Jump to content


PC Upgrades


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
13 replies to this topic

The_Tank_Commander #1 Posted 11 September 2011 - 11:37 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 2321 battles
  • 28
  • [1UPK] 1UPK
  • Member since:
    04-11-2011
I currently have a Scalero P. Its standard except for 2gb of ram instead of 0.5gb. It has windows 7 ultimate and built in ATI graphics card and a INtel Pentium D CPU.

What I want to now is can I upgrade the parts in it for these ones.

AMD CPU

Asus Motherboard

Power Supply

Graphics Card

RAM

The ram I am going to stick 4 in to take me up to 8GB of RAM.

Will all these parts go into my scalero P and is there anything else I need to buy so these parts work together.

PS How many FPS should I get on low settings?

Sandcross #2 Posted 11 September 2011 - 11:53 AM

    Corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 4762 battles
  • 118
  • Member since:
    09-22-2010
I think its a good PC.
But your Power Supply is not very good!!

Barnahadnagy #3 Posted 11 September 2011 - 11:58 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 19154 battles
  • 210
  • [READ] READ
  • Member since:
    03-13-2011
i would suggest an 500W PS. Seasonic is the best but Corsair is good too.
Never save money on the power supply. It simply does not worth it.
(One suggestion: http://www.coolermas...product_id=3035)

The_Tank_Commander #4 Posted 11 September 2011 - 12:02 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 2321 battles
  • 28
  • [1UPK] 1UPK
  • Member since:
    04-11-2011
Ok thanks so a 500v PSU instead of 400 so Will I need any extra cables? And how many FPS should i get as an average on lowest settings.

Barnahadnagy #5 Posted 11 September 2011 - 12:05 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 19154 battles
  • 210
  • [READ] READ
  • Member since:
    03-13-2011
Read my edited post.
And if you have some extra money, i would suggest a modular one, so you can get rid of cables you dont use.

The_Tank_Commander #6 Posted 11 September 2011 - 12:18 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 2321 battles
  • 28
  • [1UPK] 1UPK
  • Member since:
    04-11-2011
OK how many FPS should I get?

Barnahadnagy #7 Posted 11 September 2011 - 12:25 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 19154 battles
  • 210
  • [READ] READ
  • Member since:
    03-13-2011
with what resolution, options ETC.? On medium options, with high resolution i would say stabile 30.
(I think you should consult with some expert before upgradeing, with compatibility ETC. )

helli #8 Posted 11 September 2011 - 01:24 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 2333 battles
  • 277
  • Member since:
    02-06-2011
I second the part about the PSU. Never try to save money on the power supply, I've seen enough systems where the PSU died and even took something else with it, the few bucks more are worth it!

Compatibillity wise I can see no big issues except connectors for IDE devices. On the site you linked for the motherboard they list not even one IDE port!
Did a quick search on two other sites and they didn't list it either.
They might just have omitted it but if it actually doesn't have any and you have IDE devices (hard disks, cd/dvd drives) you wanted to keep you need adapters to sata (not really recommended IMHO) or new SATA ones.

I've seen a few Scaleo P's but can't recall the interior of them right now so maybe you should check if they actually can hold ATX boards, because some OEM systems are so cramped inside that they only fit Micro-ATX despite their chassis size.


Good luck :).

Macvombat #9 Posted 11 September 2011 - 02:01 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 8712 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011
to me it looks like you're pretty much upgrading the entire system, why not buy a new pc instead? you can get a reasonable pc for about 500-750 euro. speaking from personal experience, upgrading can be alright but at some point you just gotta start over :)

The_Tank_Commander #10 Posted 11 September 2011 - 02:58 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 2321 battles
  • 28
  • [1UPK] 1UPK
  • Member since:
    04-11-2011
Becasue I like case design and I find its cheaper for what I use it for than starting over.

Willemp159 #11 Posted 11 September 2011 - 03:19 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 6852 battles
  • 192
  • Member since:
    01-31-2011
why dont you buy RAM cards of 4GB?

P0NY #12 Posted 11 September 2011 - 03:41 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 2374 battles
  • 23
  • Member since:
    02-12-2011
It will be a waste to buy 8gb of ram unless you want to use it for video editing. Getting more then 4gb will not improve your framerate in games.

EndlessWaves #13 Posted 11 September 2011 - 04:47 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 9571 battles
  • 447
  • Member since:
    03-10-2010
I'm a year or so out of date so I can't comment on the value for money of the components you've picked but generally:

1. You usually want to spend £30+ on a power supply. You don't need a high rated one but for some reason there aren't much in the way of standards in the power supply world, so a £10 one like you linked almost certainly won't deliver it's rated figure and may not last long or fail very gracefully (i.e. it might take something with it). You don't need a top spec PSU like seasonic (most of the highly rated corsair ones are seasonic-made) unless you're overclocking and with that graphics card and CPU 400W should be plenty.

2. Looking at the Fujitsu website it appears your current PC is likely to be a 1st generation scalero P, which is listed as being an µATX (Micro ATX/mATX) case. If this is the case then an ATX motherboard won't fit and you'll have to get an MATX one. The only difference is that µATX has three-four expansion slots (for things like sound and wifi cards) while ATX has seven so you can double check by counting the slots on the back of the case.

3. If you do change your mind about components then the length of the graphics card can be an issue on smaller cases like this, but the picture of the one you linked to shows a very small graphics card so that won't be a problem.

4. Unless 4 2GB sticks are a significantly cheaper I'd go for 2 4GB sticks of memory. The performance is the same and it'll leave you future upgrade room.

5. Hard drives speed does have a big impact on general responsiveness of the system. If yours is particularly old then it may be worth getting a new one, although it won't affect gaming other than load times.

6. You will need to reinstall windows on the new system, booting up the current install may work but it's very likely to be unstable.

XxXSpottedYouXxX #14 Posted 12 September 2011 - 12:46 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 23824 battles
  • 8,336
  • [4077] 4077
  • Member since:
    05-05-2011
What about my sig can you afford any of that if you can then go straight for the motherboard + CPU then choose what graphics and memory you want  :Smile_great:.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users