Good arty players- How do I avoid getting killed by artillery?

• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

SonOfNobby #1 Posted 20 October 2015 - 07:14 PM

Lance-corporal

• Player
  • 10203 battles
  • [ORLY] ORLY

I literally cannot play ONE game without getting hit constantly by artillery.

Just going to keep this short- How in the name of holy hell do you avoid them?

I've tried hiding, constantly moving ect.

But I spend most of my games in Heavies, tank destroyers and even the slower medium tanks hiding behind a rock, because I know if I pop out some pro in an S-51 will skilfully remove half of my HP.

Can anyone help? Because its really starting to make me want to stop playing the game, because no matter what I do, arty always kills me.

mynameispuffs #2 Posted 20 October 2015 - 07:40 PM

Major General

• Player
  • 25156 battles
  • [-GLO-] -GLO-

I'm by NO MEANS an expert artillery man but I've played it enough to give you a few tips

#1 Sitting still OBVIOUSLY makes you an instant target so move back and forwards. However if you just drive 5m forward 5m back, me in whatever arty piece im playing just calculates accordingly and will still take a pop. What you need to do is maybe 2/3 seconds of back/forwards in a straight line and then 3/4 seconds in a curve a bit like a bracket:  (  if you change directions like this and VARY how far you are moving it makes it much harder  for me to predict where you are going to be 

#2 Sitting behind that rock for too long means i have time to pre-aim for you and loose of a shot the instant you are spotted again. Yes sit still but when you are unspotted MOVE somewhere else. It keeps me guessing and if you do it right by the time ive moved and aimed again you should be in sufficient cover or unspotted again.