Jump to content


WOT on Linux with windows-like performance in 10 easy steps

HOW-TO Linux

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
27 replies to this topic

Atomrolf #1 Posted 21 April 2014 - 05:03 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 8115 battles
  • 32
  • Member since:
    04-06-2013
Spoiler

 

  1. Make sure, you have installed and enabled your vga-card manufacturer's latest drivers.
  2. Install Play on Linux with your distribution's software manager
  3. Open play on linux, choose install -> world of tanks.
  4. Don't ignore the hint to disable torrent in the wot-launcher (else, updates won't work)
  5. Now you have a playable, but slow running world of tanks.
  6. Close the wot-launcher and the game
  7. open play on linux, configure -> choose world of tanks -> klick the + at wine version -> install 1.7.24-cs, choose 1.7.24-cs as wine version
  8. change to tab "wine" -> registry editor.
  9. HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Wine/Direct3D, create a new String value, name it CSMT, set value: enabled
  10. enjoy the game

 

Additional Hint: In the game's graphics settings, set the lighting to "low" and the shadow to "high" (Thx to Voodoo38)

 

Results:

HW: nVidia GeForce gtx 670 (2GB RAM), intel i5-3570k, 16GB DDR3

Settings: wot 9.0, window mode, maximum details

Windows 7 x64: 30-60 fps

Kubuntu 13.10 x64: 35-50fps, average 45fps

 

Background: CSMT-Versions of wine are patched for maximum Direct3d-performance

 

Edit 10.9.2014: Wine 1.7.4-csmt is not longer recomended - use 1.7.24-cs instead. It improves performance and fixes all stability problems.


Edited by Atomrolf, 24 September 2014 - 09:14 PM.


Occi_ #2 Posted 04 May 2014 - 11:46 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 943 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    04-27-2014

OS: Debian testing, KDE 4.11.5

Wine: 1.7.4-CSMT with CSMT enabled in registry. GSLS support on. Custom exec: LD_PRELOAD="libpthread.so.0 libGL.so.1" __GL_THREADED_OPTIMIZATIONS=1

GPU: Nvidia GTX 560, maximum performance, disabled 'Sync to VBlank'
CPU: Intel i5 750 2.8 GHz

Ram: 16 GB DDR3

Resolution: 1920x1200, windowed

 

Maximum: 15-25 fps

Low: 60-90 fps

 

It seems that my GPU can't handle the improved graphics, i.e. medium or higher. Not only does the fps drop dramaticly, but I also get artifacts and flickering. I tried with/without GSLS, Syncing to VBLank, the ENV variables etc. but doesn't seem to change anything. Could it just be that this card is too weak for the improved graphics? I haven't tried it's performance on Windows.

 

Can you remember if you did any additional changes?

 



wiFuBack #3 Posted 22 May 2014 - 12:36 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 22267 battles
  • 47
  • Member since:
    01-29-2013

Hmm i will try wine 1.7.4-CSMT and then write result. 

I have GPU: GTX 560 (DirectCUII TOP 1GB from ASUS)

CPU: Intel i7 3770

Ram: 8 GB DDR3

Resolution: 1920x1080

SSD : samsung 840Evo 250GB

OS: ubuntu 13.10 with gnome-shell

 

I play on low details then my FPS is about 40-60 depends on map  maybe sometimes i see biggest FPS.

 

But on windows7 i can play on high graphic details. But i play on middle becouse for me is better when i dont see all details:D

 

I am afraid that the performance will not appear on linux too as the Windows without native client.


Edited by wiFuBack, 22 May 2014 - 12:38 PM.


wiFuBack #4 Posted 23 May 2014 - 06:45 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 22267 battles
  • 47
  • Member since:
    01-29-2013
wow realy 1.7.4-CSMT improve my FPS. Now i play first game and i see FPS above 80-90-110-125

Occi_ #5 Posted 23 May 2014 - 06:54 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 943 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    04-27-2014

View PostwiFuBack, on 23 May 2014 - 07:45 PM, said:

wow realy 1.7.4-CSMT improve my FPS. Now i play first game and i see FPS above 80-90-110-125

At what setting? Low? 



wiFuBack #6 Posted 23 May 2014 - 07:32 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 22267 battles
  • 47
  • Member since:
    01-29-2013
For me low. Later i will try set higher settings. I am using nvidia 337.19 driver from official site. I see y have same vga card Occi_

Occi_ #7 Posted 23 May 2014 - 07:52 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 943 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    04-27-2014
Cool, report back if you do, because as I mentioned I can't get good performance with higher than low.

Brynntroll #8 Posted 25 May 2014 - 08:13 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7784 battles
  • 18
  • Member since:
    12-07-2013

Switched from Bootcamp Windows to Ubuntu 14.04 with Wine 1.7.15 CSTM Patch. Actually this Linux supports all Mac hardware o.o.b., even suspend is handled correct.

 

And the best thing: Performance on same medium settings (This MacBook Pro runs a NVidia 650M) increased from Bootcamp... From about 20-25 fps to around 30 at best. Depends on map and map elements.

The standard Wine version does half the Bootcamp performance (barely 10 fps) , so this was a No Go.

 

So this patch is a breakthrough in Wine performance and I _hope_ it find its way into the Wine mainstream as soon as possible.

 

 

Still needs a bit of tuning in the registry settings (HKCU/Software/Wine/Direct3D) with CSTM = enabled and StrictDrawOrdering = disabled.

 

The biggest problem now is XVM, this mod messes with the paths of the WinePrefix and needs links in the home directory to res_mods in the wine prefix to run correct (for the "ModSettings" directory).

 

Further tips:

 

1. Do a separate Wineprefix for Launcher and game (make a link from the launcher prefix WoT folder to that in the gaming prefix)

2. Install d3dx9_36 in the gaming prefix, no more natives needed.

3. install ie8 in the launcher prefix, no more native needed. No ie8 in the gaming prefix, it promotes problems and crashes with the msvcrt runtimes...

4. Use the launcher prefix for updates

5. Start the game directly with wine WorldOfTanks.exe in the gaming prefix.

 

 

 

----

Sidenote:

@Wargaming: Start taking Linux seriously, there are no excuses.

It already runs better on lower spec rigs with this software as with Windows.. Not to imagine if your developers start to optimize that...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



wiFuBack #9 Posted 01 June 2014 - 05:46 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 22267 battles
  • 47
  • Member since:
    01-29-2013

View PostOcci_, on 23 May 2014 - 08:52 PM, said:

Cool, report back if you do, because as I mentioned I can't get good performance with higher than low.

 I must say i have same result. Game is playable only on Low details if i set higher than game become very unplayable.



specialsmith #10 Posted 26 June 2014 - 09:31 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 15921 battles
  • 68
  • [FDFK] FDFK
  • Member since:
    01-21-2011

Hi,

 

I'm going try out this today. I have preinstalled wot in my windows, and would like to use those files. Does it work with PoL?

 

I have limited bandwith in a hotel and wouldn't want to download all those gigs...

 

Thanks



lord_chipmonk #11 Posted 26 June 2014 - 09:58 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 38465 battles
  • 12,730
  • [-HOW-] -HOW-
  • Member since:
    12-23-2012
Great work guys. Well done. :)

Occi_ #12 Posted 26 June 2014 - 10:08 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 943 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    04-27-2014

View Postspecialsmith, on 26 June 2014 - 10:31 PM, said:

Hi,

 

I'm going try out this today. I have preinstalled wot in my windows, and would like to use those files. Does it work with PoL?

 

I have limited bandwith in a hotel and wouldn't want to download all those gigs...

 

Thanks

I think it might be possible If you're able to set up the environment for WoT in PoL, but then choose to not download the game itself when the launcher runs for the first time. Rather, stop it and copy over the necessary files. I haven't tested something like this myself, but it's worth a try. 



Atomrolf #13 Posted 29 June 2014 - 09:00 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 8115 battles
  • 32
  • Member since:
    04-06-2013

Since 9.0, wot needs lots of RAM on high graphic settings, i've found a workaround for this problem:

I've created a 64bit playonlinux-drive, installed only d3dx9_36 into it.

Then I've moved the wot-folder to it and start wot directly (not the launcher, it needs internet explorer which doesn't work on 64bit) using wine 1.7.1-csmt.

 

For updates, you move the folder back to the 32bit drive, run the updater and move it back again.


Edited by Atomrolf, 29 June 2014 - 09:01 AM.


Gathering21 #14 Posted 02 August 2014 - 02:47 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 37966 battles
  • 19
  • Member since:
    01-14-2013

Hi,

 

I´m just starting with Ubuntu coz i was bored of every problem i had with windows..

So i wish being able to follow ur instruction and get wot started :)
 

1 step: In software & Updates, i change Additional Drivers for my graphic card from "Using X.Org X server" to "Using nvidia"  as i understood u recommand ?

2 step: download Play on Linux..  There i´m already stuck, I don´t find this app... What should i write?

Otherwise I downloaded Wine latest version, but didn´t dare to instal it, as i saw ur tutorial.

Tx by advance

S´ebastien (why i can´t do that accent like before? in my old world..  i could first "´" then "e" and it worked out but not here, not the main issue here ;) )



Gathering21 #15 Posted 02 August 2014 - 02:52 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 37966 battles
  • 19
  • Member since:
    01-14-2013
OK.. i found out PlayOnLinux: but have this message when i want to install it:

Package depencies cannot be resolved
This error could be caused by required additional software packages which are missing or not installable. Furthermore there could be a conflict between software packages which are not allowed to be installed at the same time.

The following packages have unmet dependencies:

playonlinux: Depends: python:any (>= 2.7.1-0ubuntu2) but it is a virtual package



...

Edited by Gathering21, 02 August 2014 - 02:53 PM.


Occi_ #16 Posted 02 August 2014 - 02:59 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 943 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    04-27-2014

View PostGathering21, on 02 August 2014 - 03:52 PM, said:

OK.. i found out PlayOnLinux: but have this message when i want to install it:

Package depencies cannot be resolved
This error could be caused by required additional software packages which are missing or not installable. Furthermore there could be a conflict between software packages which are not allowed to be installed at the same time.

The following packages have unmet dependencies:

playonlinux: Depends: python:any (>= 2.7.1-0ubuntu2) but it is a virtual package

Have you tried to update your system first? How did you install PlayOnLinux?

Sometimes you'll get dependency problems if you haven't updated the repositories (apt-get update) and/or upgrades all the dependencies (apt-get safe-upgrade).

 

$ sudo apt-get update

$ sudo apt-get safe-upgrade

$ sudo apt-get install playonlinux

 

Are you using a terminal or the Ubuntu Software Center?



Gathering21 #17 Posted 02 August 2014 - 03:35 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 37966 battles
  • 19
  • Member since:
    01-14-2013
to instal i used the Ubuntu Software Center... but now i click on install nothing happened anymore since i made some terminal input to try to resolve this problem... I delete a package called Image something
Well i´m stuck..

Maybe I needed to instal WINE before PLAYONLINUX?

I know i´m really a noob in World of Linux ... but i´trying, so any help would be nice, currently i´m trying to fix it following those instructions:
http://askubuntu.com...not-be-resolves
it´s probably not the faster way coz if i understand the code i´m currently installing Wine 1.5 which is not the latest version. If someone would be kind to help me, i ll be glad, maybe easier on TS.

Edited by Gathering21, 02 August 2014 - 04:00 PM.


Occi_ #18 Posted 02 August 2014 - 04:02 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 943 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    04-27-2014
No, Wine is a dependency of PlayOnLinux. "Image something" sounds bad. What is the output of the commands I wrote?

If you find that you've messed up your system it's sometimes easier to just reinstall. Obviously depends on what you've done, but might be an alternative. When you're new to Linux these kind of things do happen because you have no idea what you're really doing. But in order to help you need to write actual output of the commands, or else it's hard to understand what you're doing.

Edited by Occi_, 02 August 2014 - 04:02 PM.


Gathering21 #19 Posted 02 August 2014 - 05:29 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 37966 battles
  • 19
  • Member since:
    01-14-2013
ok tx for anwering i ll keep u update asap, tomorow I ll be working on it!

Gathering21 #20 Posted 03 August 2014 - 03:06 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 37966 battles
  • 19
  • Member since:
    01-14-2013
Ok my Linux is in French.. how can i change it to post u the result of the command? Mainly command 2 doesn´t and command 3 says shtg with Wine who is not installable.
 

 

 


Edited by Gathering21, 03 August 2014 - 03:09 PM.






Also tagged with HOW-TO, Linux

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users