linux wot play performance ubuntu

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

PrivateMonkeyz #1 Posted 24 August 2013 - 09:03 PM

Staff Sergeant

• Player
  • 3974 battles
Hello everyone ,

I have been using linux (ubuntu, mint, backtrack/kali) for 2 years now(mostly by VMs) but I started playing WoT for just 6 months. So just now I wonder if there is anyone here playing on linux and how is the game performance compared to Windows, because I consider changing my Host-OS on my laptop to Ubuntu and running Windows and other OS in virtual box , since I consider windows to be very limiting to a user in terms of configuration and testing. (and very sluggish)

PrivateMonkeyz #2 Posted 25 August 2013 - 10:22 PM

Staff Sergeant

• Player
  • 3974 battles
No one?  :sad:

Oski1983 #3 Posted 23 October 2013 - 05:01 PM

Private

• Player
  • 23634 battles
  • [U__G] U__G
Yes i play on Linux Mint14 and at the we i get Linux Mint15. The simplest Way to play WoT on Linux is using PlayOnLinux. I tested a lot last days and i become it rund with max Settings 10 fsp slower windows. With the installer under PlayOnLinux you get a version verry slow. But i tested it manualy with wine1.7.1 - CMST which manage ogl-calls to a separate Thread. (Multithreading). but on my Grafik-Card (Gforce GTX260) i become a few grafical Errors allmos in the hanger. The ToDo is:
wget -q "http://deb.playonlinux.com/public.gpg" -O- | sudo apt-key add -
sudo wget http://deb.playonlin...ux_precise.list -O /etc/apt/sources.list.d/playonlinux.list
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install playonlinux
Then the normal way ist to search for World of Tanks and follow the Indtoductions. To get the CMST to run click install->customsoftware.
then install another wine-version (1.7.1-CMST).
After that install the POL d3dx36 or 43, d3dxcompiler43, vcrun2008, wininet, msxml3, and ie8(english-version).