ELC AMX - Tank review

• Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

Lil_Nas_X #1 Posted 28 July 2014 - 11:26 PM

Brigadier

• Player
  • 33177 battles
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U

I decided to give a tank review to one of my favorite tanks which I have since I started playing wot, and still going strong with 500+ games: the ELC AMX. 

I saw lots of people drive this tank not how you should, so I decided to give you a summary how you can play good in this tank.

(note: not that I am the ELC professional but this review is based on how I think the ELC plays very well.)

Let's see what the ELC has got, and take a summary for it's stats.

We'll compare it to other tier 5 light tanks, excluding the Crusader - since it isn't a scout and doesn't get scout matchmaking.

Leaving us with the VK 16.02 Leopard and M24 Chaffee,

STATS:

400 Hit Points - not so great. It's worse than the Leopard (440) and much worse than the Chaffee (580). Although since 9.1 the scout mm doesn't let the ELC get into tier 9 games anymore, it will still see tier 8 games, where we see tanks like the IS-3, and any TD, which have the same alpha damage as the ELC's HP. Heck, even the KV-1S has that value, and 320 alpha guns can take all your health off as well.

Weight of 6,96 t, limit of 8,75, making it one of the lightest tanks in WoT. Be carefull not to get rammed - you'll not survive it.

Engine of 250 HP. Doesn't seem very great, but with it's 7 t weight, it still has a Power/Weight ratio of 35,92, which is shockingly good. 

65 kph - Making it not the fastest tank in the game (Pz. I C, Hellcat or FV304 are faster for instance), but the ELC rockets to that speed and you'll zoom around the battlefield with about 60 kph. 

Traverse of 38 dg/s makes the ELC manouvre pretty well, since the top speed is not as high as the other I just mentioned, which will reach 72-79 kph.