Jump to content


Thinking of getting a new GPU


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

Judqment8 #1 Posted 18 June 2014 - 03:05 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 21582 battles
  • 3,984
  • Member since:
    09-21-2011

So I have pretty good PC, but I was wondering that could I "safely" upgrade my Geforce GTX 660 to GTX 780.

 

My specs currently are:

WIndows 7 64bit

Intel i7-3770 @3.4 GHz (with turbo it's 3.9 GHz afaik)

Geforce GTX 660

12GB RAM

Hard drives are normal  (1TB) and I don't have SSD.

 

Can I just buy the new GTX 780 to improve performance in games or would I have to buy something else too? To put it simply: Will upgrading my GPU be enough to improve the performance significantly? And I'm not doing this upgrade for WoT (duh, this game will never run perfectly anyway) it's more like getting ready for the GTA V.


Edited by Judqment8, 18 June 2014 - 03:05 PM.


Pater_Leppich #2 Posted 18 June 2014 - 03:17 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 53928 battles
  • 930
  • [_LGS_] _LGS_
  • Member since:
    02-22-2011
You only need a sufficient psu for the upgrade. Go for it, and get an ssd also :wink:

Judqment8 #3 Posted 18 June 2014 - 03:21 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 21582 battles
  • 3,984
  • Member since:
    09-21-2011

View PostPsarandis, on 18 June 2014 - 05:17 PM, said:

You only need a sufficient psu for the upgrade. Go for it, and get an ssd also :wink:

 

How do I know if the 780 requires more watts than the 660? >_>



Pater_Leppich #4 Posted 18 June 2014 - 03:33 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 53928 battles
  • 930
  • [_LGS_] _LGS_
  • Member since:
    02-22-2011

It's not the wattage thing only, it's about the amperage on the 12v.

Example. I had a 680 on a corsair 850W. Card requires ~40A, my psu gives 70A

Sold it. Guy used a no name psu which was 850 too but gave like 30A. Result was a blow up while running crysis 3. Hardcore example but better be safe than sorry.

 



CrySpy #5 Posted 18 June 2014 - 04:06 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 22330 battles
  • 1,001
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    04-07-2011

You should do fine as long as you already have a 500-600W PSU. Modern PSUs can provide almost all or all of their power through 12V if necessary. There won't be any blowups unless you have the shittiest PSU you could buy.

As you can see here, almost all the way down there is a system power consumtion measurement. Not how much the graphics card is drawing by it self. All we know is that the 780 probably draws about 100-120W more than the 660. The total is still under 400W. This is most likely measured from the outlet. Since no PSU is 100% efficient we can assume it is 80 to 90% efficient. I think you should be perfectly fine with the current PSU you have.

 

Get the SSD while you're at it though.



Judqment8 #6 Posted 18 June 2014 - 04:50 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 21582 battles
  • 3,984
  • Member since:
    09-21-2011
Thanks, I should probably check my PSU before buying (if I'm gonna buy one that is). I assume it's 500W. My PC is Acer Predator G3620 BTW so I have not build this myself.

Pater_Leppich #7 Posted 18 June 2014 - 04:58 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 53928 battles
  • 930
  • [_LGS_] _LGS_
  • Member since:
    02-22-2011
There should be a sticker on the psu side with its specs. Or contact acer directly to ask for info. From the acer website all i could find was "500W power supply".

iVladyBoss #8 Posted 18 June 2014 - 07:21 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 19396 battles
  • 285
  • [ROLS] ROLS
  • Member since:
    04-17-2012
If you want to know which GPU is better go to google and write World of tanks system req and click on the game-debate link and fill in the form. When you're shown a chart look up a bit and click on your GPU. At the bottom of the page is '' Compare your GPU with...'' and choose

Judqment8 #9 Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:44 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 21582 battles
  • 3,984
  • Member since:
    09-21-2011
But I'm not looking for a new GPU to play WoT. It's mostly for games that actually do look like something and not this horse turd WoT is.

CrySpy #10 Posted 18 June 2014 - 11:31 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 22330 battles
  • 1,001
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    04-07-2011
Prebuilt? Ugh. I wouldn't count on the PSU then.

Judqment8 #11 Posted 27 August 2014 - 03:22 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 21582 battles
  • 3,984
  • Member since:
    09-21-2011

Well, since my PC was in repairs and they just changed the PSU I can confirm that it's 500W. But anyway >_>

 

What is the difference of the GPUs made by different companies? For example Gigabyte is offering one for 430€ while for example there is this one Asus one that costs 570€. Also just how easy it is to just swap the GPU? Is just what I'm thinking, snapping the old one off and then putting the new one in?

 

Also will the 500W PSU be enough for the upgrade? If not for GTX 780 then perhaps at least GTX 770?


Edited by Judqment8, 27 August 2014 - 04:16 PM.


Random_Killah #12 Posted 28 August 2014 - 11:15 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 142 battles
  • 1
  • [-CN-] -CN-
  • Member since:
    08-08-2013
at least 650w or above for 780, i'd say. 

Judqment8 #13 Posted 28 August 2014 - 12:38 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 21582 battles
  • 3,984
  • Member since:
    09-21-2011
So it would be PSU and GPU upgrade. How easy would it be?

basin79 #14 Posted 28 August 2014 - 01:40 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,682
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

View PostJudqment8, on 28 August 2014 - 12:38 PM, said:

So it would be PSU and GPU upgrade. How easy would it be?

Very easy. Just make sure you earth yourself before starting. So touch you pc case if it's metal or something else that's metal whilst you're sat down. Then it's just a case of carry pulling out your old card and putting in the new one. They do take a firm push though. Don't forget to open the tabs to remove your old card. 



Judqment8 #15 Posted 20 September 2014 - 10:04 AM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 21582 battles
  • 3,984
  • Member since:
    09-21-2011

What do you guys say about the latest GTX 900 series? They promise minimum power requirement as low as 500w?!

 

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-980/specifications

 

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-970/specifications

 

Holy crap that 970 looks promising. It's so cheap yet so powerful. If it's gonna be ok for my PC then I'm pretty sure I'll get it.


Edited by Judqment8, 20 September 2014 - 10:12 AM.


basin79 #16 Posted 20 September 2014 - 10:11 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,682
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

View PostJudqment8, on 20 September 2014 - 10:04 AM, said:

What do you guys say about the latest GTX 900 series? They promise minimum power requirement as low as 500w?!

 

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-980/specifications

I'd ignore the minium of 500w. Anything to do with pc's you're better off going above whatever the manufacturers recommend. 



daddlar #17 Posted 20 September 2014 - 10:42 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 28967 battles
  • 923
  • [D0NG] D0NG
  • Member since:
    01-11-2013

View PostJudqment8, on 27 August 2014 - 03:22 PM, said:

 

 

What is the difference of the GPUs made by different companies?

 

Cooling solution. Often factory overclock. Branding. Bling-bling. Different/better components over stock components. Different/rigorous testing of their solution.

 

Some end up hopelessly expensive for no performance upgrade from stock solution. Some end up ridiculously cheap with a big performance upgrade from stock solution.



Outlawz0111 #18 Posted 20 September 2014 - 10:46 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 4351 battles
  • 749
  • Member since:
    03-30-2014

You do not need more wattage but an efficient PSU that can handle a card like the 780. 

 

Make sure the PSU is modular and has a gold rating this will ensure reliability and that your GPU will be powered sufficiently. 



Judqment8 #19 Posted 20 September 2014 - 02:42 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 21582 battles
  • 3,984
  • Member since:
    09-21-2011
I should check my PSU before getting that GTX 970 then. I know it's 500W, but that's about it...

M1tchy #20 Posted 20 September 2014 - 05:18 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 33055 battles
  • 2,742
  • Member since:
    04-19-2012

Buy the best PSU you can afford. Even save up for it if you have to. (Don't rob banks or old grannies please). The PSU is the heart of your system, while the motherboard is the nervous system, and the CPU the brain. All of them need feeding, plus fans etc.

 

I have a GTX 770 and that needs minimum 230 watts I think.  I have a 750 watt Corsair, so it doesn't struggle and will cope with future upgrades. That cost about £120.

 

If 500 watt is minimum, I would go to 600 watt just for comfort.


Edited by M1tchy, 20 September 2014 - 05:20 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users