Jump to content


Pick Your Game Client – SD and HD (beta)


  • Please log in to reply
90 replies to this topic

Community #1 Posted 16 May 2015 - 11:15 AM

    Sergeant

  • Content Team
  • 0 battles
  • 25,030
  • Member since:
    11-09-2011
With Update 9.8, players will have the ability to download either an HD or SD

Full news text


Brakier #2 Posted 16 May 2015 - 11:23 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5667 battles
  • 36
  • Member since:
    12-21-2013

Whats the problem whit world of tanks client? it isent that big, GTA 5 is damn 60 GB, Skyrim, wow,starcraft 2, diablo 3,fallout new vegas, there are many games whit clients bigger then wot, so whats the damn problem whit the size"wich is pretty tiny imo" and dont dare tell me that there are those whit bad computers, its 2015, having atleast an 100gb-200gb space is normal even in the poorest lands.

Put your effort and time on something more useful.


Edited by Brakier, 16 May 2015 - 11:31 AM.


death_by_spoon #3 Posted 16 May 2015 - 11:28 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 9498 battles
  • 4
  • [FLNG] FLNG
  • Member since:
    11-09-2013
Will you be able to platoon or play with someone on the opposite client?

Arkay93 #4 Posted 16 May 2015 - 11:37 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 25817 battles
  • 95
  • Member since:
    08-20-2013
I do not see any advantage to that.. other than the download speed i mean my hopes are that they will really add something really soon on the HD client for example more and better aesthetics enviroment textures (cus they are low) and ofcourse reallistic sounds..

Cobra6 #5 Posted 16 May 2015 - 11:49 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 16314 battles
  • 15,294
  • [RGT] RGT
  • Member since:
    09-17-2010

So what are the ACTUAL approximate sizes of each client installed in 9.8? Can we get numbers please.

 

Cobra 6



AsG_Alligator #6 Posted 16 May 2015 - 11:50 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 16201 battles
  • 297
  • Member since:
    04-12-2012

View PostBrakier, on 16 May 2015 - 11:23 AM, said:

GTA 5 is damn 60 GB, Skyrim, wow,starcraft 2, diablo 3,fallout new vegas,

 

WoT client after installation weighs about 10-12GB. Neither Skyrim, nor Fallout: NV have more than 10GB of disk space requirements. No idea about the rest, i dont play those titles...

 

GTA V is a perfect example of lazines when it comes to content compression. Sadly more and more common thing in new games...

 

Personally I think HD/SD client split is a pretty nice addition for those who run WoT at minimal to sub-maximum settings. No point in dl-ing content you wont use.


Edited by AsG_Alligator, 16 May 2015 - 11:52 AM.


death_by_spoon #7 Posted 16 May 2015 - 11:55 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 9498 battles
  • 4
  • [FLNG] FLNG
  • Member since:
    11-09-2013

View PostArkay93, on 16 May 2015 - 10:37 AM, said:

I do not see any advantage to that.. other than the download speed i mean my hopes are that they will really add something really soon on the HD client for example more and better aesthetics enviroment textures (cus they are low) and ofcourse reallistic sounds..

 

I don't play on max graphics but some of my friends do, will I be able to play with them?

 



AsG_Alligator #8 Posted 16 May 2015 - 11:56 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 16201 battles
  • 297
  • Member since:
    04-12-2012

View Postdeath_by_spoon, on 16 May 2015 - 11:28 AM, said:

Will you be able to platoon or play with someone on the opposite client?

 

It just differs in texture quality... why would that be a thing?

 



antemiu #9 Posted 16 May 2015 - 12:00 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 30436 battles
  • 145
  • [RO-A] RO-A
  • Member since:
    12-22-2012
Good feature! I think this will be benefic for those with not so performant system configurations. :medal:

RepoFox #10 Posted 16 May 2015 - 12:28 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 15256 battles
  • 301
  • [FURHQ] FURHQ
  • Member since:
    11-08-2012

This is kinda nice feature for laptop users for example.

 

But it makes me laugh, because not long time ago this HD/SD client split was totally denied to be introduced to the game.

Very quickly WG changes their minds...



jagdcommander #11 Posted 16 May 2015 - 12:44 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 39170 battles
  • 860
  • Member since:
    03-18-2011

I play on a laptop and the recommended graphics setting is "minimum". I assume this means I would not get the benefit of HD.

 

Would it be possible (as with graphics detection) for the system to advise whether SD or HD is recommended for a particular machine?

 

Nice to see WG considering all players to give best enjoyment to everyone.



KYLoooo #12 Posted 16 May 2015 - 12:59 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 44231 battles
  • 501
  • Member since:
    09-29-2012

View PostCobra6, on 16 May 2015 - 11:49 AM, said:

So what are the ACTUAL approximate sizes of each client installed in 9.8? Can we get numbers please.

 

Cobra 6

 

SD is 6 GB and HD is 9 GB

you download SD, 6 GB, and if you want HD you download another 3 GB :)


Edited by KingYoshiLuca, 16 May 2015 - 12:59 PM.


Gremlin182 #13 Posted 16 May 2015 - 12:59 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 46079 battles
  • 7,813
  • Member since:
    04-18-2012

I guess I will be doing SD client first then HD when I upgrade the computer.

Im still on 32 bit at the moment hopefully the SD version will perform as well or a little better than current game.

 

 



death_by_spoon #14 Posted 16 May 2015 - 01:02 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 9498 battles
  • 4
  • [FLNG] FLNG
  • Member since:
    11-09-2013

View PostAsG_Alligator, on 16 May 2015 - 10:56 AM, said:

 

It just differs in texture quality... why would that be a thing?

 

 

Not sure, I just wondered whether they were effectively creating a new sever. Thanks for your help

patrykb2002 #15 Posted 16 May 2015 - 01:04 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 10560 battles
  • 455
  • Member since:
    09-17-2013

View Postantemiu, on 16 May 2015 - 11:00 AM, said:

Good feature! I think this will be benefic for those with not so performant system configurations. :medal:

 

Agreed!

Mr_Deo #16 Posted 16 May 2015 - 01:19 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 39990 battles
  • 1,586
  • [ESAF] ESAF
  • Member since:
    01-30-2012

Odd question here.

It says you need a 64bit OS for the High-Def version.

Does this also mean that the Low-Def version is not fully optimized for 64bit?



Procrastinator7 #17 Posted 16 May 2015 - 01:47 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 5181 battles
  • 429
  • Member since:
    02-20-2014

View PostMr_Deo, on 16 May 2015 - 01:19 PM, said:

Odd question here.

It says you need a 64bit OS for the High-Def version.

Does this also mean that the Low-Def version is not fully optimized for 64bit?

 

It means that you need the 64 bits of address space to be able to fit all the textures and other data in memory. A 32 bit system can only address 4 GB of space and a lot of that space is already occupied by other stuff such as the operating system and memory mapped hardware.

Edited by Procrastinator7, 16 May 2015 - 01:48 PM.


NostromoTheViking #18 Posted 16 May 2015 - 01:54 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 8582 battles
  • 2
  • [DDDK] DDDK
  • Member since:
    02-02-2014
Am I the only one still thinking: "Hey, fix your coding so we can use all our processing power etc, before you start doing anything else."

Brakier #19 Posted 16 May 2015 - 01:55 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5667 battles
  • 36
  • Member since:
    12-21-2013

View PostAsG_Alligator, on 16 May 2015 - 10:50 AM, said:

 

WoT client after installation weighs about 10-12GB. Neither Skyrim, nor Fallout: NV have more than 10GB of disk space requirements. No idea about the rest, i dont play those titles...

 

GTA V is a perfect example of lazines when it comes to content compression. Sadly more and more common thing in new games...

 

Personally I think HD/SD client split is a pretty nice addition for those who run WoT at minimal to sub-maximum settings. No point in dl-ing content you wont use.

 

If people really having issues whit thier space thier computer, i agree, its a good thing, but do people really lacking in space so much that 10 - 12 gb is a problem? i understand fully that not all can view the game at max graffic whit good fps flow, but computer space is not the same as having a high end graffic card, computer space is alot cheaper.

trooters #20 Posted 16 May 2015 - 01:56 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 4862 battles
  • 34
  • Member since:
    06-27-2011

the textures are actually quite large, and at some point they will turn your GPU into a sad excuse of a processing unit when WG adds enough HD tanks. You can't really compress that, and I really like when games with graphics I don't really care of leave the smallest footprint on my computer, so I'm all in for the SD client.

On my 7870 I'm already playing on most of the settings on low, so I'm not going to see any change in the quality - but there will be no need to download ultra 4k textures I'm never going to see, either, which is good.

 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users