Jump to content


is this overkill (pc specs)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

Metalsme #1 Posted 16 April 2013 - 11:36 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7728 battles
  • 21
  • [T-D-M] T-D-M
  • Member since:
    07-11-2012
first off i'd like to say im a complete noob on pc configuring and components and that shiet, so don't expect me to relise it if im saying something wrong allready at this point.

so im thinking of buying this pc:

http://www.palicomp....yer-bronze.html

however i will swap the 16GB 1600Mhz to a 16GB 2133,

to comphrensate for this i'll buy  ANTEC KUHLER H2O 620 WATER COOLING

and increase the 750wb cooler to 850wb + buy noise reducing and cooling to max.

1: is this overkill for playing WoT? :playing:

2: will the case even be able to hold that??

3: will that be enough to not make it burn down?

4: am i doing a whoopsie or a ding dong? (EG that cooler can't be in that case!)

5: am i worrying too much about this  :ohmy:

sorry about my english, 3rd language

Edited by Metalsme, 16 April 2013 - 11:39 PM.


Ecotech #2 Posted 16 April 2013 - 11:46 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 17502 battles
  • 591
  • Member since:
    01-31-2011
Not overkill, just a decent PC. Won't even need the watercooling, really.

With a notable boo-boo: I don't like overclocked CPU's. No real need for them anyways, other than providing some minor bragging rights.

Edited by Ecotech, 16 April 2013 - 11:48 PM.


Baja002 #3 Posted 16 April 2013 - 11:48 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 12357 battles
  • 468
  • Member since:
    09-22-2011
Buy parts one by one and save money. You can get a great deal at some used parts that are reliable and similar.... BTW you don't need all this for WoT - like that cooling



P.S. - I've spent around 200 for my Core i7 PC

Edited by Baja002, 16 April 2013 - 11:49 PM.


Ecotech #4 Posted 17 April 2013 - 12:15 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 17502 battles
  • 591
  • Member since:
    01-31-2011
As always, the details are the ones that save or kill you.

I always shop around for my builds, starting with the case and powersupply combo.

Big big case. Big. Did I say big? And simple ones too. Ignore the neon lights, plastic sides and bling-bling. Those are just useless crap. Buy a big, solid metal case. You want one with plenty of depth, to ensure that you have enough space to do proper cable management and give your build space to breathe. Cooler Master Silencio might be a decent choice for that.

Personally I prefer Chieftec, the Mesh series: http://www.chieftec....com/CX01.html   . I prefer 1mm solid steel instead of red/green/blue leds and plastic.


Then, the powersupply. Bigger the better. For your system, a 600W would be just right - sometimes in the future you might add another video card, another hard drive or whatnot and you'll need the extra watts.

And cooling. One important note here: noisy fans don't equal powerful fans. A fan might be noisy but not really move much air. So you need to check ahead for volume of air moved. This is commonly noted as SCFM or CFM / ACFM, varies by produces. Bigger value is better. It actually means cubic feet of air per minute. And keep in mind that while Thermaltake and their kind might be the big names in consumer PC industry, I'd never use their products in a high-quality, high-endurance system. Check out Nidec products.

Metalsme #5 Posted 17 April 2013 - 12:19 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7728 battles
  • 21
  • [T-D-M] T-D-M
  • Member since:
    07-11-2012

View PostBaja002, on 16 April 2013 - 11:48 PM, said:

Buy parts one by one and save money. You can get a great deal at some used parts that are reliable and similar.... BTW you don't need all this for WoT - like that cooling



P.S. - I've spent around 200 for my Core i7 PC

i live in greenland, so buying used parts over time is going to cost so much in shippin alone, that it would make more sence to buy a whole pc when im home in EU

Baja002 #6 Posted 17 April 2013 - 12:28 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 12357 battles
  • 468
  • Member since:
    09-22-2011
I have a great trick how to get new parts for less money ;) Send a PM if you are interested.

BTW almost every country has something similar to e-bay, so shipping is not the problem. There has to be at least one in Greenland :)

Metalsme #7 Posted 17 April 2013 - 12:50 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7728 battles
  • 21
  • [T-D-M] T-D-M
  • Member since:
    07-11-2012

View PostBaja002, on 17 April 2013 - 12:28 AM, said:

I have a great trick how to get new parts for less money ;) Send a PM if you are interested.

BTW almost every country has something similar to e-bay, so shipping is not the problem. There has to be at least one in Greenland :)

greenland has 50k people, 30k of which access to the internet. 10k of which never use the internet for anything else than checking their FB or instagram. we now have 20k people, half of which actually know what megabyte means. 10k people, now considering how many of those actually need an ebay, we would be down to 3k, half of those would only want an ebay to get part of snowscooters, a very much needed thing up here. so 1500 people, pc games arent actually for sale up here, only ps3, so we should cut off half of those. 750 people should sell used parts of pc on a big pile of snow and cliffs with no easy access to a big trader, due to no shipping to greenland( no big surprise, would be a waste of everything). >_> however there is actually a pc store up here, somehow. i might check if it has i7 cards, if they do i have regained faith in this place.

TL:DR: there isn't, there really isn't!

OIias_of_Sunhillow #8 Posted 17 April 2013 - 01:03 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 24691 battles
  • 2,618
  • Member since:
    07-20-2011

View PostMetalsme, on 17 April 2013 - 12:50 AM, said:

greenland has 50k people, 30k of which access to the internet. 10k of which never use the internet for anything else than checking their FB or instagram. we now have 20k people, half of which actually know what megabyte means. 10k people, now considering how many of those actually need an ebay, we would be down to 3k, half of those would only want an ebay to get part of snowscooters, a very much needed thing up here. so 1500 people, pc games arent actually for sale up here, only ps3, so we should cut off half of those. 750 people should sell used parts of pc on a big pile of snow and cliffs with no easy access to a big trader, due to no shipping to greenland( no big surprise, would be a waste of everything). >_> however there is actually a pc store up here, somehow. i might check if it has i7 cards, if they do i have regained faith in this place.

TL:DR: there isn't, there really isn't!

Yes, but I bet you have epic snowball fights.  :teethhappy:

Tonyb1968 #9 Posted 17 April 2013 - 03:57 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 27420 battles
  • 1,422
  • [TEC] TEC
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011
Personally I would stick with the 1600mhz memory and invest in an SSD boot drive (240gb) as it really does make a big difference rather than running your main drive as a HDD, otherwise the spec isnt too shabby.
Is it only WoT you are using the PC for??

Edited by Tonyb1968, 17 April 2013 - 03:57 AM.


Regamer #10 Posted 17 April 2013 - 05:47 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 15281 battles
  • 359
  • Member since:
    02-03-2012
If possible, i'd recomend to you purhace motherboard with physical raid 1 controller.

I have 2 disks confiqured via raid 1 to one logical disk (mb: Asus rampage IV E).
It's really fast (reading) so Operating System and games starts fast.

This setup is much more realible than SSD (solid state disk) and if one disk fails, you can replace it easily without loosing any data.

Baja002 #11 Posted 17 April 2013 - 11:44 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 12357 battles
  • 468
  • Member since:
    09-22-2011
I'm using SSD disk for OS and Programs, all games and stuff are located on two other disks

OmaiGodman #12 Posted 17 April 2013 - 11:58 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 7561 battles
  • 428
  • [KIWF] KIWF
  • Member since:
    03-03-2012
If you get an SSD make sure it's at least 120 GB, I have 64 GB and just Windows + Office + a few other applications and the thing is full. I installed an extra 500 GB disk for games and data (although most data is on my server).

Metalsme #13 Posted 17 April 2013 - 06:10 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7728 battles
  • 21
  • [T-D-M] T-D-M
  • Member since:
    07-11-2012

View PostTonyb1968, on 17 April 2013 - 03:57 AM, said:

Personally I would stick with the 1600mhz memory and invest in an SSD boot drive (240gb) as it really does make a big difference rather than running your main drive as a HDD, otherwise the spec isnt too shabby.
Is it only WoT you are using the PC for??

1: dafuq is a ssd boot drive (240gb)

2: dafuq does it do?

3 is it possible to buy the 1866mhz and a 120gb instead?

edit: ah forget it, i think i understand by now, thanks for the help, tho  :smile:

Edited by Metalsme, 17 April 2013 - 06:20 PM.


Tonyb1968 #14 Posted 17 April 2013 - 11:53 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 27420 battles
  • 1,422
  • [TEC] TEC
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011
SSD is a solid state drive, its super fast access and your pc boots in like 15 seconds rather than a minute something, much quicker  :blinky: and really a 240gb is pretty cheap, have a 64gb in my pc and its nearly full, have a 240gb ready to go in and it cost about the same 6 months later than the 64gb one did.
Memory wise, 1600mhz is pretty quick still, do you play anything else apart from WoT?
The difference between 1600/1866mhz/2000mhz is minimal performance wise, dont expect big gains between them.

anonym_kL7qtn3e52MB #15 Posted 18 April 2013 - 09:23 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 6,815
  • Member since:
    07-10-2018

View PostRegamer, on 17 April 2013 - 05:47 AM, said:

If possible, i'd recomend to you purhace motherboard with physical raid 1 controller.

I have 2 disks confiqured via raid 1 to one logical disk (mb: Asus rampage IV E).
It's really fast (reading) so Operating System and games starts fast.

This setup is much more realible than SSD (solid state disk) and if one disk fails, you can replace it easily without loosing any data.


RAID 1 is as slow (or fast) as the slowest of the 2 HDD's, keep that in mind.
So actually redundant....

OmaiGodman #16 Posted 18 April 2013 - 09:24 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 7561 battles
  • 428
  • [KIWF] KIWF
  • Member since:
    03-03-2012
Indeed, RAID1 only adds to performance if both disks are fast. Now you're just crippling the performance on your fast disk.

Ubertoaster #17 Posted 19 April 2013 - 04:23 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 15983 battles
  • 824
  • [TAHK] TAHK
  • Member since:
    05-12-2011
Hah, it has been obsolete in Japan for 30 years now...




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users