Jump to content


Dual Xeon help

xeon 4k old xeon

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

styleruk #1 Posted 05 January 2016 - 07:24 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6235 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    12-07-2012

Hi all, 

 

You will all boo and throw things at me for admitting to what I have running WoT!  But I don't care.

 

I have 

2x xeon 5450, running at either 3GHz or overclocked to 3.3 depending on my mood.  Each has 4 cores.

32 Gb ram

Win 7

GTX 670

 

 

I recently bought a 4k screen (40").  AWESOME!  BOODY AWESOME.

I knew I'd have to upgrade my machine when I bought it but gave it a go and BOOM!  it runs max resolution at 40fps with all turned up.  I know world of tanks is a bit crap with graphics etc so I've ordered a few more games to try.

 

I've seen some threads explaining how to use just 2 cores of a multi core CPU, mainly core 2 & 3 of 4.  But what about dual quad core xeons, would I use 2 & 3 + 6 &7?  Then tell everything else to use the others?

Any thoughts or experience on this before I spend a day trialling this?

 

Thanks for the help and to anyone with useful 'old gear' advice.

PS

I am curently looking for another GTX 670 to SLI with my current card, I'm sure this will help.



K_A #2 Posted 05 January 2016 - 10:27 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 13658 battles
  • 4,665
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    04-18-2013
I'm no expert in the CPU business, but the 2Gb of video memory on your GTX 670 will struggle with 4k, and going SLI won't do 2+2=4 but instead just use the capacity of the primary card so I'd strongly suggest ditching the 670 completely and getting something with 4Gb VRAM and newer, more efficient architecture to replace it. 

styleruk #3 Posted 05 January 2016 - 11:02 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6235 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    12-07-2012
Really?  Adding another 2gb gtx 670 will make no difference?
I didn't know it didn't utilise both 2gbs.  That would be a wasted £100

Ulicum #4 Posted 05 January 2016 - 11:14 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 39597 battles
  • 1,961
  • [3VS27] 3VS27
  • Member since:
    07-09-2011
Wot is currently running mostly on single core so it doesnt matter how many cores or processors you have.

And also the SLI compatibility is more or less joke.

K_A #5 Posted 05 January 2016 - 11:32 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 13658 battles
  • 4,665
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    04-18-2013

View Poststyleruk, on 05 January 2016 - 10:02 PM, said:

Really? Adding another 2gb gtx 670 will make no difference?
I didn't know it didn't utilise both 2gbs. That would be a wasted £100

 

Sure you would get a decent raw GPU power increase, but no additional VRAM at the moment unfortunately. There's been talk that DX12 would bring some sort of VRAM stacking in SLI but that would require the games to be coded to support DX12 so it's a no go for any and all games out at the moment and a lot of games in the future.

Edited by K_A, 05 January 2016 - 11:37 PM.


TheRealTwist #6 Posted 06 January 2016 - 01:32 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 37875 battles
  • 2,206
  • [CAHU] CAHU
  • Member since:
    05-17-2014

Dont SLI

Just get ONE new card. GTX 970 class and it will run fine.



styleruk #7 Posted 06 January 2016 - 03:24 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6235 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    12-07-2012

Indeed, the 970 looks good.  Think I'll sell my 670 and stump up the extra.

Still, I'm very impressed with what it's doing now, especially the ancient CPUs.  Xeons rock



Xino9922 #8 Posted 08 January 2016 - 11:35 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 16048 battles
  • 4,736
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    02-13-2011

Xeon cpu on your gaming rig?!

 

Xeon is far from ideal for gaming... works better for things like servers and video rendering machines....

But tonks on xeon, nope.avi... Other games that can use multiple cores, better choice. Get Just Cause 3 or Fallout 4 :P


Edited by Xino9922, 08 January 2016 - 11:36 AM.


TheRealTwist #9 Posted 09 January 2016 - 12:03 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 37875 battles
  • 2,206
  • [CAHU] CAHU
  • Member since:
    05-17-2014

View PostXino9922, on 08 January 2016 - 11:35 AM, said:

Xeon cpu on your gaming rig?!

 

Xeon is far from ideal for gaming... works better for things like servers and video rendering machines....

But tonks on xeon, nope.avi... Other games that can use multiple cores, better choice. Get Just Cause 3 or Fallout 4 :P

 

Xeon are nothing other than selected i7 Cores without option to overclock....and the option to install two or more on one motherboard, very old ones got more Cache than the desktop version. Nothing more nothing less. I see no problem using them for gaming....I got an Xeon E3-1230 v3 in my Desktop. Yes they are overkill as Dual CPU setup for Gaming but performance wise there is no problem.

 



Pansenmann #10 Posted 09 January 2016 - 10:19 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 34542 battles
  • 12,800
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012

I see no problem in using a Xeon here too,

single thread performance is ok.



Xino9922 #11 Posted 11 January 2016 - 11:36 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 16048 battles
  • 4,736
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    02-13-2011

View PostTheRealTwist, on 09 January 2016 - 12:03 AM, said:

 

Xeon are nothing other than selected i7 Cores without option to overclock....and the option to install two or more on one motherboard, very old ones got more Cache than the desktop version. Nothing more nothing less. I see no problem using them for gaming....I got an Xeon E3-1230 v3 in my Desktop. Yes they are overkill as Dual CPU setup for Gaming but performance wise there is no problem.

 

 

Exactly my point, complete overkill and too bloody expensive imo. Would rather stick to something that's a bit cheaper and not so much overkill (xeon are quite expensive if I remember correctly last time I ordered one for a new server) :P

BigFellas_Dad #12 Posted 12 January 2016 - 01:59 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 41732 battles
  • 1,610
  • Member since:
    06-19-2013
I run an E3 v3 xeon at home, no problem at all. 

TheDrownedApe #13 Posted 12 January 2016 - 02:38 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 44661 battles
  • 5,645
  • [IDEAL] IDEAL
  • Member since:
    03-27-2013

View PostXino9922, on 11 January 2016 - 10:36 AM, said:

 

Exactly my point, complete overkill and too bloody expensive imo. Would rather stick to something that's a bit cheaper and not so much overkill (xeon are quite expensive if I remember correctly last time I ordered one for a new server) :P

 

Generally the Xeon is the same chip as an equivelant i7/i5 but without an onboard GPU (not needed in servers obviously) - if you're running a dedicated GPU then it doesn't matter - get which ever you can find cheaper - currently xeon:

 

http://www.newegg.co...7-318-_-Product

 

This 4790 is non K therefore can't overclock anyway:

 

http://www.newegg.co...6-987-_-Product

 

 

 

 



ExclamationMark #14 Posted 12 January 2016 - 05:43 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 16775 battles
  • 3,727
  • Member since:
    04-12-2013
Just came here to say: 2 Xeon CPUs and a 670? :teethhappy:

BigFellas_Dad #15 Posted 13 January 2016 - 12:49 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 41732 battles
  • 1,610
  • Member since:
    06-19-2013

View PostExclamationMark, on 12 January 2016 - 04:43 PM, said:

Just came here to say: 2 Xeon CPUs and a 670? :teethhappy:

 

Depends what else the guy is doing though.  I was originally going to run vmware esxi on my xeon machine, creating several unix virtual machines and also a windows vhost to  run tonks from and passing through a cheap video card to the windows virtual machine.... the gaming rig being an after thought.   sort of a home compute cloud.

dual xeon would be perfect for such a setup.


Edited by BigFellas_Dad, 13 January 2016 - 12:50 PM.


jurkooo123 #16 Posted 14 January 2016 - 12:58 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 3309 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    02-24-2014

Hello, 
I have a question, but I'am also new here and don't know where to ask... 
I'm buying new laptop.. I'm very intrested in Dell inspiron 7000 13'' - 


http://www.dell.com/...-13-7359-laptop

But sometimes I also like to play WOT... would it work on that laptop.. It have intel HD graphics 520 and it's not good.. or ? 
My settings would be on Low and it must have around 50FPS ? isn't that so ? 

Thanks



Plasma_Fire #17 Posted 18 January 2016 - 06:39 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 19581 battles
  • 722
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011

I run WoT on a dual Xeon rig too (pair of X7550's now). I havent owned a standard desktop CPU system since my P4 3.06HT.

Not exactly cutting edge CPUs any more but more than enough power to do all the jobs I need it to and in decent time. multi tasking is no problem at all.

 

WoT doesnt seem to know what SLI or XFire is so just get a single graphics card that can run WoT, the 4k display problems should sort themselves out when you get it too.

 

Its been said already but a Xeon system isnt great for games, but with our systems you can render a video and play WoT and have a HyperVisor running and and and.

Thats where Xeon is king, doing a lot of things all at the same time.



J00F #18 Posted 18 January 2016 - 11:20 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 13024 battles
  • 1,382
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    09-26-2012

nvm.

 

Wrong thread 

 


Edited by J00F, 18 January 2016 - 11:21 PM.


tigerstreak #19 Posted 21 January 2016 - 08:51 AM

    Colonel

  • Beta Tester
  • 23531 battles
  • 3,546
  • [BL33T] BL33T
  • Member since:
    12-23-2010

View Poststyleruk, on 06 January 2016 - 08:24 AM, said:

Hi all, 

 

You will all boo and throw things at me for admitting to what I have running WoT!  But I don't care.

 

I have 

2x xeon 5450, running at either 3GHz or overclocked to 3.3 depending on my mood.  Each has 4 cores.

32 Gb ram

Win 7

GTX 670

 

 

I recently bought a 4k screen (40").  AWESOME!  BOODY AWESOME.

I knew I'd have to upgrade my machine when I bought it but gave it a go and BOOM!  it runs max resolution at 40fps with all turned up.  I know world of tanks is a bit crap with graphics etc so I've ordered a few more games to try.

 

I've seen some threads explaining how to use just 2 cores of a multi core CPU, mainly core 2 & 3 of 4.  But what about dual quad core xeons, would I use 2 & 3 + 6 &7?  Then tell everything else to use the others?

Any thoughts or experience on this before I spend a day trialling this?

 

Thanks for the help and to anyone with useful 'old gear' advice.

PS

I am curently looking for another GTX 670 to SLI with my current card, I'm sure this will help.

I was looking at possible new comp

Plenty of sites saying most games only use 2-4 threads +6 cores are of less use than a higher cpu core speed, with less cores.

i7 4790 4ghz core is best for single thread performance

 

My quad core 9659 2.66ghz, still gives me 60-85fps, with hd6950 +looks awesome. So im saving my money, till wot needs better specs.

 

Especially seeing how, brand new designs of intel +nvidia devices are due to be released in sept +announced before then






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users