A Pretty Musical Thread

• Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

Woody1999 #1 Posted 20 October 2015 - 08:40 PM

Lieutenant General

• Player
  • 15837 battles
  • [WJDE] WJDE

Well, we've had plenty of "music" threads about music that you listen to, but as far as I know there's not been a thread about playing music yet. I'm a hobbyist musician, I'd say, but I'm not very good. I know, however, that we have some very talented musicians hanging around the OT forum... *cough* Vonnis? *cough*

I used to play a fair bit of saxophone, trumpet, keyboard and that kind of stuff. Was into jazz and blues a lot more than I am now. Don't miss playing those instruments one bit though. Awkward to set up, practicing was genuinely an effort (something I don't do very well :P) and eventually got bored with the jazz genre.

Now, I play a lot of something I find a lot more interesting. Namely, the guitar and it's fatter, more classy (IMO) brother, the bass. Been playing guitar for about 4 years, bass about 3. Entirely self-taught on both. After this amount of time...still not very good. I think it's mostly down to the fact I don't "practice" as such. I just play. Find a song I like, learn it. No techniques, no reading music. Guess they're bad habits.

I'm the bassist and now and then the rhythm guitarist for my band "Truefield". Don't ask about the name, my mate Thom decided on the name and he's a little bit insane :D

My current instruments go as follows:

Acoustic: Yamaha F310 Tobacco Brown Sunburst

Classical: Admira Alba

Bass: Stagg BC300 Fusion Natural (4-string, passive)

Electric: Gibson Les Paul 40th Anniversary Midnight Blue (loaned to me on occasion by my friend)

Will be adding an Ibanez SR375-BBS to my lineup soon, as my first five-string, active 3-way EQ bass. Will copy my post from the forum bar over into here so you can see the full details.