Jump to content


How to fix application error 0xc0000005


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

niko9911 #1 Posted 24 April 2016 - 03:15 PM

    Corporal

  • Clan Commander
  • 20528 battles
  • 170
  • [SW100] SW100
  • Member since:
    05-07-2011

How to fix application error 0xc0000005

 

Application Error 0xc0000005 (Access Violation) error is caused by your computer not being able to correctly process the files & settings that it requires to run a particular program or installation. Despite the error showing when you try and use particular pieces of software, or when you try and upgrade Windows, it has many different causes including the likes of faulty RAM problems, errors with the files of your PC and issues with the settings of your PC.

application error 0xc0000005

You get the application error 0xc0000005 message when you try to start one of your programs in windows or install software. The program terminates with the 0xc0000005 message and you can’t get it work. We will try to fix you problem through different fixes:

 

 

Method 1: Windows Restore

 

Before doing anything, the best solution you can try to fix this error is by using windows restore, yes you can switch to earlier date when your PC was working fine and you didn’t encounter the application error 0xc0000005.

  1. Right Click on “This PC” or “My Computer” and select properties.
  2. When inside properties windows, select “Advanced system settings” in the middle-left corner.
    advanced settings in properties
  3. In the advanced settings window select the tab “System Protection” and then click on “System Restore“.
    System Restore under system protection
  4. Hit next and check the box “Show more restore points“.
    show more system restore points
  5. From there select one restore point (probably select the restore point which is 20-30 days before the current date)
  6. That’s it, it will take some time but you will be restored to earlier point.

Now go and check if the above solution fixed the application error 0xc0000005 error, if not continue to next method.

 

 

Method 2: Fixing Registries

 

The registry is a database in Windows that contains important information about system hardware, installed programs and settings, and profiles of each of the user accounts on your computer. Windows continually refers to the information in the registry.

Registries can get corrupted due to damage to some certain files required to stack everything in place. These can also be influenced by viruses and malware’s. So, follow these steps to fix registries in order to resolve the application error 0xc0000005.

  1. Download and install registry cleaner from here.
  2. Open the software after the installation process is finished.
  3. On the interface, click on the Registry tab present on the left pane and click the button labeled as Scan for Issues.
    CCleaner fix for 0xc0000005
  4. It will start searching for errors in registry and when the search will be finished, a button Fix Selected Issue will be activated. Click on that button and everything will be fixed.
  5. Restart your PC and check again for application error 0xc0000005.

For most of the user this fix might have worked but if you are still stuck on the same error, continue.

 

 

Method 3: System File Checker

 

The sfc /scannow command (System File Checker) scans the integrity of all protected Windows system files and replaces incorrect corrupted, changed/modified, or damaged versions with the correct versions if possible.

1. Right Click on the windows button and from there open command prompt with administrative rights.
2. Now in the cmd window type sfc /scannow.
sfc scan now system file checker
3. Wait for the system file checker to finish.

Again try the application which was giving error 0xc0000005 and if it’s still not fixed please continue.

 

 

 

 

 

Method 4: Check your BCD (Boot Configuration Data)

You have hacked or infected files on your computer. The files could be Infected by a virus or malware, but If you have xOsload.exe, xNtKrnl.exe or/and oem-drv64.sys they are hacked files to overcome activating Windows.

Check your BCD and do the below fix if necessary (at your own risk). In Windows open CMD as Administrator and type BCDEdit and enter, if your Windows Boot Loader Path is xOsload.exe then you need to remove some files and repair your BCD.

BCDEdit cmd

NOTE: You will need to re-activate Windows afterwards, so make sure you have your Windows 7 key handy.
(Please set the drive letters according to your windows installed directory)

Boot to Windows Repair – and open command prompt and type these following commands:

Del D:\Windows\System32\xOsload.exe
Del D:\Windows\System32\xNtKrnl.exe
Del D:\Windows\System32\Drivers\oem-drv64.sys
attrib c:\boot\bcd -h -r -s
ren c:\boot\bcd bcd.old
bootrec /rebuildbcd

 

 

Method 5: Turn off DEP

 

Quite often the application error 0xC0000005 error occurs because of Data Execution Prevention (DEP) introduced by Microsoft in Windows SP2 and used in later versions. DEP is a set of security features that prevents code execution from non-executable memory segments. Go here to learn how to turn off DEP.

 

 

Method 6: Bad RAM Memory

 

Quite often the application error occurs from a faulty RAM memory. This is most likely the reason if you started getting the 0xC0000005 error message after installing a new RAM memory. To check this you can remove the new memory and see if the 0xC0000005 error disappears.

Don’t forget to do the following before you start removing the memory:

1) Turn off your computer and remove all cables (power, network, etc.)
2) Remove the battery (if you have a laptop).
3) Ground yourself out before you touch the memory.

 

 

Method 7: Try Rkill

 

Rkill is a program that was developed at BleepingComputer.com that attempts to terminate known malware processes so that your normal security software can then run and clean your computer of infections. When Rkill runs it will kill malware processes and then removes incorrect executable associations and fixes policies that stop us from using certain tools, when finished it will display a log file which shows the processes that were terminated while the program was running.

Download Rkill from here, install and run it.

 

 

Method 8: Disable antivirus

 

Antivirus programs can affect the executable files of a number of programs. So, in order to fix this problem, you are required to disable the third-party antivirus program to check whether it was the problem or not. Please note that disabling antivirus program can result in some serious threats to your computer when connected to internet.

After all these steps your application error 0xc0000005 problem might have been solved and if you still have any queries regarding this feel free to comment.

 

Credits: 



EltvilleTiger #2 Posted 24 April 2016 - 06:55 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 21271 battles
  • 1,570
  • [BBMM] BBMM
  • Member since:
    08-24-2011

0x0000005 is usually an access denied issue.  Try running the program as admin OR run ICACLS in an elevated prompt to grant the Users group the right to MODIFY everything in the WoT directory including subfolders.  If you've installed mods, sometimes you need to reset permissions.

 

P.S... never ever disable security like an AV program.  it is there for security... loads of people do this and then forget to re-enable it.  Next thing you know they all get owned by the latest exploit.



niko9911 #3 Posted 24 April 2016 - 07:15 PM

    Corporal

  • Clan Commander
  • 20528 battles
  • 170
  • [SW100] SW100
  • Member since:
    05-07-2011

Well, sometimes is better to mark your world of tanks folder as save from anti-virus program. I had to do that sometime ago. After that wot worked like it should.

 

And you're right with that admin permissions, but World of Tanks is made for not administrator rights needed.


Edited by niko9911, 13 November 2016 - 05:44 PM.


zubizarus #4 Posted 13 November 2016 - 04:04 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 26186 battles
  • 56
  • Member since:
    10-08-2013
Edited By Moderator

Edited by LordAxalon, 14 November 2016 - 06:42 PM.
This post has been edited by a member of the Moderation Team, due to inappropriate content.


hawad2 #5 Posted 30 December 2016 - 03:02 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 193 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    12-26-2016

i am getting this error 

 

 

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:    APPCRASH
  Application Name:    worldoftanks.exe
  Application Version:    0.9.17.50
  Application Timestamp:    585a5c2b
  Fault Module Name:    worldoftanks.exe
  Fault Module Version:    0.9.17.50
  Fault Module Timestamp:    585a5c2b
  Exception Code:    c0000005
  Exception Offset:    0034e531
  OS Version:    6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID:    1033
  Additional Information 1:    0a9e
  Additional Information 2:    0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
  Additional Information 3:    0a9e
  Additional Information 4:    0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
  http://go.microsoft....88&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
  C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

 

 

 

any help



magicsw56 #6 Posted 25 January 2017 - 04:05 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    01-25-2017
srry

Edited by magicsw56, 25 January 2017 - 04:50 AM.


Kyono #7 Posted 20 April 2017 - 12:30 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 9340 battles
  • 709
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011
I am having no end to the issues of trying to overcome this 0xc0000005 issue....

Kyono #8 Posted 20 April 2017 - 03:16 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 9340 battles
  • 709
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

Ok, so after trying nearly everything on this list, I resorted to the final stage.

 

Disabling my anti virus.

 

"Yeah, this is going to make zero difference" I thought to myself as I disabled Avast for ten minutes, and then double clicked on the WoT launcher, which immediately launched without the 0xc0000005 error!

 

So yeah, Avast anti virus has been stopping me from playing....



niko9911 #9 Posted 21 April 2017 - 12:59 PM

    Corporal

  • Clan Commander
  • 20528 battles
  • 170
  • [SW100] SW100
  • Member since:
    05-07-2011

View PostKyono, on 20 April 2017 - 04:16 PM, said:

Ok, so after trying nearly everything on this list, I resorted to the final stage.

 

Disabling my anti virus.

 

"Yeah, this is going to make zero difference" I thought to myself as I disabled Avast for ten minutes, and then double clicked on the WoT launcher, which immediately launched without the 0xc0000005 error!

 

So yeah, Avast anti virus has been stopping me from playing....

 

Please make sure you mark World Of Tanks -Folder as safe. Disabling anti-virus is not recommended, but it's good way to troubleshoot issues. Glad you found solution!

Kyono #10 Posted 26 April 2017 - 11:41 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 9340 battles
  • 709
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011
So apparently you can skip the issue by making a shortcut to the .exe file on your desktop, entirely skipping the launcher in the process.

niko9911 #11 Posted 26 April 2017 - 04:35 PM

    Corporal

  • Clan Commander
  • 20528 battles
  • 170
  • [SW100] SW100
  • Member since:
    05-07-2011

View PostKyono, on 26 April 2017 - 12:41 PM, said:

So apparently you can skip the issue by making a shortcut to the .exe file on your desktop, entirely skipping the launcher in the process.

 

Can you try mark your launcher as save on AV settings and report back here?

Also you were using Avast?



Kyono #12 Posted 27 April 2017 - 09:48 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 9340 battles
  • 709
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

I am using Avast yes.

 

I found a way to fix it thanks to Blizzard https://eu.battle.ne...nd-applications

 

The first programme I disabled was Adobe Flash Updater. Now I no longer get 0xc0000005 errors when launching WoT from the launcher.



Romer #13 Posted 21 May 2017 - 01:17 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 7740 battles
  • 78
  • Member since:
    12-13-2010

Hi,

 

Getting this error. Haven't played in a year or two and reinstalled the game. Didn't have a problem, came back the next day and installed a mod and got this error. Assumes I'd messed up so uninstalled, cleaned up and reinstalled.


Still got the same problem after several reinstalls. Tried a lot of the above to no avail. Any insite from the error log?

 

Faulting application name: worldoftanks.exe, version: 0.9.18.70, time stamp: 0x58e79258
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000a2700
Faulting process ID: 0x2a0
Faulting application start time: 0x01d2d22b0dce371a
Faulting application path: C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\worldoftanks.exe
Faulting module path: unknown
Report ID: f3b7f35c-5f6e-4306-9d5c-c143dcdcdd5f
Faulting package full name: 
Faulting package-relative application ID: 



EltvilleTiger #14 Posted 21 May 2017 - 04:04 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 21271 battles
  • 1,570
  • [BBMM] BBMM
  • Member since:
    08-24-2011

I'd uninstall and then completely delete the C:\Games\World_of_Tanks folder.  Then clear the WG cache:  >>>>ARTICLE<<<<< 

 

Whatever mod you used, don't use it again.  



Sinovi_Smrti #15 Posted 26 October 2017 - 02:58 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 27700 battles
  • 380
  • Member since:
    09-18-2011

From what im seeing in my case its teh directx file that is the cause of my error..but i have the latest dx build and all the drivers updated and everything..

worldoftanks.exe

      0.9.20.109
      59e776b7
      d3d11.dll
      10.0.15063.0
      994d6e1a
      c0000005
      00043778
      870
      01d34e4b302ed69d
      C:\Program Files (x86)\WOT\worldoftanks.exe
      C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3d11.dll
     

4ce52c7f-2d58-4fca-a1d7-c64a6c5fa2ed

 

 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users