the actual game, did the game download and install correctly?

Edited by HellDiv3r, 12 February 2013 - 10:45 AM.


SMGJohn #4 Posted 12 February 2013 - 10:51 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 408
  • Member since:
    06-16-2011
World of Tanks runs just fine for me in Windows 8, Are you using any mods?

dpwulp #5 Posted 12 February 2013 - 10:53 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    03-30-2012

View PostAlighierian, on 12 February 2013 - 10:42 AM, said:

pure wot or with mods included?
since it's know that dokan library (part of xvm) has to be installed in win7 comp. mode (and run in that as well) else it wont work

I dont have any mods.
I have tried tun it with Windows 7 compactibility, that wont work.
I am trying to update Windows 8 now complete, lets see if that make a diffirence.

@HellDiv3r:

It's going about the launcher. This one haven't downloaded the game yet. At first the game was downloading, but the second time i started the launcher, i wont even show the familiar interface of the World of Tanks launcher. It just blow my cpu usage.

I have installed the game correctly, i think. Do you have some suggestions for better installation?



Or is there a program that needs to be installed before i am going to run world of tanks launcher?

Minio #6 Posted 12 February 2013 - 10:54 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 762
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010
Try to install DirectX

dpwulp #7 Posted 12 February 2013 - 11:07 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    03-30-2012
Yeah guys! Thanks for your help.

After installing all Windows updates, the launcher have actually launched and started downloading our game! :Smile_Default:


Thanks!

BioIdra #8 Posted 12 February 2013 - 11:07 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 542
  • Member since:
    05-22-2011
Weird i have windows 8 and it works perfectly fine mmh

Ed: woops problem solved while i was writing

Edited by BioIdra, 12 February 2013 - 11:08 AM.


Topbite #9 Posted 26 February 2013 - 01:07 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 25
  • Member since:
    09-08-2012
XVM / DOKAN will not run under Windows 8. " Driver not found" or Blue Screen ...any Solutions guys ?
Dokan is installed unter Windows 7 Comp.

Srle_Vigilante #10 Posted 26 February 2013 - 05:01 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 490
  • Member since:
    11-08-2011
U actualy bought or even dared to install that crap...

Topbite #11 Posted 26 February 2013 - 05:47 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 25
  • Member since:
    09-08-2012
...be sure, you be next. ok, I'm one of the first...and first to know, but future is unstoppable, or do u think so ?? :-)