Jump to content


Graphics card should I get

Graphics

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
21 replies to this topic

SupremeLeader_KimJongUn #1 Posted 17 October 2013 - 02:31 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 19362 battles
  • 55
  • Member since:
    09-15-2012
My computer is one year old with a i5 3.1ghz processor and a a 460 watts power supply, graphics card is an ati Radeon 7570 and I want a new card with ability to play on max setting and 40 +fps.

the memory is two 2g ddr3 card
i wonder what graphics card should I get. My box is a xps 8500  series I wonder if it fits.
I want a graphics card around 100-150 pounds. Is gtx 650ti good enough, I use it to also record videos for youtube wot with chickentikka thanks everyone

Indy_Bones #2 Posted 17 October 2013 - 02:36 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 28888 battles
  • 1,501
  • [WHO] WHO
  • Member since:
    06-06-2011
I got a 7870XT for approx £165 about 3 months ago, and couldn't be happier with it.

Plays WoT easily with everything on Max, and handles stuff like Bioshock Infinite, Crysis 3, Far Cry 3 and Tomb Raider on max settings with ease as well.

I can't think of another card that offers the same level of performance that these do at that price point, total no-brainer IMHO.

ThaFr0ggy #3 Posted 17 October 2013 - 02:37 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 11580 battles
  • 20
  • Member since:
    11-05-2011
Have you tried to overclock your radeon 7570?

Skarush #4 Posted 17 October 2013 - 02:44 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13079 battles
  • 45
  • Member since:
    07-18-2012
you may should stock up you memory to 4 or 6gb... that give you some needed space, just a better graphic card can maybe not be a big update.

i only use nvidia graphic cards (i sell computers as work) for very high performance and support if you have problems... i would you totally recommend the gtx 660 series for cost/perfomance.

BansheeBE #5 Posted 17 October 2013 - 02:48 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 11193 battles
  • 81
  • [QSF-C] QSF-C
  • Member since:
    04-29-2013
Power supply is rather low; I would go for the GTX 660 Ti.

AndyScouser #6 Posted 17 October 2013 - 02:49 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 14158 battles
  • 1,538
  • Member since:
    12-09-2012
I have i think a Radeon 7900 or something, i paid £80 for it new about 4 months ago, on my i5 running at 3.8ghz with everything maxxed i get a minimum 65fps.  I run with max settings for everything apart from flora on medium and it will peak at over 100fps

Your eyes cant detect anything over 40fps, i believe.

Cagey75 #7 Posted 17 October 2013 - 02:50 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 491 battles
  • 34
  • Member since:
    09-25-2013
I have a simple GT 640M in my laptop, and it runs the game on all high settings, with everything switched on and on high, even unnecessary stuff like track detail, water quality, foliage etc .. And I get a fairly constant 40fps. It is an above average laptop I guess, with an i7 processor and 8GB of RAM, but the card is non-up-gradable, AFAIK. But it seems to do the job for most games with minor tweaks without much fuss. I have Crysis 2 on it for example, and it runs pretty good with a few options tweaked down. The GTX 650ti should have no troubles.

Petersczech #8 Posted 17 October 2013 - 02:56 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 17516 battles
  • 77
  • Member since:
    07-25-2012
Dont push your money into graphic card if you didnt need. This game support only one core procesors and multi core procesors cant get from game max. I bought GTX 680 Lightning and game give me about 40 fps so that is sad. Game quality didnt depend on your card. The main is procesor.

momo03 #9 Posted 17 October 2013 - 02:59 PM

    General

  • Beta Tester
  • 29445 battles
  • 9,834
  • [DHPA] DHPA
  • Member since:
    07-28-2010
My 3.6GHz Bulldozer runs WoT stable at full settings on full-res-24" Widescreen with a radeon HD6870. I have 4GB RAM.

WoT is not very GPU-demanding, but it needs a lot of single-threading-CPU-power. Your bottleneck might not be the 7570 (although this is a very cheap and slow variant of the 7xxx series), but the 2GB RAM and the mediocre CPU-speed of 3.1GHz.

You didn't mention the amount of Graphics-RAM, though, nor if your RAM is dual-channel or not.

SupremeLeader_KimJongUn #10 Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:03 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 19362 battles
  • 55
  • Member since:
    09-15-2012
thx everyone my card is ati radeon 7570 wit single port and 1gb ddr5

SupremeLeader_KimJongUn #11 Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:04 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 19362 battles
  • 55
  • Member since:
    09-15-2012
my memory cards are two 2gb cards
so that adds up to 4gb

Ulfhedinn_ #12 Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:05 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 48246 battles
  • 7,041
  • Member since:
    05-02-2013
Is that a Dell (looks like it by PSU)?

I believe the most powerful GPU you can put on a PSU like that (and in a standard case without any over-heating issues) is an Nvidia GTX660 oem (1.5gb's). You could fit a slightly more powerful Radeon in but then you would have major stability issues and the drivers aren't as good. Nvidia is probably better than Radeon, as Nvidia is optimised for WOT's.

I have a Dell with 460PSU and GTX660 1.5GB oem, and get frame rates between 65-95 on this game. Never have any stability or heat issues.

So I would say either, GTX660 1.5gb oem (that you buy direct from Dell), or if you can get some clever person to verify it will definitely work ok, then instead definitely a GTX660 non OEM 2gb. To get that verification you should go to Tom's Hardware site and ask them on their forum - they are very clever and will know for sure. And if you can get away with a GTX660 2gb, shop around and you may get lucky and find one including a WOT's promo code for free gold (as they did an affinity offer a while back). Bear in mind though that if your PC is from Dell and is relatively new, putting an after market card in it will invalidate your warranty. But if you buy a GTX660oem 1.5gb direct from Dell, even if you put it in the PC yourself, it will not invalidate your warranty.

Another thing to consider is there is no point buying a mega powerful GPU unless you have a high hertz monitor. Almost all monitors are limited to 60hzt, which means they can only display a frame rate of 60fps. Even if your PC can generate more you won't see it. So unless you have something like a BenQ XL2411T 144hzt, a GPU that generates more than 60fps really isn't worth it.

Ulfhedinn_ #13 Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:07 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 48246 battles
  • 7,041
  • Member since:
    05-02-2013
Oh yes, and I have everything set to max and am using 1920 x 1080 HD res. Also, a DVI connection from your PC to monitor (a white plug rather than a blue) will improve speed and quality quite a bit too.

Edited by Maxmk6, 17 October 2013 - 03:12 PM.


momo03 #14 Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:08 PM

    General

  • Beta Tester
  • 29445 battles
  • 9,834
  • [DHPA] DHPA
  • Member since:
    07-28-2010
Ehm - could it be that the 7570 is a built-in-GPU, not a card? Tom's GPU-chart doesn't list it:

http://www.tomshardw...mance,2976.html

Anyway, you can take a look here. You got several GPUs mentioned here which do fine (including my outdated 6870), so just look what is equal or better and within your budget.

Cagey75 #15 Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:24 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 491 battles
  • 34
  • Member since:
    09-25-2013
It is a card: http://www.videocard...=Radeon HD 7570

Just a bit out-dated.

SupremeLeader_KimJongUn #16 Posted 17 October 2013 - 03:51 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 19362 battles
  • 55
  • Member since:
    09-15-2012
have a look at my videos https://www.youtube....ser/theyughify/ that is the graphics

Cagey75 #17 Posted 17 October 2013 - 04:03 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 491 battles
  • 34
  • Member since:
    09-25-2013
Looking at your first video, it seems the issue is more to do with a drop in FPS only when using additional software? like Fraps or Bandicam?

Otherwise the game does run fine? looks to be running fine even when recording there. You're getting 30fps-ish. Are you getting 40+ when not recording?

A better card may not improve this. There are many factors, your internet upload speed, your overall PC spec - RAM/Processor etc ...

I did see tips on how to get Fraps to perform better, a long time back. So I don't have the link. But there was a setting where you could set Fraps to only use one thread of your cpu or something and deliver better fps when recording. Maybe google that?

tankster #18 Posted 17 October 2013 - 04:04 PM

    Corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 16696 battles
  • 143
  • Member since:
    08-12-2010
People who tell you your power supply may be too weak: only if it is a really cheap one, I don't know what Dell is selling. If it is a good one, you could even put a Radeon 7970 in your PC, it won't use more than 300 Watt. I would recommend you the Radeon 7870, cheap and fast enough. I have an Intel Core i5 2500k  @stock and the Radeon 7870 from Sapphire. While playing i getr barely above 180 Watts, Overclocking will be more ofcourse.

CarlR #19 Posted 17 October 2013 - 07:42 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Veteran
  • 345 battles
  • 725
  • Member since:
    02-17-2010
Moved to off topic section

Dazzerjeep #20 Posted 18 October 2013 - 02:58 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 17360 battles
  • 286
  • [L10NS] L10NS
  • Member since:
    07-20-2012
If this helps, I have a Pent 2.1 dual core, 2 Gb ram, 800W PSU and a msi R7850 twin frozr graphics card, and get 45+ fps.

It does me fine  :smile:





Also tagged with Graphics

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users