Jump to content


Show off your gaming rig!


  • Please log in to reply
256 replies to this topic

Woody1999 #1 Posted 22 July 2015 - 03:48 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 13578 battles
  • 6,477
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-15-2011

I'm sure there was a topic like this before...can't find it though.

 

Anyway, the title is pretty self-explanatory. Show off your gaming rig, whether you built it yourself or you're making the best of whatever HP or Dell has puked up onto the market. If you have pictures - even better!

 

My system is....old. I prefer to call it "venerable" :P

 

Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 - overclocked to 2.91GHz with 388MHz FSB

Arctic Cooling Alpine 11 Pro

Asus P5KPL-AM EPU

4GB DDR2 - running at 991MHz, timings 5-4-4-14-20-2T

640GB WD Caviar Blue

Sapphire R7 260X 1GB - overclocked to 1250MHz core, 6000MHz effective memory

Corsair 200R - 1 x 120mm intake, 1 x 120mm exhaust

XFX ProSeries (TS) 450W

 

I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium, and have a two monitor setup with two Iiyama ProLite B2409HDS monitors, which are 1920x1080, 2ms response time, TN panels.

 

Will get some pictures up once I have a decent camera and my computer is actually assembled again.

 

Woody

 

 

 



BatelGeuce #2 Posted 22 July 2015 - 04:14 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 27222 battles
  • 2,196
  • [CSA-2] CSA-2
  • Member since:
    09-23-2011

Intel Core i5 4590

MSI B85-G41 PC Mate

16 GB RAM DDR3 1600MHz CL9 HyperX Fury

Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 1000GB

MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G

Seasonic S12II-620

 

all packed in Zalman Z3 case. Built on my own but I would rather skip the photo-uploading part ...



KptStrzyga #3 Posted 22 July 2015 - 04:22 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 33333 battles
  • 15,649
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-19-2011

AMD A-series CPU on AsRock Killer Fatality motherboard, 12 Gb ram, 500 gb HDD and my pride: new shiny Gigabyte GTX 970.

That is my home desktop. I also have laptop:

17 inch ASUS ALTEK with Intel i7 (old i7, first gen), 4 Gb ram and 4gb Nvidia GT630 M.

Laptop recently started overheating when playing tonks. :confused:


Edited by KptStrzyga, 22 July 2015 - 04:23 PM.


Woody1999 #4 Posted 22 July 2015 - 04:30 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 13578 battles
  • 6,477
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-15-2011

Kpt, I'd get a can of compressed air, open up your laptop, and give it a good clean. You've gotta have something to do at work, with no tonkz (or sheeps) you'll get bored. And god knows what kind of beast lurks in bored Strzyga. :P

 

Woody



KptStrzyga #5 Posted 22 July 2015 - 04:33 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 33333 battles
  • 15,649
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-19-2011

View PostWoody1999, on 22 July 2015 - 03:30 PM, said:

Kpt, I'd get a can of compressed air, open up your laptop, and give it a good clean. You've gotta have something to do at work, with no tonkz (or sheeps) you'll get bored. And god knows what kind of beast lurks in bored Strzyga. :P

 

Woody

 

I opened and cleaned it recently. It was surprise: it wasn`t that dusty inside at all. And obviously it didn`t help. I`m afraid I`ll have to reinstall OS, I never did it since I got this laptop. 

Not_DangerUXB_Thats4sure #6 Posted 22 July 2015 - 04:36 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 9516 battles
  • 2,534
  • Member since:
    03-07-2013

Zalman Z11+ case with 8 built in cooling fans.

AMDfx8350 8 core processor.

ASUS full atx motherboard M5A97 EVO R2.0

4 X4 GB Corsair vengance RAM

120GB SSD

1TB Secondary 7200 rpm

Sapphire R9270X 2GB

Corsair HSS Liquid cpu cooler

Corsair 750W power supply

 

 



Woody1999 #7 Posted 22 July 2015 - 04:44 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 13578 battles
  • 6,477
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-15-2011

Hm, that's weird. No software can make a laptop overheat, Kpt :P

 

You might want to consider getting a cheap "laptop cooling pad".

 

Woody



KptStrzyga #8 Posted 22 July 2015 - 04:47 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 33333 battles
  • 15,649
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-19-2011

View PostWoody1999, on 22 July 2015 - 03:44 PM, said:

Hm, that's weird. No software can make a laptop overheat, Kpt :P

 

You might want to consider getting a cheap "laptop cooling pad".

 

Woody

 

I have cooling pad and it makes playing sheeps possible. Weird thing is that when playing tonks it gets REALLY warm and system shuts down anyway after 20 minutes at most. 

 

Hard format C, I`m telling ya! 



Woody1999 #9 Posted 22 July 2015 - 04:56 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 13578 battles
  • 6,477
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-15-2011

What gets really hot? The CPU or the graphics card?

 

Woody



KptStrzyga #10 Posted 22 July 2015 - 05:05 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 33333 battles
  • 15,649
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-19-2011

I don`t know. But I guess it must be one of thingies inside. ;)

I suspect HDD, sometimes it starts working really hard for no reason and keeps doing it for few minutes. Might be on his last legs and dying. 


Edited by KptStrzyga, 22 July 2015 - 05:06 PM.


Woody1999 #11 Posted 22 July 2015 - 05:58 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 13578 battles
  • 6,477
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-15-2011

Yeah. How much storage do you need? An SSD could really breathe a completely new life into that laptop.

 

Woody



Effing_Drako #12 Posted 22 July 2015 - 08:03 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 25590 battles
  • 7,621
  • [-GLO-] -GLO-
  • Member since:
    04-11-2011

Case: Bitfenix Comrade

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 1TB

Motherboard: Gigabyte 970a UD3P

GPU: Sapphire R9 270X

CPU: AMD FX-6300

Fan: Cooler Master 120mm Sickleflow

PSU: EVGA 500w

RAM:Crucial Ballistix 2x4 GB 1600Mhz

Spoiler

 



Woody1999 #13 Posted 22 July 2015 - 09:22 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 13578 battles
  • 6,477
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-15-2011

Nice! Get yourself a cheap aftermarket cooler (the Raijintek Aidos is a great little cooler) and overclock your FX-6300. That board is fantastic for overclocking, it's one of the only 970 boards with an 8+2 power phase design, a feature normally found on the higher end 990FX boards. This will let you overclock your CPU better, as voltage regulation will be kept tight,

 

Woody



CroustibatFR #14 Posted 23 July 2015 - 10:54 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 23297 battles
  • 4,135
  • Member since:
    09-14-2011

View PostWoody1999, on 22 July 2015 - 04:44 PM, said:

Hm, that's weird. No software can make a laptop overheat, Kpt :P

 

Woody

 

Yes, they can. It depends on the laptop architecture mostly, but nowadays you can have voltage, speed and fan control with software.

I know WOT can fry a computer, depending on the laptop ... most laptops only have 1 fan to extract hot air from cpu and GPU, and it usually is regulated by cpu load / temp. Not by GPU temp.

Meaning if your cpu is not loaded, the fan won't go fast, and your GPU will bake. Now, remember how WOT is not multithreaded ? Got 4 cores and HT in your laptop ? WOT will at most produce around 15-20% CPU load (it does use some parts of the OS that are multithreaded) . With that kind of load, the cpu won't heat much.

 

Which results in baked thermal paste between GPU and radiator, and then GPU death by overheating. It happened to a friend around 2 weeks ago, with an msi gamer laptop.

 

View PostKptStrzyga, on 22 July 2015 - 04:47 PM, said:

 

I have cooling pad and it makes playing sheeps possible. Weird thing is that when playing tonks it gets REALLY warm and system shuts down anyway after 20 minutes at most. 

 

Hard format C, I`m telling ya! 

 

Maybe you have the problem above. Try to replace thermal paste / thermal pads, and use a software that will let bypass fan speed regulation, and put it at 100% when playing WOT. speedfan works well on desktops, i don't know if it can be of any use on a laptop but it is worth a try.

DigitalSuicide #15 Posted 23 July 2015 - 11:59 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 25884 battles
  • 58
  • Member since:
    02-04-2011

Intel Core i7 4790K 4.0GHz 8MB Quad Core LGA 1150 Processor (overclocked 4.50GHz)

Corsair Memory Vengeance Jet Black 32 GB 9-10-9-27 Dual Channel

Kingston SSDNow x2 128GB SATA 3 SSD 2.5

Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX 970 Windforce 3 OC Graphics Card - 4GB

Alphacool NexXxoS Cool Answer 480 DDC/XT - kit

 

ASRock Z97 EXTREME6 Motherboard

 

Thermaltake Core X9 Cube Case ( Its Kinda BIG)

 

Thecus NAS 5TB

 

Thecus NAS 10TB

 

Thecus NAS 10TB

 

6 HDD;s In Tower (20TB)

 

Other External HDD's ( too many to list)

 

Main Screen 32" Samsug TV

 

x2 Asus 27" Monitors

 

PHILIPS Surround sound system

 

Pro Microphone & Microphone Boom

 

Razor Mouse

 

K120 Keyboard

 

This is the setup with my OLD tower. and the table has been moved to the left side of the room.



Woody1999 #16 Posted 23 July 2015 - 12:47 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 13578 battles
  • 6,477
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-15-2011

I was reading a review of the X1 a few weeks ago. It truly is massive. How easy did you find it to build in?

 

Woody



TsundereWaffle #17 Posted 23 July 2015 - 12:51 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 26308 battles
  • 10,884
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    03-31-2013

Intel Celeron 1000M (Dual-Core @1.8Ghz)

Intel HD Graphics

4GB RAM

 

That's everything you need to know really...

 

Spoiler

 



Woody1999 #18 Posted 23 July 2015 - 03:48 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 13578 battles
  • 6,477
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-15-2011

I would +1 you but I've run out. How do you even play WoT on that? :P

 

Woody



Woody1999 #19 Posted 23 July 2015 - 03:57 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 13578 battles
  • 6,477
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-15-2011
Spoiler

Here's what I'm currently running on:

 

Spoiler

 


Edited by Woody1999, 23 July 2015 - 03:57 PM.


TsundereWaffle #20 Posted 23 July 2015 - 05:39 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 26308 battles
  • 10,884
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    03-31-2013

View PostWoody1999, on 23 July 2015 - 03:48 PM, said:

I would +1 you but I've run out. How do you even play WoT on that? :P

 

Woody

 

Lowest possible graphics, with my monitor attached i have ~25fps

With regular laptop monitor I have 30-35fps






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users