Jump to content


nVidia graphics card help


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

Kevbar #1 Posted 23 September 2014 - 02:32 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 18586 battles
  • 1,216
  • Member since:
    01-22-2013

Hello. :smile:

 

My name is Kevbar :glasses:

 

Its been a week since my last drink battle. :playing:

 

Last week whilst platting with some of my clanmates, my laptop died mid-battle accompanied by a faint, yet definite smell of electrical burning.

 

After taking a hammer and chisel to the casing to invesigate, I found that the graphics card had a burnt chip on it and coincidentally the smell of burning was localised to that specific area of the card.

 

I'm trying to locate a definitive part number for a replacement and/or trying to locate a new one online (Ebay, computer spares retailers etc).

 

If anyone can help me source a replacement I will be ever so grateful and will reward you with a +1 and possibly a :honoring:. Details are as follows

 

Laptop                  Toshiba Qosmio X875-Q7380

Laptop Pt No        PSPLZU-001002

Graphics card      nVidia GeForce  GTX 670M - 3 GB GDDR5 SDRAM

 

I do have a part number for a card which could be the right one but I cannot verify this number yet:-     V000280680

I can't see anything on my card that resembles this number, so even if it is correct, is it the whole card assembly or the actual processor or.... :ohmy:

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

 

 



Yag0 #2 Posted 23 September 2014 - 05:38 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 3168 battles
  • 3,420
  • Member since:
    04-24-2012

Don't look so good on parts:

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item5410287245

 

No clue who or what seller and part, up to you.



_snowfIake__ #3 Posted 23 September 2014 - 06:30 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 27103 battles
  • 643
  • Member since:
    08-16-2012
try calling http://www.tfixrepairs.com/ they fix lots of laptops, maybe can help

Kevbar #4 Posted 24 September 2014 - 10:44 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 18586 battles
  • 1,216
  • Member since:
    01-22-2013

Thanks guys for your replies. :great:

 

Yag0,   I had already seen that one on Ebay. I'm not sure about buying a 2nd hand card as obviously would prefer a new one. It is also only 2Gb whereas mine is was 3Gb. Do you know if this will make much difference? :unsure:

 

H_A_R_D   Have messaged them and am waiting for a reply. :popcorn:



Yag0 #5 Posted 24 September 2014 - 12:01 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 3168 battles
  • 3,420
  • Member since:
    04-24-2012

View PostKevbar, on 24 September 2014 - 10:44 AM, said:

 

Yag0,   I had already seen that one on Ebay. I'm not sure about buying a 2nd hand card as obviously would prefer a new one. It is also only 2Gb whereas mine is was 3Gb. Do you know if this will make much difference? :unsure:

 

 

The question is, "are NVidea still manufacturing the card?", it is 2.5 years old model.

 

Completed listing seems to confirm a generally high price, might be one to sit and wait for a cheap one to come along, or pick up a smashed laptop with intact GFX card (can be difficult to check compatibility).

http://www.ebay.co.u...TX 670M&_sop=15



BERLIN_19451945 #6 Posted 24 September 2014 - 11:38 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 21553 battles
  • 1,595
  • Member since:
    07-10-2013

The OP is being underhand, dishonest, and somewhat disingenuous, in so far as he is pleading some degree of poverty, where poverty does not exist.

The "Gentleman" (I use the term loosely and with due contempt) has been retired for many many years now on a porn stars pension scheme. This is a result of him hanging round the bar in a disreputable Naval Base in the wild North, telling tales of daring do under water. In truth, in keeping with many " Brothers Of The Fin", he has spent less time underwater than I have snorkelling in Kavos. 

Yet he now resides in sun drenched magnificence, living a life of luxury and gazing at his collection of HMS Tamar Ferry cap tallies.

His laptop, as he quaintly calls it, is actually six feet across, and has a screen of sixty inch. He probably confused it with his lap dancer, whom I have it on good authority has to dance on Wednesdays and Fridays to various Bros songs whilst wearing an electrified Jimmy Cranky outfit. Hence the burning smell. Hard work for a Albanian midget if you ask me.

And on a separate note, in a different post, he claims to have intimate knowledge of my wife's under garments. I have questioned my wife about any possible carnal knowledge, and she denied all. She then said, "I'd best PDQ, but I have to say, submariners go deeper for longer......."

 

 



Kevbar #7 Posted 29 September 2014 - 01:53 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 18586 battles
  • 1,216
  • Member since:
    01-22-2013

View PostBERLIN_19451945, on 25 September 2014 - 12:38 AM, said:

..... but I have to say, submariners go deeper for longer......."

 

 

 

YES.

 

They do. :glasses:



Xino9922 #8 Posted 01 October 2014 - 08:20 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 16048 battles
  • 4,736
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    02-13-2011

View PostKevbar, on 23 September 2014 - 03:32 PM, said:

Hello. :smile:

 

My name is Kevbar :glasses:

 

Its been a week since my last drink battle. :playing:

 

Last week whilst platting with some of my clanmates, my laptop died mid-battle accompanied by a faint, yet definite smell of electrical burning.

 

After taking a hammer and chisel to the casing to invesigate, I found that the graphics card had a burnt chip on it and coincidentally the smell of burning was localised to that specific area of the card.

 

I'm trying to locate a definitive part number for a replacement and/or trying to locate a new one online (Ebay, computer spares retailers etc).

 

If anyone can help me source a replacement I will be ever so grateful and will reward you with a +1 and possibly a :honoring:. Details are as follows

 

Laptop                  Toshiba Qosmio X875-Q7380

Laptop Pt No        PSPLZU-001002

Graphics card      nVidia GeForce  GTX 670M - 3 GB GDDR5 SDRAM

 

I do have a part number for a card which could be the right one but I cannot verify this number yet:-     V000280680

I can't see anything on my card that resembles this number, so even if it is correct, is it the whole card assembly or the actual processor or.... :ohmy:

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

 

 

 

Problem is it's a laptop. Specialiced parts for certain laptops are hard to get a hold of. Unless you contact support, which is expensive if you don't have any sort of warranty.

 

Is the graphics card mounted into your motherboard? 

In that case, the whole motherboard will have to be replaced.



Kevbar #9 Posted 01 October 2014 - 11:58 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 18586 battles
  • 1,216
  • Member since:
    01-22-2013

Thx for your replies chaps (except obviously Berlin, who is overwhelmingly jealous of my submariner status (himself being only a lowly skimmer, target etc) and I will deal with him later ).

 

Xino, I'm fortunate in that the graphics card is actually separate from the motherboard (which appears to be undamaged). You can see the card If you check the links that Yago has kindly posted above.

 

The card that I have is a 3Gb beasty, but the ones I've seen are either 1.5Gb or 2Gb only. Can anyone tell me if I will actually notice much difference in performance. A mate of mine recently upgraded his tower to a Radeon 1Gb card and seems to play with a reasonable fps, so I'm assuming if I went for the 2Gb version I would be ok. I've checked the specs for the game and 2Gb is recommended so I know it would play ok, but wonder if it would actually be worse than the 3Gb or was that extra 1Gb superfluous.

Payday approaches, so I have to make a decision soon. :unsure:

 

Fwiw; I've just installed the game on my wife's non-gaming laptop with the following specs and managed about 22fps in the training room but not sure how it would handle more than 2 vehicles in a real(!) battle. 

If I'm a good boy she might even let me find out!!! :girl:

System memory standard : 4,096 (1x) MB
maximum expandability : 8,192 MB
technology : DDR3 RAM (1,333 MHz) 
Graphics adaptor type : Intel® HD Graphics 
memory amount : up to 1,696 MB shared memory from 4 GB system memory installed (with pre-installed 64-bit operating system) 
memory type : shared 

 

 

Oh, and Berlin....... :tongue:



Xino9922 #10 Posted 01 October 2014 - 12:56 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 16048 battles
  • 4,736
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    02-13-2011

View PostKevbar, on 01 October 2014 - 12:58 PM, said:

Xino, I'm fortunate in that the graphics card is actually separate from the motherboard (which appears to be undamaged). You can see the card If you check the links that Yago has kindly posted above.

 

One of very, very few laptops that have the card separate then... consider yourself lucky :smile:



Kevbar #11 Posted 01 October 2014 - 03:24 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 18586 battles
  • 1,216
  • Member since:
    01-22-2013

View PostXino9922, on 01 October 2014 - 01:56 PM, said:

 

One of very, very few laptops that have the card separate then... consider yourself lucky :smile:

 

I will when I'm back up and running. :popcorn:

 

Don't suppose you know much about Thermal Paste. I was thinking about this:- http://www.arctic.ac/eu_en/mx-4.html as seems to have pretty good reviews.

 



Xino9922 #12 Posted 02 October 2014 - 06:58 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 16048 battles
  • 4,736
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    02-13-2011

View PostKevbar, on 01 October 2014 - 04:24 PM, said:

 

I will when I'm back up and running. :popcorn:

 

Don't suppose you know much about Thermal Paste. I was thinking about this:- http://www.arctic.ac/eu_en/mx-4.html as seems to have pretty good reviews.

 

 

Looks alright, but most likely not any different from any cheaper pastes, only a couple degrees of cooling. Which, again, matters in a laptop. Still, test was performed on a graphics card from 2010. 

NoxiousRaven #13 Posted 14 October 2014 - 12:35 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13378 battles
  • 19
  • Member since:
    08-08-2012

Sorry if I'm off topic but since since this was relating to a laptop, does anyone know if Intel HD graphics are support WoT and does anyone recommend it?

 



konjamiini #14 Posted 14 October 2014 - 06:19 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 29239 battles
  • 236
  • Member since:
    02-20-2012

View PostKevbar, on 01 October 2014 - 12:58 PM, said:

 

The card that I have is a 3Gb beasty, but the ones I've seen are either 1.5Gb or 2Gb only. Can anyone tell me if I will actually notice much difference in performance.

 

Zero difference in WoT. In other games it depends on quality of textures they are using. 2GB video memory is enough for almost every game. Some titles benefit larger vram when using max texture setting. Even then it's not actually fps gain everywhere but less fps drops caused by loading new textures into vram. Lowering texture quality would avoid performance drops in these rare cases.

 

I tested WoT's vram usage in Kharkov map(prob. most demanding), at max textures vram usage was ~1300MB, at high setting only ~800MB.



Effing_Drako #15 Posted 15 October 2014 - 06:39 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 26989 battles
  • 7,662
  • [-GLO-] -GLO-
  • Member since:
    04-11-2011

View PostSamuLele92, on 14 October 2014 - 12:35 PM, said:

Sorry if I'm off topic but since since this was relating to a laptop, does anyone know if Intel HD graphics are support WoT and does anyone recommend it?

 

 

Wouldn't recommend they are to be honest crap

 


Edited by drakozaurs, 15 October 2014 - 06:39 PM.


Kevbar #16 Posted 15 October 2014 - 11:06 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 18586 battles
  • 1,216
  • Member since:
    01-22-2013

View Postkonjamiini, on 14 October 2014 - 07:19 PM, said:

 

Zero difference in WoT. In other games it depends on quality of textures they are using. 2GB video memory is enough for almost every game. Some titles benefit larger vram when using max texture setting. Even then it's not actually fps gain everywhere but less fps drops caused by loading new textures into vram. Lowering texture quality would avoid performance drops in these rare cases.

 

I tested WoT's vram usage in Kharkov map(prob. most demanding), at max textures vram usage was ~1300MB, at high setting only ~800MB.

As I'm still looking for a replacement card "It's been nearly 4 weeks since my last drink battle" that's good to know and I appreciate you letting me know. Hopefully, it might make my search a tadger easier. Thanks matey! :great:



Kevbar #17 Posted 15 January 2015 - 09:42 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 18586 battles
  • 1,216
  • Member since:
    01-22-2013

Just in case you're still waiting with baited breath, I finally managed to get my laptop back up and running yesterday. Played my 1st games today since mid September (patch 9.3), its amazing how much I've forgotten.

Eg. Just messaging in game, couldn't remember initially how to change from Team to All / Platoon. Still can't remember how to make the minimap big :facepalm:

 

As for the new maps, had a quick look in training room but yet to play them for 'real'. Feel more of a newb than noob. 

Btw, I used MX-4 thermal paste to fit the GPU and Arctic Clean to prep them. I now also know about tinting CPU's / GPU's :popcorn:

 

Anyway, thanks for your advice everyone. So happy to be back in game. :great:



BERLIN_19451945 #18 Posted 16 January 2015 - 07:55 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 21553 battles
  • 1,595
  • Member since:
    07-10-2013

View PostKevbar, on 15 January 2015 - 08:42 PM, said:

Just in case you're still waiting with baited breath, I finally managed to get my laptop back up and running yesterday. Played my 1st games today since mid September (patch 9.3), its amazing how much I've forgotten.

Eg. Just messaging in game, couldn't remember initially how to change from Team to All / Platoon. Still can't remember how to make the minimap big :facepalm:

 

As for the new maps, had a quick look in training room but yet to play them for 'real'. Feel more of a newb than noob. 

Btw, I used MX-4 thermal paste to fit the GPU and Arctic Clean to prep them. I now also know about tinting CPU's / GPU's :popcorn:

 

Anyway, thanks for your advice everyone. So happy to be back in game. :great:

Cheers for the dits.........






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users