Jump to content


Nvidia Geforce 600 series


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
21 replies to this topic

alex045099 #1 Posted 22 March 2013 - 05:20 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 6948 battles
  • 96
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011
Hello all,
My Nvidia 9800 GSO 512 started to lose the war with the new games,so I decided to buy a new graphic card.I would like you to tell me what grapic card and fps(please tell the graphic settings too) do you have on one of these cards:

Nvidia GTX 660
Nvidia GTX 670
Nvidia GTX 680



Thank you and I'm waiting for your answers.
Good Luck in battles :tongue:

Edit:My CPU is AMD Phenom 9650 x4(2.3 Ghz each)

Edited by alex045099, 22 March 2013 - 05:47 PM.


Subitarius #2 Posted 22 March 2013 - 05:22 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 5499 battles
  • 104
  • Member since:
    11-14-2012
I believe that anything over a 660 will get 60+ fps on WoT as long as your CPU doesn't bottleneck. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, I don't know much about this stuff.

Tonyb1968 #3 Posted 22 March 2013 - 05:24 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 27420 battles
  • 1,422
  • [TEC] TEC
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011
I'd look at the 650 too, its not a bad card and can easily run WoT, but as WoT use only a single cpu core you should put down what your CPU is also as it could be slowing your game down a touch. (note I run an Nvidia 580GTX and an Intel i7 2600 cpu and have no real issues running WoT)

fnaves_POR #4 Posted 22 March 2013 - 05:36 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 60555 battles
  • 510
  • Member since:
    12-29-2011
Nvidia GTX 670 w/i5 2500k
From 60 to 120 FPS max settings varies a lot during gameplay
fixed your minus after all its friday :)

Edited by fnaves_POR, 22 March 2013 - 05:37 PM.


alex045099 #5 Posted 22 March 2013 - 05:44 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 6948 battles
  • 96
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011

View PostTonyb1968, on 22 March 2013 - 05:24 PM, said:

I'd look at the 650 too, its not a bad card and can easily run WoT, but as WoT use only a single cpu core you should put down what your CPU is also as it could be slowing your game down a touch. (note I run an Nvidia 580GTX and an Intel i7 2600 cpu and have no real issues running WoT)
My CPU is AMD Phenom 9650 x4(2.3 Ghz each)

Edited by alex045099, 22 March 2013 - 05:47 PM.


r1speedyrider #6 Posted 22 March 2013 - 05:49 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 10062 battles
  • 456
  • Member since:
    08-15-2011
I would say that your low core speed of your cpu will bottleneck and hold back any of those GPU's for WoT. It may be an improvement on other games which use more than 1 core as most modern games do but for WoT you need over 3ghz, preferably nearer 4ghz. Unless you overclock or upgrade your cpu, I would suggest getting the lower card if your main concern is running WoT. If you play lots of other games it may not be as much of a problem, but for WoT I don't think you will see that much of an improvement.
  Of course it does also depend on what the rest of your system is such as total memory, operating system etc but I would consider your CPU first. You need an optimised and balance computer to get the best out of it for games.

lonigus #7 Posted 22 March 2013 - 05:50 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 32631 battles
  • 7,996
  • Member since:
    09-26-2011
600 series? Bloody hell why?

First of all even a 560Ti (which is WAY cheaper) would and will run WoT like a charm. The spared money use on buying a better CPU! Since any top notch card gonna be highly hindered by the CPU power.

Pardon me, but as I see your question I doubt that your are a hardcore gamer, so the 600 series is imo to much anyway. Even the 560Ti is by far enough to play the newest games at max details on 1680 res or on full HD with off AA and some other stuff that give only minor improvements.

Rethink what games You played so far and or if you mostly wanna focus on WoT.

Edited by lonigus, 22 March 2013 - 05:51 PM.


adriaans #8 Posted 22 March 2013 - 05:57 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 15928 battles
  • 155
  • [DIRTY] DIRTY
  • Member since:
    06-10-2011

View Postlonigus, on 22 March 2013 - 05:50 PM, said:

600 series? Bloody hell why?

First of all even a 560Ti (which is WAY cheaper) would and will run WoT like a charm. The spared money use on buying a better CPU! Since any top notch card gonna be highly hindered by the CPU power.

Pardon me, but as I see your question I doubt that your are a hardcore gamer, so the 600 series is imo to much anyway. Even the 560Ti is by far enough to play the newest games at max details on 1680 res or on full HD with off AA and some other stuff that give only minor improvements.

Rethink what games You played so far and or if you mostly wanna focus on WoT.

600 series gets you a better card for the same money. That's why you always buy the latest series.


For the OP: Your CPU will bottleneck you, so anything above a 660 will not be usable.

660 and higher is all also 60+fps at max settings

Winter #9 Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:07 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 43037 battles
  • 399
  • Member since:
    09-07-2010
As to why a 600 series: http://www.geforce.c...age/free-2-play, that's probably why and with that CPU I really wouldn't go for anything over the 660. I have one myself and with most settings maxed it runs perfectly fine (not sure about the FPS I only pay attention to that when I notice a game is not running well) at 1920x1080.

As to people saying he should upgrade that cpu, you do realise that probably means a new motherboard as well which is going to cost even more money.

Bobbydancer #10 Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:14 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 42731 battles
  • 852
  • [GGG] GGG
  • Member since:
    04-05-2011
Got 670gtx 2gb with an intel i5 something, but i do rarly see 70 fps and sometimes i just see 15-20fps. But i do not think the fps shows right amount i think they have buffed the fps number ingame pretty much. When it says 30 it feels more like 12.

lonigus #11 Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:17 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 32631 battles
  • 7,996
  • Member since:
    09-26-2011

View PostWinter, on 22 March 2013 - 06:07 PM, said:

As to why a 600 series: http://www.geforce.c...age/free-2-play, that's probably why and with that CPU I really wouldn't go for anything over the 660. I have one myself and with most settings maxed it runs perfectly fine (not sure about the FPS I only pay attention to that when I notice a game is not running well) at 1920x1080.

As to people saying he should upgrade that cpu, you do realise that probably means a new motherboard as well which is going to cost even more money.

Well if hes from the UK then ofc! There where I live the 660s upwards are terrible overpriced... Shipping to my country from the UK is not an option at all...

chuggaboom #12 Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:28 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 13958 battles
  • 215
  • Member since:
    02-21-2011
Check out overclockers uk..if you need to speak to someone they have a clan in wot OC-UK../or phone them great guys i by my pc stuff from them .(.Ps OCUK if you read this do i get 10% off next order lol) tbo i run the other mobs card which is a hd5700 series and get +50 fps stable ..maxed out graphics

http://www.overclock...CFc3HtAodZUMA6A

Edited by chuggaboom, 22 March 2013 - 06:30 PM.


adriaans #13 Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:31 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 15928 battles
  • 155
  • [DIRTY] DIRTY
  • Member since:
    06-10-2011

View PostBobbydancer, on 22 March 2013 - 06:14 PM, said:

Got 670gtx 2gb with an intel i5 something, but i do rarly see 70 fps and sometimes i just see 15-20fps. But i do not think the fps shows right amount i think they have buffed the fps number ingame pretty much. When it says 30 it feels more like 12.

Then there is clearly something wrong with your setup, something is bottlenecking it. the 670 should be seeing 120+ fps.

And the games fps measurer is accurate, I run fraps always and the values correspond.

chuggaboom #14 Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:35 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 13958 battles
  • 215
  • Member since:
    02-21-2011

View Postchuggaboom, on 22 March 2013 - 06:28 PM, said:

Check out overclockers uk..if you need to speak to someone they have a clan in wot OC-UK../or phone them great guys i by my pc stuff from them .(.Ps OCUK if you read this do i get 10% off next order lol) tbo i run the other mobs card which is a hd5700 series and get +50 fps stable ..maxed out graphics

http://www.overclock...CFc3HtAodZUMA6A

Then there is clearly something wrong with your setup, something is bottlenecking it. the 670 should be seeing 120+ fps

PSU ? that was my ask to adriaans post

Edited by chuggaboom, 22 March 2013 - 06:36 PM.


Winter #15 Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:36 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 43037 battles
  • 399
  • Member since:
    09-07-2010

View Postlonigus, on 22 March 2013 - 06:17 PM, said:

Well if hes from the UK then ofc! There where I live the 660s upwards are terrible overpriced... Shipping to my country from the UK is not an option at all...

While I linked to the UK nvidia website the offer goes for other countries as well, stores are on that page (not even from the UK myself).

adriaans #16 Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:43 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 15928 battles
  • 155
  • [DIRTY] DIRTY
  • Member since:
    06-10-2011

View Postchuggaboom, on 22 March 2013 - 06:35 PM, said:

Then there is clearly something wrong with your setup, something is bottlenecking it. the 670 should be seeing 120+ fps

PSU ? that was my ask to adriaans post

In most cases to low PSU would cause a shutdown, though the recent years there may be built in safeties to prevent that in which case that could be the case. Without knowing the entire setup, hard to say what the issue would/could be.

harl3qin #17 Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:44 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 10311 battles
  • 176
  • Member since:
    04-18-2011
Notebookchecks have benchmarked World of Tanks a few months back and their post should be able to answer your question:

Posted Image

More information:
http://www.notebookc...ed.83065.0.html

CaptainMastiff #18 Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:46 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 24206 battles
  • 2,069
  • [B-TEC] B-TEC
  • Member since:
    06-08-2011
670/80 will be a total over kill for World of Tanks

Considering you only have a 9650 it will likely be the bottle neck to the graphics card

You're probably better off in the wallet by just getting a 5xx series card, I have a AMD 7970 lightning which is a total over kill for WoTs pretty terrible graphics.

r1speedyrider #19 Posted 22 March 2013 - 07:10 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 10062 battles
  • 456
  • Member since:
    08-15-2011
If money is a concern for your upgrade, you could  consider making the most of your current system to try and get some more life out of it. This would requires quite a lot of effort on your part in terms of research and testing, trial and error etc.
I am not too familiar with your 9800 GPU, but if it runs the latest Nvidia drivers you could frame rate limit your games to 30 fps. This is called Adaptive Vysnc (half resfresh rate). that is assuming that you are using an LCD screen rather than a CRT one.
The next and most involved would be to consider overclocking your CPU to get more speed. If you you have no knowledge of this then it is probably best left  alone.
I myself use a Q9550 overclocked from 2.83ghz to 3.97ghz. My GPU is a GTX480 underclocked to 675/1642 core memory clocks with a Vcore of 0.900v  rather than the stock of 1.075v.
I use a 27" monitor resolution 2560x1440 running max settings with SMAA injector via SWEETFX configurator to enhance the AA,HDR and Bloom settings to my preferences.
As you can see , I run pretty much much the max resolution your likely to see on an average setup (1920x1080p being the most common) but on a 4 year old system with no problems at all.

echo7 #20 Posted 22 March 2013 - 07:23 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 57187 battles
  • 994
  • [WOOF] WOOF
  • Member since:
    11-28-2010
Running 2560*1440 on 27´ on an older GTX580, works fine at 60fps. For 1920*1080, a much cheaper classic 560ti would be good enough.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users