Why you love the ELC: your ELC stories.

ELC tier V light tanks #HandsOffELC

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

Clearways #1 Posted 20 February 2017 - 08:41 PM

Sergeant

• Player
  • 40053 battles

In the light of the proposed changes to the Tier V Light Tanks, please write your ELC love stories below, in any form you wish. Let's show WG why the ELC is such a well-loved and entertaining tank. By all means include links to your replays etc.

I started playing the game in 2012, and in  those early days, there were a number of tanks that made an impression: the (seemingly) omnipotent KV-1 and KV-1S (now lobotomised), the T-50/2 (RIP), the Hellcat (now with a full Health and Safety Certificate) and, of course, the ELC AMX .

They would pop up from nowhere, scream around the battlefield, blow a mighty big hole in one of your tanks and disappear, frequently in a terminal puff of smoke. They were fast, frantic fun and frequently ridiculously cheeky. The T-50/2 was certainly as fast, but it had a more clinical, menacing air to it, and woe betide the heavy tank that got separated from the herd and singled out by those guys.

So I started to climb to the heady heights of tier V in the French line: imagine my disappointment at having to grind through the likes of the AMX 38 and the infamous Duck tank, the AMX 40, to reach the honey that is the ELC. It was like being told that Yes! You could go out with Cinderella, but only after you had dated the ugly sisters! Still, the road to true glory is paved with such great sacrifice! I remember getting so frustrated by the incredibly slow speed of the Duck Tank, that I resolved that in every battle I would simply point my tank in the direction of the cap circle and drive amble towards it by the shortest possible route!