Jump to content


Elite status


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
20 replies to this topic

ZenTac #1 Posted 27 May 2011 - 01:06 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 3096 battles
  • 21
  • Member since:
    04-01-2011
Are there any advantages to reaching Elite status, other than being able to Accelerate Crew Training and convert to free exp? Will the tank perform any better?

Thanks!

/ZT

EndlessWaves #2 Posted 27 May 2011 - 01:12 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 4538 battles
  • 1,633
  • Member since:
    03-10-2010
No.

BrusilovX #3 Posted 27 May 2011 - 01:13 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17388 battles
  • 2,786
  • [TWC] TWC
  • Member since:
    12-23-2010
No, all it means is that you've unlocked all the equipment and any vehicles that can be researched.  Your vehicle should be at it's best (equipment wise) before it becomes elite.  In fact quite often the vehicle has multiple vehicles to research in the tech tree - look at the Pz Kpfw IV where there are three.  In such circumstances it would be rare to get an elite vehicle - especially if you don't intend playing those vehicles.

Having a crew trained up to 100% makes a big difference in how the vehicle performs - it should be better spotting, loading, firing, driving etc.

Equipment such as improved ventilation will improve your crew's performance by 10%(?).  Also, remember that 10% of the commander's experience is added to the crews.  So, if all your crew are at 100% the effectiveness of the other crew is 100%.

barabaf #4 Posted 27 May 2011 - 12:00 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 1328 battles
  • 36
  • Member since:
    05-08-2011

View PostBrusilovX, on 27 May 2011 - 01:13 AM, said:

Equipment such as improved ventilation will improve your crew's performance by 10%(?).  Also, remember that 10% of the commander's experience is added to the crews.  So, if all your crew are at 100% the effectiveness of the other crew is 100%.

Ventilation is +5% and Commander add 10% (rounded to higher) to other crew members

So full 100% crew is :
- Commander 100%
- Others 110%  (100 + 10 from commander)

Full 100% crew plus ventilation is :
- Commander 105%
- Others 116% (100 + 5 ventilation + 11 from commander)

Yes you can go higher than 100% and 116% IS better than 100% but that doesn't mean you will have better specification than indicated in your Tank's sheet because, according to a post i can't find right now, the tank specs given in the sheets are for a full 100% crew + ventilation + premium consumable (chocolate, coke or extra ration according to your tank's origin) + additional module (ramer ...).

So if your tank is said to have a 350m max visibilty range you won't reach that with only a crew to 100% but need to add ventilation and premium consumable

Intruder313 #5 Posted 27 May 2011 - 12:11 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 8641 battles
  • 950
  • Member since:
    01-10-2011
Vents seem like a must-have to me now: there's never a time when you don't want all of your crew performing 5% better!

Elite Status should not require research into other vehicles as not only is it largely illogical but unfairly makes it much harder for certain tanks which happen to sit in the centre of a web of other vehicles.

BrusilovX #6 Posted 27 May 2011 - 03:27 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17388 battles
  • 2,786
  • [TWC] TWC
  • Member since:
    12-23-2010

View Postbarabaf, on 27 May 2011 - 12:00 PM, said:

according to a post i can't find right now, the tank specs given in the sheets are for a full 100% crew + ventilation + premium consumable (chocolate, coke or extra ration according to your tank's origin) + additional module (ramer ...).

The specifications are for a 100% crew.

I've read that numerous times from developers and have yet to see anything that means you need ot use ventilation to get those numbers.

adilehanceanu #7 Posted 27 May 2011 - 10:27 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 16587 battles
  • 710
  • [CDP] CDP
  • Member since:
    02-03-2011
You need more than ventilation, read this, the answer for nebsif

Reavus #8 Posted 27 May 2011 - 11:59 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 15451 battles
  • 49
  • Member since:
    03-31-2011

View Postadilehanceanu, on 27 May 2011 - 10:27 PM, said:

You need more than ventilation, read this, the answer for nebsif

that has to be 1 of the dumbest ideas i've ever seen.

when i look at a tank's stats i expect them to be accurate @ 100% crew - not with 100% crew, optics, ventilation, AND a premium consumable.

it needs changing so that no stats include optional extras otherwise its a waste of time even displaying them.

BrusilovX #9 Posted 28 May 2011 - 12:02 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17388 battles
  • 2,786
  • [TWC] TWC
  • Member since:
    12-23-2010

View Postadilehanceanu, on 27 May 2011 - 10:27 PM, said:

You need more than ventilation, read this, the answer for nebsif

That is just silly.......

adilehanceanu #10 Posted 29 May 2011 - 09:47 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 16587 battles
  • 710
  • [CDP] CDP
  • Member since:
    02-03-2011
I know it's silly, but if a developer says that... Until I saw that post, I was sure that tanks specs are for 100% crew. In fact, it's impossible to achive all data from specs, because there are only 3 slots for equipments and you need 4:
- ventilation + coated optics for view range
- ventilation + rammer for rate of fire
- ventilation + gun laying drive for aiming time

Zenith #11 Posted 29 May 2011 - 09:57 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 4214 battles
  • 4,464
  • Member since:
    07-05-2010
So basically, the stats are complete horse-****.  :lol:

Keep the language appropriate to the game's minimum age of 13 please -EndlessWaves

barabaf #12 Posted 29 May 2011 - 11:18 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 1328 battles
  • 36
  • Member since:
    05-08-2011

View PostZenith, on 29 May 2011 - 09:57 AM, said:

So basically, the stats are complete horse-****.  :lol:

Honestly speaking : Yes it is !

imho stats should be given for 100% crew without any add and to make it clearer  stats for your tank (what you see when you select it in the garage) should indicate your REAL stats (taking into account your crew skills and modules)

EndlessWaves #13 Posted 29 May 2011 - 01:47 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 4538 battles
  • 1,633
  • Member since:
    03-10-2010

View Postbarabaf, on 29 May 2011 - 11:18 AM, said:

imho stats should be given for 100% crew without any add and to make it clearer  stats for your tank (what you see when you select it in the garage) should indicate your REAL stats (taking into account your crew skills and modules)

View PostOverlord, on 15 January 2011 - 10:53 AM, said:

Yes, we are working to enable dynamic stats that will reflect crew efficiency, consumables, and modules.


PinkyDK #14 Posted 09 October 2011 - 02:30 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 28722 battles
  • 427
  • [4PDD] 4PDD
  • Member since:
    02-11-2011
Dammit

magicalme #15 Posted 11 October 2011 - 03:41 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 19227 battles
  • 253
  • [ZER0] ZER0
  • Member since:
    05-27-2011
back on topic.
Elite does not effect your tank in any way.

However, it allows you to
(1) keep collecting xp with that tank and unlock it for free experience, at the expense of gold,
(2) or use the tank experience to speed up the crew experience.

You can only do that with an elite tank, with everything researched. In this way it makes sense, that a tank with all equipment researched is still not elite, if you need to research the next tank.

aGentleTanker #16 Posted 16 October 2011 - 08:36 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 19627 battles
  • 4,140
  • [C-L-F] C-L-F
  • Member since:
    05-20-2011
There were a lot of topics which made me think elite tanks create just free experience - but this is not true.
Anm more over it is just a pity an not logic from my perspective. What sense makes it go gather experienve on a tank you cannot use?
Or in another words: Why is accelerated crew training not switched on default when tank is elite?

Homer_J #17 Posted 17 October 2011 - 05:20 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 17633 battles
  • 13,332
  • [AXIOM] AXIOM
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostaGentleTanker, on 16 October 2011 - 08:36 PM, said:

Why is accelerated crew training not switched on default when tank is elite?

Because in most cases it's not worth having it on, tank exp divided by 5 or 6 crew doesn't go very far.

Even if you don't intend buying gold you may as well bank the exp in case you win the lottery.

sword_of_Damocles #18 Posted 17 October 2011 - 10:56 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Community Contributor
  • 41315 battles
  • 5,079
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011

View PostZenTac, on 27 May 2011 - 01:06 AM, said:

Are there any advantages to reaching Elite status, other than being able to Accelerate Crew Training and convert to free exp? Will the tank perform any better?

Thanks!

/ZT

You answered that yourself...NO :P

SastusBulbas #19 Posted 17 October 2011 - 12:26 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 24470 battles
  • 2,478
  • Member since:
    11-24-2010
The tank may not perform better, but you at least have the ability to change guns for different playstyles such as derps on the M4 or PzIV. I regularly do that, along with alternating between the small turret and Konisch or large turret and 88 on the VK3601.

An elite can also be usefull for as stated, crew training. But what to do is not train up on any secondary skills!

If you have a 100% crew, and leave them at that! No repair, fire, or cammo training! Any experience they gain will stay when they move. That means if you use them for long enough, when you transfer them for free they will be at 100% in the new tank without gold.

You can use ACT with this also, I have no faith in it, but if you do not need the XP well it may make a bit of difference. Personally I have NEVER found Accelerated Crew Training to make any difference.

I was a bit disappointed with the lack of benefit recieved by some of the arduous grinding to elite on some tanks. Shame they can't have some added benefit. Even cheaper XP transfer would be welcome, as 1 gold for 50xp would be better value than the current 1 gold for 25xp extortion.

adilehanceanu #20 Posted 17 October 2011 - 01:38 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 16587 battles
  • 710
  • [CDP] CDP
  • Member since:
    02-03-2011

View PostSastusBulbas, on 17 October 2011 - 12:26 PM, said:

You can use ACT with this also, I have no faith in it, but if you do not need the XP well it may make a bit of difference. Personally I have NEVER found Accelerated Crew Training to make any difference. What I believe you do lose out on though, is that small XP earned percentage that becomes free! ...... I believe with ACT all xp earned including that percentage goes to crew training.
1. By the time you can turn on accelerate crew training, except lower tier vehicles, the crew skill percentage is high enough to require a lot of experience to advance one percent and I saw some time ago, but don't remember where, that the experience available to vehicle (as reported at the end of the battle) is in fact much less than 50% of the real experience gained in battle(*), that's why ACT doesn't seems to have a visible effect to the speed of crew training.

(*): Total experience gained in battle (not shown) = Experience to crew training (not shown) + Experience to vehicle (shown in battle report)

2. No, you don't... free EXP is not affected by ACT on/off.