Jump to content


Upgrade CPU or GPU to improve performance?

wooden PC

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
47 replies to this topic

TankMaster_Flash #1 Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:13 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 23805 battles
  • 763
  • [CELL] CELL
  • Member since:
    08-17-2011
I hope this is the correct forum, 'ingame problems' seems more to do with reporting bugs and I have a more general question...

My better half plays WoT on a wooden PC made from hand-me-down components, I am considering upgrading the graphics card, but I know that WoT is often CPU limited and I wonder whether upgrading the graphics card would improve things.

It's a:

Q6600 (2.4 GHz)
ATI 4870
4 gig of RAM

It runs WoT at 1920*1200 on medium to low settings at around 30 fps, but dipping into the low twenties or even teens at times.

I'm considering buying a new card for the main PC which would free up a GTX 460 for that one.  As far as I can tell, the 460 has about two or three times the grunt of the 4870.  But, WoT is supposedly CPU intensive and while the venerable Q6600 is still a fine CPU (IMO  :hiding: ) the lack of multi-threading means it probably doesn't shine in WoT.  I'm not crazy about upgrading the CPU (and motherboard, and RAM..) however.

Is it worth upgrading the graphics card, or is it CPU-limited as it is?

Gamiac #2 Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:21 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 73154 battles
  • 558
  • [SKILL] SKILL
  • Member since:
    04-07-2011
Graphikcard is the main problem but another CPU will be also not a bad idea.
If you not be able to overclock your cpu to around 3.5 ghz .
Graphikcard i would buy a 7850 for your CPU if its possible to overclock it .

Edited by Gamiac, 04 August 2013 - 10:26 AM.


gazzer21 #3 Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:26 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 29630 battles
  • 1,276
  • [-NMZ-] -NMZ-
  • Member since:
    08-03-2011
try overclocking the Q6600 to 3 GHz a mild overclock for this chip.
the faster you can get it running the better for this game and everyone got a Q6600 to overclock it, mine went to 3.5GHz easily.
But with the right cooling ect you can get a bit more than that.

GTX 460 wouldn't hurt though , any thing faster would probably be a waste on a stock Q6600, for this game any way, I would think.

Costarring #4 Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:28 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 16732 battles
  • 3,164
  • [-NMZ-] -NMZ-
  • Member since:
    07-27-2010
Upgrading your CPU will probably force you to buy a new motherboard and memory.
But it will give a much higher performance upgrade then replacing just your videocard.

K_A #5 Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:36 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 4789 battles
  • 830
  • [S0S] S0S
  • Member since:
    04-18-2013
What others have said. GPU upgrade would probably give you a bigger boost in performance, but it would require a new motherboard as well. Just slap on the GTX if it would otherwise be left unused and see how much it helps, it can't hurt the performance after all!

Finguz #6 Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:37 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 8925 battles
  • 879
  • Member since:
    05-03-2012
Overclock the cpu to 3Ghz ( it should do this with the voltage left at stock ) and drop in the 460 for a worthwhile, and free, boost :)

Rawnock83 #7 Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:46 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 26721 battles
  • 84
  • [ZOP] ZOP
  • Member since:
    02-03-2012
My configuration whas:
intel pentium4 Ht 3.2 ghz
ati eah 5450
ddr2 2gb ram
wot settings : evrything off and low settings 15- 30 fps widht tweakers etc....


Now
Intel i3 2,6 ghz
ati eah 5450 (same as above)
ddr3 4gb ram
wot settings: mid-hig 25-40 fps (no schadows and light efects)


my option in yor case whas to upgrate the GPU but a GT 630
and change the OS to 64-bit if u dont have one allready


decide for yourself what to change , GL!

iztok #8 Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:57 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 23998 battles
  • 1,326
  • Member since:
    10-28-2010
Hi!
When my old GeForce 8800GT died, I replaced it with Radeon HD 5780 - on paper about 80% faster card. But my WoT FPS performace barely increased. I'd say maybe by 5 FPS. Replacing your GPU will IMO not give you much, because the main bottleneck for FPS in WoT is CPU.
What I'd suggest is oveclocking CPU, or tweaking the WoT affinity to more than a single core. Some 3 days ago a guy posted here results of exactly that change, and IIRC he got some 10 FPS from his rig without OC-ing.
You could get more FPS also by dropping details. I run my Wot on improved settings with most things set on low, and have around 50 FPS on CoreDuo E6750 at 3.2GhZ.
BR,  Iztok

Edited by iztok, 04 August 2013 - 11:01 AM.


Cobra6 #9 Posted 04 August 2013 - 11:01 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 10410 battles
  • 6,493
  • [UN1CA] UN1CA
  • Member since:
    09-17-2010
GPU is more important for WoT than CPU.

They aren't even properly using all the cores in your CPU so don't bother.

Cobra 6

VonJobuhausen #10 Posted 04 August 2013 - 11:10 AM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 73 battles
  • 249
  • Member since:
    04-27-2013
The comupter I use had a Q6600 @ 3.6ghz before with the same GPU (ATi 6950) as now and upgrading CPU to i5 improved fps a lot. Now it is possible to play with max settings at average of 50-60fps while before at some cases could only get 10-20 fps on max settings and average got only 30-40 fps. But ofcourse upgrading a GPU will effect the performance aswell.

Edited by VonJobuhausen, 04 August 2013 - 11:10 AM.


groksan #11 Posted 04 August 2013 - 11:16 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 20540 battles
  • 74
  • [CELL] CELL
  • Member since:
    08-23-2011

View PostTankMaster_Flash, on 04 August 2013 - 10:13 AM, said:

I hope this is the correct forum, 'ingame problems' seems more to do with reporting bugs and I have a more general question...

My better half plays WoT on a wooden PC made from hand-me-down components, I am considering upgrading the graphics card, but I know that WoT is often CPU limited and I wonder whether upgrading the graphics card would improve things.

It's a:

Q6600 (2.4 GHz)
ATI 4870
4 gig of RAM

It runs WoT at 1920*1200 on medium to low settings at around 30 fps, but dipping into the low twenties or even teens at times.

I'm considering buying a new card for the main PC which would free up a GTX 460 for that one.  As far as I can tell, the 460 has about two or three times the grunt of the 4870.  But, WoT is supposedly CPU intensive and while the venerable Q6600 is still a fine CPU (IMO  :hiding: ) the lack of multi-threading means it probably doesn't shine in WoT.  I'm not crazy about upgrading the CPU (and motherboard, and RAM..) however.

Is it worth upgrading the graphics card, or is it CPU-limited as it is?
I have q6600(2.4) , 6gb ram and ati hd5700 and i never had problems, game runs so smoothly. fps is from 20 - 40.

Bubrek #12 Posted 04 August 2013 - 11:27 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 31763 battles
  • 54
  • [KAZNA] KAZNA
  • Member since:
    05-03-2011
Like others have said about GPU. I have also replaced my old radeon 5770 1GB with 7850 2GB memory and I didn't notice any big difference. Maybe 5 fps more. And I have old i7 860 with 12 gb DDR3 and intel SSD 520 series. I would also consider buying a new CPU rather than GPU.

LetsRockAndRoll #13 Posted 04 August 2013 - 11:39 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 22737 battles
  • 1,560
  • Member since:
    01-14-2013

View PostCobra6, on 04 August 2013 - 11:01 AM, said:

GPU is more important for WoT than CPU.

They aren't even properly using all the cores in your CPU so don't bother.

Cobra 6

You got neg repped for stating a fact! I've put it right.

Sisarot #14 Posted 04 August 2013 - 11:40 AM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 3419 battles
  • 221
  • Member since:
    07-06-2013
There might be a different problem. My laptop is weaker than that PC but it keeps a steady 40 fps. (i5 480M and GT 540M)
Buy a hyper evo cooler and overclock the CPU. If it doesn't help then it isnt money wasted because it's still a lot better than the intel cooler.
If you have a lot of time then you can follow this guide http://www.overclock...ps-in-game/0_20
to have your gpu and cpu usage shown ingame. If gpu is always above 80% then a gpu upgrade would be better. If cpu is always on ~90%+ on one core then it's your cpu.

Edited by Sisarot, 04 August 2013 - 11:43 AM.


Akula971 #15 Posted 04 August 2013 - 11:47 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 13734 battles
  • 559
  • Member since:
    03-16-2013
Probably need to change both, however..

I have read that WoT does not use multi-core processors well, either in the CPU or the graphics card. So it might be a waste of time splashing out loads of cash, when the real problem is not so much in your machine, but rather in the crappy ancient code that WoT is written in.

I run a workstation (2 CPU, 8 cores@2.8GHz. E5462), so no lack of processing power. Graphics card is an old HD4780, and I get about 28-35FPS. On Redshire on the right side hill, with lots of trees, and bushes it drops to 15FPS. Playing other games such as Crysis which I consider to be graphically richer I have no problems at all at high settings. Methinks it is WoT code.

When that "Other" tank game comes out, we shall see if WoT upgrades or changes their "engine" to compete.

VonJobuhausen #16 Posted 04 August 2013 - 11:56 AM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 73 battles
  • 249
  • Member since:
    04-27-2013
Best choice would be replacing both the CPU and the GPU but if you got money only for GPU then you should look for a version that has 2gb of ram. It will help to improve fps when you use full HD reso.

If you don't have money to buy new components then try to overclock your CPU and lower resolution.

adamdu59000 #17 Posted 04 August 2013 - 12:41 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 41473 battles
  • 11
  • [C-M-F] C-M-F
  • Member since:
    05-01-2012
However would like to know the type of hard drive installed in the config as it plays énorment on the performance of the pc!
for my part have buy a SSD hard drive is j have suddenly significantly increase the performance of your computer
PS: can anyone think

TankMaster_Flash #18 Posted 04 August 2013 - 12:44 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 23805 battles
  • 763
  • [CELL] CELL
  • Member since:
    08-17-2011
Silly me, how could I have neglected to overclock the Q6600.  It's now running happily at 3GHz on stock voltages, chugging through an hour Prime95 with no problems so far.

Yes, I realise that WoT is poorly optimised for CPU being heavily dependent on CPU clock speed and single-threaded only.  This is actually an argument in favour of upgrading the CPU, not against it as suggested above :P

But of course, the Q6600 isn't ready for the bin yet and I don't really want to do a full upgrade.

Interesting to read that other ppl with Q6600 and better cards get much better performance, I guess the card is the limiting factor at the moment (more so with the CPU overclock).

chanquete000 #19 Posted 04 August 2013 - 04:30 PM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 23199 battles
  • 101
  • Member since:
    05-13-2011

View PostLetsRockAndRoll, on 04 August 2013 - 11:39 AM, said:

You got neg repped for stating a fact! I've put it right.
Sorry to say but both are wrong. As Wot just works on one core, thats the bottleneck.
Playing on 40-60fps on max@1050p with i7 920@4ghz and stock 5850. Removed 1 week ago a second 5850 due to fan problems, and perfomance was almost the same.
For OP, try to get a cheap decent cpu cooler and overclock your 6600. It´s still decent, and a more new/powerfull GPU will just bottleneck your chipset.
Cheapest and better option imho.
Pd. Recomending a 2Gb GPU just shows little knowledge. Have 5040*1050 setup (eyefinity), and 1GB card is more than enough to run almost all games.

Edited by chanquete000, 04 August 2013 - 04:35 PM.


XtremeBlitz #20 Posted 04 August 2013 - 04:38 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 6970 battles
  • 56
  • [RANGR] RANGR
  • Member since:
    11-12-2012
The Q6600 is really good at oc'ing. Got mine running at 3.6Ghz. Dont have FPS problems atm, running it a high to med. Its stable around 40fps.
Thats with 4 GB RAM and ATI HD5850 OC'ed.

PS: the guys saying the performance of the pc will increase with SSD is wrong, he forget that it doesnt affect FPS..... it will only shorten loading times....