Spähpanzer RU 251 best prepartion for the Leo 1?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

Ambiorix1032 #1 Posted 28 January 2015 - 04:31 PM

Corporal

• Player
  • 4292 battles

Hi all !

I was wondering the following, I really love the Leopard 1 (my uncle and father serviced on this tank ) and I'm grinding for it.

But I do like the Indien Panzer but I think  it isn't really a good preparation for the Leopard series now we got the RU 251.

Personally I love it that we got a second path to get to the Leopard  1 ( I'm an MT driver ) so the German tech tree gets some flexebility.

Now comes the real point of this post; Is the Spähpanzer a better tank to prepare yourself to master the Leo series that comes after it?

I base my idea on the hull armour of the tanks that lead to the Leo series

• Indien Panzer:
    • Hull :90 mm front 90 mm sides , 45 mm back
    • Turret: identical of the hull
  • Spähpanzer RU 251 :
    • Hull: 25 mm front, 20 mm sides, 8 mm back
    • Turret: 20 mm all round

Leopard 1 has the following armour stats:

• Hull: 70 mm front, 35 mm sides; 25 mm back
  • Turret: 52 mm front, 60 mm sides + back

Personnally I think yes in a Leopard 1 you can't afford to get hit and I think that you won't bounce anyhting in a T10 game that shoots at you. I think a Leopard 1 tank is a good harraser and flanking tank that relies heavely on support of other tanks (MT's , HT's ).

But I really want to know what other players think of this ?

Maybe you have a Spähpanzer or a Leopard 1 it would be nice to have an input of people who own it/them :)

Thanks for reading ! :honoring:

ps: no rage or neg rep ! I want a decent discussion !

MetalManiac69 #2 Posted 28 January 2015 - 05:28 PM

Second Lieutenant

• Player
  • 23425 battles

yes, RU 251 is similar in playstlye to Leo 1, but I wouldn't say it's a good trainer for Leo, because they're both very difficult to play. :)