Jump to content


need help in order to buy a better graphic card.


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

exNoob #1 Posted 18 July 2013 - 06:52 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 18523 battles
  • 439
  • [761ST] 761ST
  • Member since:
    04-30-2012
hi folks,

firs of all i have to tell u im not good at all at computers so i wanna ask u:

the old graphic card: http://www.geforce.c.../specifications

the graphic card i wanna buy: http://www.msi.com/p...v=Specification

as u can see the old graphic card's interface is PCI-E 2.0 and the new one is PCI Express x16 3.0 so im wondering if the new one is gonna match my computer.

thanks a lot in advance.

Edited by exNoob, 18 July 2013 - 06:53 AM.


towe96 #2 Posted 18 July 2013 - 07:09 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 3639 battles
  • 134
  • [N_M_C] N_M_C
  • Member since:
    03-09-2013
First of, careful with nVidea. For the money, you don't really get a lot.

For the slots, it'll fit just perfectly. However, the newer card is capable of reaching about double the bandwidth speed of your old card. Now it's questionable whether your motherboard already supports the 3.0 standart or only the 2.0 . You will still get a good performance boost, however, the card would still be limited by your mainboard - something which can only be fixed through a new mainboard.

KawaGreen #3 Posted 18 July 2013 - 07:15 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Clan Diplomat
  • 13307 battles
  • 1,931
  • [PIZZA] PIZZA
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011
It will fit, make sure your PSU can supply the power for that card.

You will be getting from this:
Posted Image


In to this:
Posted Image

exNoob #4 Posted 18 July 2013 - 07:29 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 18523 battles
  • 439
  • [761ST] 761ST
  • Member since:
    04-30-2012

View Posttowe96, on 18 July 2013 - 07:09 AM, said:

First of, careful with nVidea. For the money, you don't really get a lot.

Now it's questionable whether your motherboard already supports the 3.0 standart or only the 2.0 . You will still get a good performance boost, however, the card would still be limited by your mainboard - something which can only be fixed through a new mainboard.
- i bought the computer a year ago and it have the best processor on the market: intel i7 (i belive its still the best) which do u tink are the chances of incompatibility?
- i dont think its nVidia. everywhere i see only MSI geforce
EDIT: why u negrep for help? kids... ill repair it tomorrow when im gonna get some more greenrep.

View PostKawaGreen, on 18 July 2013 - 07:15 AM, said:

It will fit, make sure your PSU can supply the power for that card.
weah im buying a PSU also.

thanks a lot guys!

Edited by exNoob, 18 July 2013 - 07:56 AM.


Ulicum #5 Posted 18 July 2013 - 07:36 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 39597 battles
  • 1,961
  • [3VS27] 3VS27
  • Member since:
    07-09-2011

View PostexNoob, on 18 July 2013 - 07:29 AM, said:

- i dont think its nVidia. everywhere i see only MSI geforce

Yes its NVIDIA - GeForce 600 Series card manufactured by MSI. Current newest generation is 700 series, but this card will do finely for WoT and most other games.

Earlier comment warning for nvidia cards is most likely from AMD-fanboy, World of Tanks is optimized for nvidia cards, unlike for AMD cards so if youre thinking which one would be better... Generally nvidia and amd both are decent choices.

exNoob #6 Posted 18 July 2013 - 11:13 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 18523 battles
  • 439
  • [761ST] 761ST
  • Member since:
    04-30-2012
thanks guys, just bought it... hope ill be able to get all settings at Ultra. see u on the front! thanks a lot again <3

towe96 #7 Posted 18 July 2013 - 12:14 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 3639 battles
  • 134
  • [N_M_C] N_M_C
  • Member since:
    03-09-2013

View Postpeikko, on 18 July 2013 - 07:36 AM, said:

Earlier comment warning for nvidia cards is most likely from AMD-fanboy, World of Tanks is optimized for nvidia cards, unlike for AMD cards so if youre thinking which one would be better... Generally nvidia and amd both are decent choices.

Wouldn't say I'm a fanboy, but I haven't really bought a lot of either anyway. nVidia's kinda the Apple to AMD being Windows. Overpriced and overhyped. And these nVidia / AMD logos some games do feature are usually just saying which company got first access to the engine to optimize their drivers.. After so many update's, there won't be any difference in performance, only the price tag.

JacobusRex #8 Posted 21 July 2013 - 03:35 AM

    Corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 3907 battles
  • 127
  • Member since:
    07-04-2010
I would just get a HD7870, much better value for money.

OmaiGodman #9 Posted 21 July 2013 - 08:37 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 7561 battles
  • 428
  • [KIWF] KIWF
  • Member since:
    03-03-2012
I know someone who recently bought an nVidia card and WoT keeps crashing on it. Apparently it happens to more people. Never have any trouble with Ati.

nVidia is overpriced junk. The cards are good but expensive, and their drivers are absolutely rubbish.

VonJobuhausen #10 Posted 21 July 2013 - 12:35 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 73 battles
  • 200
  • Member since:
    04-27-2013

View PostOmaiGodman, on 21 July 2013 - 08:37 AM, said:

I know someone who recently bought an nVidia card and WoT keeps crashing on it. Apparently it happens to more people. Never have any trouble with Ati.

nVidia is overpriced junk. The cards are good but expensive, and their drivers are absolutely rubbish.
Does he have the latest drivers? Because as I heared the latest drivers fixed this crashing problem.

Nekomancer #11 Posted 21 July 2013 - 02:50 PM

    Lieutenant –°olonel

  • Player
  • 11526 battles
  • 3,065
  • Member since:
    02-20-2010

View PostOmaiGodman, on 21 July 2013 - 08:37 AM, said:

I know someone who recently bought an nVidia card and WoT keeps crashing on it. Apparently it happens to more people. Never have any trouble with Ati.nVidia is overpriced junk. The cards are good but expensive, and their drivers are absolutely rubbish.
Well, nVidia isn't cheap, i give you that, but regarding the drivers, i had the exact opposite experience.

AMD drivers, i still have nightmares. Just uninstalling them was a task in itself. Never seen a software being unable to uninstall itself. I always thought my friend was joking about that, he wasn't.
And why is AMD still unable to provide application specific profiles in their drivers? nVidia has that for over 15 years already.

AMD has very good hardware for pretty good prices, but their drivers are just horrible. I'm glad AMD is working on to write completely new drivers and throw the old stuff away. They really need to do that to get a bigger market share.
Maybe nVidia will learn to make better videocards that are not only cheaper, but also more energy effective. At the moment nVidia cards are pretty powerhungry.

Yeah, there was that problem with WoT and nVidia cards, somehow i never was affected by that with my Geforce GTX560Ti with ForceWare 314.22 drivers.

basin79 #12 Posted 21 July 2013 - 04:18 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,727
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012
I'm using a Nvidia GTX680 and have never had any problems with driver issues. Don't know if I've just got lucky though as quite a few people seemed to be suffering.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users