Jump to content


World of Tanks Mac Solution


  • Please log in to reply
1086 replies to this topic

TheDudeAbidesForever #1061 Posted 06 August 2018 - 11:34 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 7801 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    07-23-2013

View PostRobin8or, on 05 August 2018 - 09:35 AM, said:

 

Hi Nik,

 

Your iMac should certainly be up to the job, no problem there. Your internet is the same as mine. Again, no problem there.

 

It was suggested to me that when I had a complete crash twice on the same day a week ago during the higher temperatures of the heat wave here in England, that the jerkiness could also be due to my computer overheating. From what i've seen, it's been pretty hot everywhere in Europe this summer. My son in Sweden has also experienced heat related issues. 

 

And I was playing on my recently scrounged 2011 3GHZ PC desktop now with Windows 10 and upgraded HD 2GB graphics card. I have since directed an evaporative cooler directly at the PC when I play during hot afternoons. No more issues.

 

I resorted to this PC simply because my old 2006 Mac Pro and 2008 MacBook Pro were no longer capable after the massive 1.0.1 upgrade. Also because I just couldn't get my Macs upgraded with the latest operating systems that would enable me to install Windows 10. The best I could do was Windows 7.  

 

The DudeAbidesforever plays on a recent iMac like yours, but uses Windows 10 installed via bootcamp. He has said WoT plays extremely well on his setup.

 

Install Windows 10 Nik. Not puritan Mac, but I believe you'll benefit from this move on your iMac.

 

Cheers, Rob.

 

Hello Nik,

 

As Rob said, the way to go is Windows 10.  I have an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M 4096 MB & I have even tried Nvidia GeForce Now to try & run the Game on the Mac OS, but I get best results by using Bootcamp.



Snizzlesniff #1062 Posted 13 August 2018 - 12:10 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 29348 battles
  • 3
  • [APF] APF
  • Member since:
    04-07-2014

Thanks for all the suggestions everyone :)

 

 



kirtidas #1063 Posted 14 August 2018 - 03:48 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 15923 battles
  • 175
  • Member since:
    12-07-2015
Guys, anybody successful to install Gromovoe Orudie voiceover? I was using it before this last patch 1.0 and now client is just freezing at "connecting" phaze.

Siegmund_von_Schacky #1064 Posted 14 August 2018 - 12:35 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5253 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    08-09-2017

Hello ,

 

i am Playing WOT on a Mac Pro (late 2013). 3,7 Quad-Core Sean E5 64 GB Ram, AMD FiroPro D300 Bi-Card with 2GB, high sierra 10.13.6.

 

Since Update 1.0.0. at least every 2 game the client freezes in the beginning. I have to kill it an start it again. That issue makes the game nearly unplayable. I use no mods, plain vanilla. And i did several new installations. 

 

And it's the only running program during the time i play. Is there anybody who has an idea (except "use Windows 10");)

 

thanks in advance 

stefan



lapinrigolo #1065 Posted 19 August 2018 - 10:38 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6006 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    04-22-2017
Are there plans to upgrade the Wine version? Mine's at 2.0.12 (or something like that) and Wine is currently at 3.x. I'm sure we could see some serious performance improvements if the Wine wrapper was updated.

countonme #1066 Posted 24 August 2018 - 06:23 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 2505 battles
  • 12
  • Member since:
    05-11-2013

View PostSiegmund_von_Schacky, on 14 August 2018 - 11:35 AM, said:

Hello ,

 

i am Playing WOT on a Mac Pro (late 2013). 3,7 Quad-Core Sean E5 64 GB Ram, AMD FiroPro D300 Bi-Card with 2GB, high sierra 10.13.6.

 

Since Update 1.0.0. at least every 2 game the client freezes in the beginning. I have to kill it an start it again. That issue makes the game nearly unplayable. I use no mods, plain vanilla. And i did several new installations. 

 

And it's the only running program during the time i play. Is there anybody who has an idea (except "use Windows 10");)

 

thanks in advance 

stefan

 

I've just started back on WOT after many years on Windows.  I am having a similar issue to the above, that every now and again the client freezes when "Waiting for Players" Often the music stops or just carries on.  The Mac locks and you have to reboot manually. I was reported today for inactivity, which wasn't my fault and spending almost 20mins of my 300% reserves; rebooting and launching was a bit annoying to say the least!

This is a late 2017 iMac 5k 27", running on recommended High Game settings on any resolution except 5k - which is too slow for the mouse. 

Installation was straight from WOT and when the game plays it plays really well - far better than Win10 & GTX1050Ti on a HD monitor.

 

Thanks in Advance

 

 


Edited by countonme, 24 August 2018 - 06:24 PM.


valyan #1067 Posted 24 August 2018 - 08:35 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 29645 battles
  • 151
  • [KMKZ] KMKZ
  • Member since:
    04-17-2011
MAC SOLUTION:  BUY A PROPER *edited* PC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Edited by G_Bg_82, 07 September 2018 - 05:06 PM.
edited due to swearing


TuksunTuhero #1068 Posted 25 August 2018 - 09:29 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 377 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    09-06-2013

View Postvalyan, on 24 August 2018 - 08:35 PM, said:

MAC SOLUTION:  BUY A PROPER *edited* PC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Mac is a proper pc.

TheDudeAbidesForever #1069 Posted 25 August 2018 - 12:40 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 7801 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    07-23-2013

View Postvalyan, on 24 August 2018 - 08:35 PM, said:

MAC SOLUTION:  BUY A PROPER *edited* PC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Bless you for your Wisdom. I'm sure all of us here have now seen the light & will rush out to buy "Proper *edited* PC's"

 

By the way, who is this Proper PC maker or distributor called *edited*? Cannot find a trace of them on the Web!

:rolleyes:


Edited by G_Bg_82, 07 September 2018 - 05:09 PM.
edited due to swearing


Robin8or #1070 Posted 26 August 2018 - 11:14 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 36670 battles
  • 85
  • Member since:
    05-19-2013

View PostTheDudeAbidesForever, on 25 August 2018 - 11:40 AM, said:

 

Bless you for your Wisdom. I'm sure all of us here have now seen the light & will rush out to buy "Proper *edited* PC's"

 

By the way, who is this Proper PC maker or distributor called *edited*? Cannot find a trace of them on the Web

:rolleyes:

 

I love it TheDude. Great reply. 

 

Cheers, Rob.

 



TheDudeAbidesForever #1071 Posted 26 August 2018 - 12:35 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 7801 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    07-23-2013

View PostRobin8or, on 26 August 2018 - 11:14 AM, said:

 

I love it TheDude. Great reply. 

 

Cheers, Rob.

 

 

Thanks Rob,

 

I always like to think that I am open to learn from those more knowledgable than us poor Oldlings! :teethhappy:

 

Cheers,

Richard



Siegmund_von_Schacky #1072 Posted 28 August 2018 - 11:31 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5253 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    08-09-2017

View Postcountonme, on 24 August 2018 - 06:23 PM, said:

 

I've just started back on WOT after many years on Windows.  I am having a similar issue to the above, that every now and again the client freezes when "Waiting for Players" Often the music stops or just carries on.  The Mac locks and you have to reboot manually. I was reported today for inactivity, which wasn't my fault and spending almost 20mins of my 300% reserves; rebooting and launching was a bit annoying to say the least!

This is a late 2017 iMac 5k 27", running on recommended High Game settings on any resolution except 5k - which is too slow for the mouse. 

Installation was straight from WOT and when the game plays it plays really well - far better than Win10 & GTX1050Ti on a HD monitor.

 

Thanks in Advance

 

 

 

As i understand, the problem is that damned wine-configuration. I dried to configure my own "wine bottle", but i failed. The delivered "wine bottle" is the same since 0.9.x.x. But in 1.0.0 a lot changed, without the "wine bottle".

 

I normally do photo and video postproduction on my mac, playing WOT only for pleasure reasons. I will not buy a crap *edited* PC" only for WOT.


Edited by G_Bg_82, 07 September 2018 - 05:10 PM.
swearing


Siegmund_von_Schacky #1073 Posted 30 August 2018 - 11:19 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5253 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    08-09-2017
Update 1.1.0 -  same problems

ARTESFERRUM #1074 Posted 07 September 2018 - 11:15 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5174 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    12-15-2016

I installed WOT for Mac from official site.  The game graphic on my late 2105 5K Retina display is spectacular.  Unfortunately every third game, it freezes.  Contacted wot support.  Deinstalled and reinstalled w/o effect.  Has anybody had similar problem and found solution, I would be grateful.  

 



Wellum44 #1075 Posted 08 September 2018 - 10:03 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 12436 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    12-14-2013
I gave up with using the wrapper and went the Boot Camp route. I should have done it ages ago - the game runs much better. Faster frame rates at higher graphics settings, and completely reliable too. I recommend it.

Robin8or #1076 Posted 10 September 2018 - 09:40 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 36670 battles
  • 85
  • Member since:
    05-19-2013

View PostWellum44, on 08 September 2018 - 09:03 AM, said:

I gave up with using the wrapper and went the Boot Camp route. I should have done it ages ago - the game runs much better. Faster frame rates at higher graphics settings, and completely reliable too. I recommend it.

 

Good move Wellum44. 

 

Cheers, Rob.

 

 



ARTESFERRUM #1077 Posted 11 September 2018 - 09:46 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5174 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    12-15-2016
Well, I have found that on the lowest graphic quality - the game runs smoothly.  Unfortunately it looks odd on Retina Display.  Probably graphic card has too litlle memory...

Siegmund_von_Schacky #1078 Posted 12 September 2018 - 04:15 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5253 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    08-09-2017

There is a new Version of the MacWrapper. I try it. an tell you what is happening.

 



Siegmund_von_Schacky #1079 Posted 15 September 2018 - 10:27 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5253 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    08-09-2017

View PostSiegmund_von_Schacky, on 12 September 2018 - 04:15 PM, said:

There is a new Version of the MacWrapper. I try it. an tell you what is happening.

 

 

The new Version is much more stable. Some Maps still make troubles. Himmelsdorf is freezing, Paris is freezing and Minsk forces the client to crash. But playing up to 10-12 matches in a row without a freezing client is much more convenient.

I'll keep my eyes open...



T0101T #1080 Posted 11 October 2018 - 09:35 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5617 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    03-23-2014

Not it doesn't seem to work on any Mac....

October 10 update cause

 Screen Shot 2018-10-11 at 23.32.22.png

 

Clean reinstall didn't help....


Edited by T0101T, 11 October 2018 - 09:39 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    KaptenMorgan