Jump to content


New GPU


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

VanSaai2Grappig #1 Posted 06 December 2014 - 10:53 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6375 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    06-28-2013

Hey guys,

 

I would like to get a new GPU, but im not really sure which.

My current:

Processor: Intel® Core™2 Quad CPU    Q6600  @ 2.40GHz (4 CPUs), ~3GHz (overclocked)
             Memory: 4096MB RAM
GPU: GT430

 

As you can see my GPU is outdated and isn't also designed for gaming. I can play World of Tanks without any lag on low, but when im trying on medium, it begins to lag.

 

Do you guys know a new upgrade? Im not buying it new, and it also doesn't have to be a very new card either. My budget is around 50 euro's,  if only I can play WoT on medium settings it'll be good.

Thanks!


Edited by VanSaai2Grappig, 06 December 2014 - 10:55 AM.


Roua28 #2 Posted 06 December 2014 - 01:35 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 43638 battles
  • 394
  • [-WBZ-] -WBZ-
  • Member since:
    06-08-2013

Hey man.

 

My gpu is 650 GTX  :  http://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b539/gainward-gtx-650-gs.html  + I5 3470 + 8gb ddr3 + ssd intel

And i run almost everything on high on 1366 / 768 res and i get 60 fps straight (with vertical synchronization ON)

In Romania you can get it new for around 80 euros and on second hand (with warranty) around 40-45 euros.

So you can search for a second hand 650 GTX  in your country. (the new equivalent is 750 GTX , but that is more expensive)

 

PS : sorry for my bad english


Edited by iownthenoobs, 06 December 2014 - 01:38 PM.


VanSaai2Grappig #3 Posted 06 December 2014 - 02:19 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6375 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    06-28-2013
Thanks, I will look for it. :tongue:

2Tee2 #4 Posted 06 December 2014 - 05:15 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 24965 battles
  • 3,401
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    02-20-2014

well its not only the GPU thats outdated :D I also run wot on the ancient (and beloved :D ) q6600. it had mediocre single core performance even some 7 years ago, not to mention that the cores share cache in pairs  -- all that along the lines that ppl say wot is cpu limited and (mostly?) single core

 

anyway, id start with cjecking what my motherboard and power could handle



LoveAmiga #5 Posted 07 December 2014 - 04:59 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 31229 battles
  • 239
  • Member since:
    05-15-2011
Just buy a GeForce 750ti. No need for a better card with that CPU. Will run the game without probs.

VanSaai2Grappig #6 Posted 08 December 2014 - 07:31 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6375 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    06-28-2013

I think im going to buy a GTX460, just because I dont need a high-end card and maybe a new card will bottleneck with my cpu.

Will my fps increase with this card compared  to the GT430, or is it only the CPU? I already OCed it to 3 ghz.



Red_Dragon_Firkraag #7 Posted 08 December 2014 - 10:33 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 15476 battles
  • 1,682
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011

View PostVanSaai2Grappig, on 06 December 2014 - 10:53 AM, said:

Processor: Intel® Core™2 Quad CPU    Q6600  @ 2.40GHz (4 CPUs), ~3GHz (overclocked)

Is at 921 Singlethread Points. The recommended CPU (i5-3330) as of download page is at 1,699 Singlethread Points.

 

´

View PostVanSaai2Grappig, on 08 December 2014 - 07:31 AM, said:

I think im going to buy a GTX460, just because I dont need a high-end card and maybe a new card will bottleneck with my cpu.

Will my fps increase with this card compared  to the GT430, or is it only the CPU? I already OCed it to 3 ghz.

Nope.avi

Why? WoT is CPU-bound. The recommendation barely meets 50+ FPS in medium to high settings with an average GPU. Your CPU is already at its limit. Just replacing the GPU won't do.

 

WoT still uses DirectX9 Revision 43 which makes it impossible to use rendering in a multicore/multithreaded context because the rendering pipeline is single-threaded. For multicore rendering you'll need DX11 which is for WoT afaik in the works, but will still take another year at minimum (if ever). The first game to support DX11 multithreaded rendering was Sid Meier's Civilization 5 by the way and was released 2010.

 

Get a CPU from this list with at least 1,700 Singlethread Points or more: http://cpubenchmark.net/singleThread.html and forget about AMD CPUs in general, at least for now.


Edited by AuRon_The_Grey, 08 December 2014 - 10:37 AM.


VanSaai2Grappig #8 Posted 08 December 2014 - 04:35 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6375 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    06-28-2013

http://www.gigabyte....spx?pid=2453#ov

 

This is my motherboard, can i replace the q6600 with something better?

 

https://www.youtube....h?v=VZPVDtjmnZs

This guy can play on maximum with the q6600, which I won't even try because my game will be ruined by lag.



Red_Dragon_Firkraag #9 Posted 08 December 2014 - 06:10 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 15476 battles
  • 1,682
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011

Socket 775 is too old. The best you can get would be a Xeon CPU but those are intended for servers and thus too expensive.

Your best bet is getting a Socket LGA1150 or LGA1155 mainboard with a matching Core i5 or i7.

 

The best in slot CPU for Socket 775 would be the Xeon X3380, but it is still below the recommended Singlethread Points threshold (1,346 Points, recommended are 1,700+).


Edited by AuRon_The_Grey, 08 December 2014 - 06:20 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users