Jump to content


Ping issues.


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

basin79 #1 Posted 14 March 2017 - 10:00 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,682
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

Well I've been having major ping issues. I have read that ping plotter is the thing I needed so I downloaded it and ran it. However I don't understand how to interpret the results.


Edited by basin79, 14 March 2017 - 10:26 AM.


rambi #2 Posted 14 March 2017 - 10:17 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 46084 battles
  • 246
  • [WHO] WHO
  • Member since:
    09-25-2011
be sure you hide the ip adresses ;)

basin79 #3 Posted 14 March 2017 - 10:27 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,682
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

View Postrambi, on 14 March 2017 - 09:17 AM, said:

be sure you hide the ip adresses ;)

Done. Thank you.



Xino9922 #4 Posted 14 March 2017 - 11:13 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 16016 battles
  • 4,736
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    02-13-2011

Try resetting your router mate :P

 

100 % package loss at step one? What? 

Then at step 4 again. 

 

Something weird going on. Latency is also very high @ 93.224.124.76

 

 


Edited by Xino9922, 14 March 2017 - 11:15 AM.


basin79 #5 Posted 14 March 2017 - 11:15 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,682
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

View PostXino9922, on 14 March 2017 - 10:13 AM, said:

Try resetting your router mate :P

 

100 % package loss at step one? What? 

 

 

I will do. It's doing my head in.



basin79 #6 Posted 14 March 2017 - 11:18 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,682
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

View PostXino9922, on 14 March 2017 - 10:13 AM, said:

Try resetting your router mate :P

 

100 % package loss at step one? What? 

Then at step 4 again. 

 

Something weird going on. Latency is also very high @ 93.224.124.76

 

 

Is this all down to using WiFi? I don't suffer any buffering etc when streaming films, watching Twitch or YouTube.



Xino9922 #7 Posted 14 March 2017 - 02:14 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 16016 battles
  • 4,736
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    02-13-2011

View Postbasin79, on 14 March 2017 - 11:18 AM, said:

Is this all down to using WiFi? I don't suffer any buffering etc when streaming films, watching Twitch or YouTube.

 

Try running a tracert to 8.8.8.8 in cmd

basin79 #8 Posted 14 March 2017 - 02:23 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,682
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

View PostXino9922, on 14 March 2017 - 01:14 PM, said:

 

Try running a tracert to 8.8.8.8 in cmd

How do I do that? And thank you.



Homer_J #9 Posted 14 March 2017 - 02:35 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28291 battles
  • 29,509
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postrambi, on 14 March 2017 - 09:17 AM, said:

be sure you hide the ip adresses ;)

 

Were you being serious?

 

There's no point in hiding those IP addresses. It's not like it's giving us a route back to his house.  The only IP address which would have been useful would be his external IP and that won't be shown.

View Postbasin79, on 14 March 2017 - 09:00 AM, said:

Well I've been having major ping issues. I have read that ping plotter is the thing I needed so I downloaded it and ran it. However I don't understand how to interpret the results.

 

You can't see much from that trace because you are getting 100% packet loss to your own router.  Then pretty much every hop has packet loss.  None of which is apparent on the final hop though.  Reboot your router and try again.  Also you can export the trace as an image so it doesn't look like you live in the 1970's.

 

And don't mask the IP addresses.



basin79 #10 Posted 14 March 2017 - 03:13 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,682
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

View PostHomer_J, on 14 March 2017 - 01:35 PM, said:

 

Were you being serious?

 

There's no point in hiding those IP addresses. It's not like it's giving us a route back to his house.  The only IP address which would have been useful would be his external IP and that won't be shown.

 

You can't see much from that trace because you are getting 100% packet loss to your own router.  Then pretty much every hop has packet loss.  None of which is apparent on the final hop though.  Reboot your router and try again.  Also you can export the trace as an image so it doesn't look like you live in the 1970's.

 

And don't mask the IP addresses.

I've rebooted my router but it's just the same ping. Going to get a new/better router and see what happens. 

 

Thanks.



Homer_J #11 Posted 14 March 2017 - 03:46 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28291 battles
  • 29,509
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postbasin79, on 14 March 2017 - 02:13 PM, said:

I've rebooted my router but it's just the same ping. Going to get a new/better router and see what happens. 

 

Thanks.

 

The ping on that trace is fine.  Average 38ms to EU1 from the UK.  What is it in game and are you playing on EU1?

basin79 #12 Posted 14 March 2017 - 05:00 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,682
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

View PostHomer_J, on 14 March 2017 - 02:46 PM, said:

 

The ping on that trace is fine.  Average 38ms to EU1 from the UK.  What is it in game and are you playing on EU1?

It changed from 33 upto 150 ish. Jerks like crazy.



Homer_J #13 Posted 15 March 2017 - 09:34 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28291 battles
  • 29,509
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postbasin79, on 14 March 2017 - 04:00 PM, said:

It changed from 33 upto 150 ish. Jerks like crazy.

 

Was that pingplotter trace run while you were in game and while you were having ping spikes?

basin79 #14 Posted 15 March 2017 - 11:03 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,682
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

View PostHomer_J, on 15 March 2017 - 08:34 AM, said:

 

Was that pingplotter trace run while you were in game and while you were having ping spikes?

Yes. I think it recommended I play for at least half an hour.



Homer_J #15 Posted 15 March 2017 - 03:53 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28291 battles
  • 29,509
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postbasin79, on 15 March 2017 - 10:03 AM, said:

Yes. I think it recommended I play for at least half an hour.

 

Well, like I said it's not showing anything specific.  There's packet loss all the way down but not on the last hop, there's ping fluctuations at various points but nothing to say that's anything which would cause you a problem in game.

 

Your router looks like it is configured not to respond to ping, which is unusual for a home system, the whole of virginmedia's network seems to be struggling, and so is the rest of the router between you and the server.

 

First thing would be try a cable but if you already have a new router on the way then see how that goes.



basin79 #16 Posted 15 March 2017 - 03:54 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 15351 battles
  • 8,682
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012

View PostHomer_J, on 15 March 2017 - 02:53 PM, said:

 

Well, like I said it's not showing anything specific.  There's packet loss all the way down but not on the last hop, there's ping fluctuations at various points but nothing to say that's anything which would cause you a problem in game.

 

Your router looks like it is configured not to respond to ping, which is unusual for a home system, the whole of virginmedia's network seems to be struggling, and so is the rest of the router between you and the server.

 

First thing would be try a cable but if you already have a new router on the way then see how that goes.

Thanks Homer.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users