Jump to content


Port forwarding WOT


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
18 replies to this topic

Molotof_75 #1 Posted 22 February 2013 - 04:58 AM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 20004 battles
  • 192
  • [DRAGO] DRAGO
  • Member since:
    07-20-2012
I have some trobles with my ping so I called the provider and they suggest me for better PING to do portforward!
does anyone from you guys has made the port forward in Wot and is it realt helps with ping?

Molotof_75 #2 Posted 22 February 2013 - 04:59 AM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 20004 battles
  • 192
  • [DRAGO] DRAGO
  • Member since:
    07-20-2012
I have some trobles with my ping so I called the provider and they suggest me for better PING to do portforward!
does anyone from you guys has made the port forward in Wot and is it realt helps with ping?

Homer_J #3 Posted 22 February 2013 - 07:12 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17795 battles
  • 13,695
  • [AXIOM] AXIOM
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010
Forwarding ports is not required and won't do anything for your ping.

In fact since port forwarding is only for unsolicited traffic from outside your network it won't even be triggered by the game traffic.

You have been fobbed off, time to change provider I say.

banemtheduke #4 Posted 22 February 2013 - 07:45 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 35165 battles
  • 2,342
  • Member since:
    12-18-2010
Well, I doubt about that. I will try with a bit of guessing:

Try running the game, do the ALT+TAB, press Win+R, type in cmd, Enter.

Type Netstat -abn (while the game is running), Enter and see which port game is using.

Now type your router IP into browser address field (something like 192.168.1.1). Log in (usually Admin/Admin).

Go to Port Forwarding settings and add that port number. Restart game.

Numpus #5 Posted 22 February 2013 - 08:02 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 10209 battles
  • 91
  • Member since:
    05-03-2011
I'll try to explain Port Forwarding a little more.

We assume your computer is not directly connected to the internet (to your ISP).
Instead your computer is connected to a router, which in turn is connected to your ISP.

Your router has 2 IP-addresses.
1 for external/public use (towards internet) assigned by your ISP.
1 for internal/local use (often, but not always, 192.168.0.1). This is for use within your private network.

Your computer has 1 internal/local IP address, likely assigned by your router.
Your computer has no external/public IP.

Now, lets play with the thought that you want to run a TS3-server where you and your friends can chat during WoT.
Your friends will need an IP to connect to. You will provide them with your router's external/public IP, and a port.
You will then instruct the router that all traffic incomming on this port should be forwarded to a port on your computer.
Your TS3-server will listen for incoming traffic on that port.

If you don't forward the traffic from your router to your computer, your friends will never find the server, because it's running on a computer with no public IP.


Google (top link)
http://en.wikipedia....Port_forwarding

Numpus #6 Posted 22 February 2013 - 08:09 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 10209 battles
  • 91
  • Member since:
    05-03-2011
Oh, and another thing...

Ping does not need to tell the true story.

You can have excellent ping-results, and shit for traffic.
You can have 75% packetloss when pinging, and still services running as intended.

astmaih #7 Posted 22 February 2013 - 08:46 AM

    Private

  • Beta Tester
  • 11805 battles
  • 6
  • [PRT] PRT
  • Member since:
    10-28-2010
port forwarding for a better ping? i think, the support from ur ISP has no idea what port forwarding is.

port forwarding is only used for incoming connections (if u have a server running on ur machine, and others will try to connect to this server). not for outgoing connections.

the local port (or so called client port) from worldoftanks (and almost all other clients like browsers etc.) will change every time u restart the client.

and at last: port forwarding can't help for a better ping at all, it only helps for establishing (incoming) connections, it can't reduce the latency time between ur machine and the worldoftanks server.

Edited by astmaih, 22 February 2013 - 08:46 AM.


nosferatu_ro #8 Posted 22 February 2013 - 09:06 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 9124 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    08-06-2011
Hi,

Ping(icmp) has nothing to do with portfwd-ing. Your ISP is bullsh** you hardcore :). Run some speed tests ( at least one from a site in your country and one from outside it) and compare the results with  you connection minimum guaranteed bandwidth in kbps ( it's on your legal contract you signed with them ). If the bw value is lower than what you pay for you can make "some noise" if not you have to upgrade your account.

Cheers,

mystictda #9 Posted 22 February 2013 - 09:48 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 10225 battles
  • 633
  • Member since:
    07-29-2010

View Postm0l0t0f, on 22 February 2013 - 04:59 AM, said:

I have some trobles with my ping so I called the provider and they suggest me for better PING to do portforward!
does anyone from you guys has made the port forward in Wot and is it realt helps with ping?

Some players are routed through a bad hub on the way to the WoT-server from Telia.net. If that is the case ask your ISP to solve it.

Edited by mystictda, 23 February 2013 - 08:27 AM.


jannepanne #10 Posted 22 February 2013 - 10:26 AM

    Sergeant

  • Clan Commander
  • 14315 battles
  • 413
  • [RSOP] RSOP
  • Member since:
    07-18-2011

View Postmystictda, on 22 February 2013 - 09:48 AM, said:

Some players are routed through a bad hub on the way to the WoT-server from Talia.net. If that is the case ask your ISP to solve it.

Just run a tracert to gameserver IP and see if any of the hops are bad.

Win + R
cmd
tracert 213.252.177.55

Edited by jannepanne, 22 February 2013 - 10:28 AM.


Molotof_75 #11 Posted 22 February 2013 - 11:19 AM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 20004 battles
  • 192
  • [DRAGO] DRAGO
  • Member since:
    07-20-2012
ok, thanx for the info, i will not do the port forwarding as you saying..
i just did speed test at speedtest.net and:
ping 27ms
download 10.87mbps
upload 0.73 mbps

is that good or bad? :\

Molotof_75 #12 Posted 22 February 2013 - 11:20 AM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 20004 battles
  • 192
  • [DRAGO] DRAGO
  • Member since:
    07-20-2012
please merge this section with the other one, as i had bad connection and made 2 same topics

BigBadVuk #13 Posted 22 February 2013 - 12:01 PM

    Moderator

  • Senior Moderator
  • 2968 battles
  • 8,429
  • [WG] WG
  • Member since:
    07-10-2010
Threads are merged and moved into tech. section

Homer_J #14 Posted 22 February 2013 - 08:58 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17795 battles
  • 13,695
  • [AXIOM] AXIOM
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postbanemtheduke, on 22 February 2013 - 07:45 AM, said:

Well, I doubt about that. I will try with a bit of guessing:

Don't guess when you don't know what you are talking about.

Port forwarding will do exactly diddlysquat.  It is for incoming connections only, since the game connection is initiated internally it will bypass the port forwarding rules completely.

banemtheduke #15 Posted 22 February 2013 - 09:09 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 35165 battles
  • 2,342
  • Member since:
    12-18-2010

View PostHomer_J, on 22 February 2013 - 08:58 PM, said:

Don't guess when you don't know what you are talking about.

Port forwarding will do exactly diddlysquat.  It is for incoming connections only, since the game connection is initiated internally it will bypass the port forwarding rules completely.

Tell that to him and his experts, not me.

Also, looks like the only one who does not know what is talking about is you. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/937424 or try googling some.

Edited by banemtheduke, 22 February 2013 - 09:12 PM.


CrySpy #16 Posted 22 February 2013 - 09:38 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 10770 battles
  • 195
  • Member since:
    04-07-2011

View PostHomer_J, on 22 February 2013 - 08:58 PM, said:

Port forwarding will do exactly diddlysquat.  It is for incoming connections only

Haha, no. Depening on the firewall, the ports may be for outbound, inbound or both.

Homer_J #17 Posted 22 February 2013 - 10:38 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17795 battles
  • 13,695
  • [AXIOM] AXIOM
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postbanemtheduke, on 22 February 2013 - 09:09 PM, said:

Tell that to him and his experts, not me.

Also, looks like the only one who does not know what is talking about is you. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/937424 or try googling some.

The only reason you would need to set up port forwarding for games is if you were running your own server.  That is not possible with WoT.

I've read that Microsoft support document twice and all I can say is they need to sack someone.

Quote

Port forwarding must be enabled on the TCP port 80.

Umm what? I guess they mean port 80 outbound must be open, that's not port forwarding.  That's a firewall rule.

View PostCrySpy, on 22 February 2013 - 09:38 PM, said:

Haha, no. Depening on the firewall, the ports may be for outbound, inbound or both.

Show me an example of port forwarding on an outbound connection.  Maybe you would set up a firewall rule to allow an outbound connection but port forwarding?  Technically possible, maybe something you would do in a large corporate environment, but pointless on a home connection and probably wouldn't work in this case since the game will try to contact the IP address of the game server regardless, for outbound port forwarding to work you would have to trick it into using the router's internal IP address - possibly by modifying the hosts file.

banemtheduke #18 Posted 22 February 2013 - 10:43 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 35165 battles
  • 2,342
  • Member since:
    12-18-2010

View PostHomer_J, on 22 February 2013 - 10:38 PM, said:

The only reason you would need to set up port forwarding for games is if you were running your own server.  That is not possible with WoT.

Man, what is wrong with you? I am not advising him to open port for WoT, I am just telling him how to do it. Address your thoughts and messages to first poster and his experts.

CrySpy #19 Posted 22 February 2013 - 11:08 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 10770 battles
  • 195
  • Member since:
    04-07-2011
Seems like I thought port forwarding and port opening was the same thing, they are not, so I will have to withdraw my statement concerning that.
Though my router is indeed capable of port forwarding on all interfaces. I agree with you on the usefulness of it. Looking at the settings that can be made I can configure it by specific destination addresses and source addresses in addition to ports and part ranges. It seems to me "anything" you could think of can be done with such settings.

I am running pfsense