Jump to content


PC upgrade


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
22 replies to this topic

Poll: What to do? (39 members have cast votes)

You have to complete 250 battles in order to participate this poll.

Replace the card or go Crossfie with two or them?

  1. Replace (24 votes [61.54%])

    Percentage of vote: 61.54%

  2. Go Crossfire (1 vote [2.56%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.56%

  3. Go play tetris! (14 votes [35.90%])

    Percentage of vote: 35.90%

Vote Hide poll

Minio #1 Posted 04 January 2014 - 11:07 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 39304 battles
  • 660
  • [S-V-D] S-V-D
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

Hi guys,

At the moment I'm running WoT at 25-40 FPS and I would lke to boost it to at least 40-60 (on max settings except flora).

 

1. Specs:

AMD FX 3,8ghz

4GB of corsair 1600mhz DDR3

MSI G970A-G46 motherboard (Crossfire available)

Shappire Radeon 6870 1GB DDR5 graphics

 

2. Question:

Should I buy another 6870 and run them in Crossfire or should I buy one, but newer and more powerful card?

I wish to spend the least amount of money.

 

I also play battlefield 4, so consider that as well.

 

 

Please let me know your opinions ;-)



JPKERR #2 Posted 04 January 2014 - 11:16 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 18647 battles
  • 1,307
  • [CELL] CELL
  • Member since:
    08-17-2010

Crossfire/SLI is not really efficient. I believe its much better to buy newer card model every year than stack two older ones. Newer cards are not only raw specs increase but they also bring new technologies. Im not an expert in Radeons (im running only on Nvidia from years) but i hear that some new ATI series with new numbering similar to Nvidias is coming soon, so why dont you sell your current card and buy that fresh model?

 

Also have in mind that for multi GPU you need some serious power. Good PSU is a must.



redsh1rt #3 Posted 04 January 2014 - 11:25 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6413 battles
  • 42
  • Member since:
    06-03-2011
Crossfire'd 6970;s here and it gives me no benefit in WoT.  The only thing WoT does seem to like is a single powerful GPU and a powerful single core of a CPU.  Any additional GPUs or cores on your CPU are simply wasted.

pun_xD #4 Posted 04 January 2014 - 11:53 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 33927 battles
  • 825
  • [S3AL] S3AL
  • Member since:
    08-07-2011

View Postredsh1rt, on 04 January 2014 - 10:25 PM, said:

Crossfire'd 6970;s here and it gives me no benefit in WoT.  The only thing WoT does seem to like is a single powerful GPU and a powerful single core of a CPU.  Any additional GPUs or cores on your CPU are simply wasted.


they promised to "optimize" the game "soon", so that multicore support is available. at least for the new physics...



Elhazzared #5 Posted 05 January 2014 - 02:40 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 20735 battles
  • 810
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    03-23-2011

Forget playing world of tanks in max definitions and have a good FPS value, especially if you actually want to turn on (And I don't know why you would cause it's one of the most horrible things someone invented during his time out in the bathroom) motion blur... you either play this on lower resolution and good FPS or you play this on high resolutions and with lower FPS.

 

Quite frankly to be able to coup with the good quallity you'll need a beast of a graphic card (forget SLI or crossfire, won't help you here) and even then you'll have drops once certain things happens like many tanks bunched up together, lots of foliage like in a forest of a few tanks firing and rendering all the smoke effects.

 

What you want is quite frankly a lost battle unless you are willing to spend way too much money on a PC and even then it's not guaranteed. If anything WG has been doing improvements in lighting and graphics, forgetting to actually properly optime the game so that computers can take the full advantages of that without suffering frame drops. Similarly they forget some players have lower end machines and I have a friend who this last patch just made the game completly unplayable for him. On minimum specs he starts at 60 FPS but it doesn't takes too long to drop bellow 6. The problem isn't just that the minimum graphics still require a lot, but very poor optimisation completly wrecks any machine.

 

So in short. Save your money, it's not worth to try to waste on a better PC for WoT, you'll only end up disapointed.



redsh1rt #6 Posted 05 January 2014 - 02:43 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6413 battles
  • 42
  • Member since:
    06-03-2011
Yep, they mentioned multicore support specifically for the Havoc physics engine.  So that means the game engine itself will still only run on 1 core.

Valeriadrina #7 Posted 05 January 2014 - 05:23 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 12826 battles
  • 782
  • Member since:
    08-12-2010
290 should be a nice upgrade if you can afford one. Crossfire and SLI can be finicky and don`t play nice with all games. There are some other considerations too, like extra noise and heat.

waxx25 #8 Posted 05 January 2014 - 06:45 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 32434 battles
  • 1,421
  • Member since:
    02-11-2011
I run a gtx 670 GeForce overclockec bla bla bla card, it runs wot on max graphics at 55fps minimum on my 32 inch screen......1920x1080.....bf4 runs about same....(mainly because its not a one core game like wot is...annoyed of having 7 idle cores and one at max with this game)....and gtx 670 run about 400 American these day so idk what you want to spend but this card would suit your needs quite nicely

ValveHead #9 Posted 05 January 2014 - 12:37 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 111 battles
  • 110
  • Member since:
    10-13-2013
As much I know is that WoT does not support Crossfire or SLi.

Panocek #10 Posted 05 January 2014 - 12:47 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29042 battles
  • 11,959
  • Member since:
    05-24-2011
IMO one newer card just work better than stacking two old ones. So if you can, try selling old one and get better new one.

Ubertoaster #11 Posted 05 January 2014 - 01:39 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 15769 battles
  • 824
  • [TAHK] TAHK
  • Member since:
    05-12-2011
If I can run WoT on max settings with a 5 year old Radeon 48xx with constant 40-50 FPS, I don't see the need for an upgrade. Still I am considering an upgrade as well.

Minio #12 Posted 05 January 2014 - 02:10 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 39304 battles
  • 660
  • [S-V-D] S-V-D
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

So it seems that I have to buy new graphics....  And maybe an SSD :-P

Thank you all for your input.



Mextli #13 Posted 05 January 2014 - 02:22 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 41349 battles
  • 2,553
  • Member since:
    11-01-2011

View PostUbertoaster, on 05 January 2014 - 01:39 PM, said:

If I can run WoT on max settings with a 5 year old Radeon 48xx with constant 40-50 FPS, I don't see the need for an upgrade. Still I am considering an upgrade as well.


I would say this depends on the resolution, atleast I cant run WoT on max settings with my old 4870 Toxic and my res is pretty low on 1680*1050. And since my CPU is a new Xenon E3-1230 v3 I'm pretty sure I dont lack any cpu power. To be honest you have to play on pretty low resolution to get alway constant 40-50fps with max settings and this hardware. ;)



basin79 #14 Posted 05 January 2014 - 02:39 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,614
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012
I've got an i5 o/c to 4.6ghz and a GT680 nvidia card. It runs WoT on max settings at 1980x1080 locked through vsync at 61fps. It runs BF3 and Borderlands 2 at the highest setting too at the same FPS. Not tested a y more games on it. This rig should be more than enough for me for a long time as WoT is the only game I play on my pc.

Minio #15 Posted 05 January 2014 - 04:00 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 39304 battles
  • 660
  • [S-V-D] S-V-D
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

I play both BF4 and WoT in 1920x1080 and I have more FPS in BF :-P

Wargaming should optimize the game before they upgrade its looks...



xPraetoriaNx #16 Posted 05 January 2014 - 06:48 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 20345 battles
  • 304
  • [_HOD_] _HOD_
  • Member since:
    05-15-2011
Yeah it's really ridiculus, I can run BF4 on High-Ultra settings with 60+ FPS while WoT goes on a jumpy-rampage between 25-50 if I put it on medium or above settings.... Like Wtf?!

i5-3470
8GB DDR3 RAM @ 1333MHz 
GTX660Ti 

Edited by xPraetoriaNx, 05 January 2014 - 08:16 PM.


dyrewolfe #17 Posted 05 January 2014 - 09:38 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 4721 battles
  • 3,093
  • Member since:
    06-22-2013

I had  Radeon 6670HD card and was getting frame rates of 25-30fps and ping times of around 100ms. I was also running most of the graphics options on the medium settings.

 

I replaced it with a GeForce GTX650TI and am now getting frame rates of 40-50fps and ping rates have dropped to 50-60ms. This is with most of the graphics options on the "high" settings.

 

Think I paid around £50-60 for the Radeon card and £130 for the GeForce, but given the performance improvement I'd say its well worth the money.

 

 

 


Edited by dyrewolfe, 05 January 2014 - 09:40 PM.


JPKERR #18 Posted 06 January 2014 - 02:39 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 18647 battles
  • 1,307
  • [CELL] CELL
  • Member since:
    08-17-2010

View PostxPraetoriaNx, on 05 January 2014 - 06:48 PM, said:

Yeah it's really ridiculus, I can run BF4 on High-Ultra settings with 60+ FPS while WoT goes on a jumpy-rampage between 25-50 if I put it on medium or above settings.... Like Wtf?!

i5-3470
8GB DDR3 RAM @ 1333MHz 
GTX660Ti 

 

GTX560, i5 3470, 8GB Corsair Vengeance - I run everything on max except shadows, water and antialiasing, stable 55-60 fps all the time. So there is something wrong with your PC most likely.



Rzami85 #19 Posted 07 January 2014 - 04:20 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 12928 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    10-03-2012
i got a laptop asus ( republic of gamers ROG ) Intel Core i7 4702HQ 2.2-3.2ghz, 24GB DDR3L 1600MHZ, 1Tb Sata 5400rpm+256SSD, Nvidia GTX770M 3GB GDDR5, "17.3 3D LED 1920x1080...WOT medium settings ( i can max it out but its better to me to play with some settings on med. ). BF4 HIGH, CRYSIS 3 HIGH, NFS RIVALS HIGH ETC.

TacPenguin #20 Posted 08 January 2014 - 09:51 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 41259 battles
  • 1,576
  • Member since:
    09-08-2011

View PostValveHead, on 05 January 2014 - 11:37 AM, said:

As much I know is that WoT does not support Crossfire or SLi.

Wot support SLI from 8.4 update. Check patch note if you want.

WOT does not support crossfire yet.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users