Jump to content


Quick tip to increase frame rate on laptop players


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

keithp #1 Posted 28 October 2011 - 01:48 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 262
  • Member since:
    05-26-2011
I found that on my quad processor desktop clocked at 3.4ghz with an nvidia 8800gtx I was getting frame rates between 40 to 80 fps  . However on my laptop, with a higher spec'ed graphics card (nvidia GT240M, feel free to say if this is not better than the 8800gtx) with a Core 2 Duo T6600 the frame rate would drop to 8 to 15/20 fps making the game unplayable in the natural resolution that the game selected according to my system settings (1600 x 900).

So after changing many of the game in play settings and getting no where with any increase I decided to play the game window'ed, ie reduced the screen size until it snapped to another resolution exposing the desktop behind it. A quick check on the in game settings graphic menu shows it at 1016x763. Although this is a lot smaller than the main screen resolution the high detail is still maintained and at this game window size with the lower processor power I now get 30 to 40 fps jumping up occasionally to 60fps. The game remains very playable like this allowing for any extra lag via the wireless connection instead of the wired connection on the desktop.

Just a quickie for anyone with only the laptop option to play with and maybe not a high spec'ed gaming laptop.
Regards

Keithp

lfcfan #2 Posted 28 October 2011 - 02:25 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 1,047
  • Member since:
    03-13-2011
You don't have to go windowed for that, you can just simply lower your in-game resolution.

Celestia #3 Posted 28 October 2011 - 02:29 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 2,159
  • Member since:
    01-06-2011
8800GTX is a high end (but old) card for desktops
GT240M is a low end (but newer) card for laptops

I would do this, but my screen is an 11" 1366x768 (resolution normally used by 15" laptops)
Edit: I did do this, no noticeable difference to frame rate

View Postlfcfan, on 28 October 2011 - 02:25 AM, said:

You don't have to go windowed for that, you can just simply lower your in-game resolution.


kentoong #4 Posted 28 October 2011 - 04:30 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 433
  • Member since:
    11-17-2010
For me....  Frame rate is not that important compare to Ping rate....    :angry:

Its a shame that THIS is the best that my ISP has to offer..   :huh:  
http://www.speedtest.../1559557872.png
Posted Image

MaGinty #5 Posted 28 October 2011 - 07:38 AM

    Junior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 213
  • Member since:
    06-27-2011

View Postkeithp, on 28 October 2011 - 01:48 AM, said:

(nvidia GT240M, feel free to say if this is not better than the 8800gtx)

The GT240 Desktop card is more than 35% slower than the 8800GTX. Yours is a laptop card so its slower still. Even the GT440 which is 2 generations newer than yours is slower than the 8800GTX.

On a more related note. I sometimes run WoT on my laptop when in not at home. Its a Core 2 Duo 2GHz with a truly terrible Quadro NVS 135M GPU. I managed to boost my frame rate from 6 FPS to 25 FPS by simply turning off all the special effects and running 3% textures.

I would love to see before and after screen shots of windowed vs full screen performance difference as I find it extremely difficult to believe shaving 70 or so pixels off your vertical resolution can give you a 10-20 FPS boost without changing other graphics options.

XxXSpottedYouXxX #6 Posted 28 October 2011 - 09:35 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 9,206
  • Member since:
    05-05-2011
I would never play windowed.


In my laptop i have 2x 5870's and the game is still unplayable but i put up with it ! because nothing is ever done !

DerZivilist #7 Posted 28 October 2011 - 09:38 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 1,155
  • Member since:
    09-12-2011
@ DerRizerPin:

Your game would probably run more smoothly if you disabled one of your two graphics cards. ATi Crossfire introduces microstuttering which is invisible at high framerates, but in a game like WoT which never runs at high framerates regardless of system specs, it will be very noticeable.

HighPies #8 Posted 28 October 2011 - 09:44 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 74
  • Member since:
    04-11-2011
Microstuttering only occurs in certain games and isn't such a big deal anyway. Besides that, I don't think WoT supports duel GPUs.

Czert1938 #9 Posted 28 October 2011 - 03:09 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 2,036
  • Member since:
    05-18-2011
WoT is much more cpu intensive than GPU intensive. And 240M is less poweerful than old 8800, but 260+ will be allways better (not sure about thier M variants, how much they are downgraded).
Having latest 4 cores intel procesors is very good thing.

deamy #10 Posted 28 October 2011 - 09:14 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 0 battles
  • 2,188
  • Member since:
    12-22-2010

View Postkentoong, on 28 October 2011 - 04:30 AM, said:

For me....  Frame rate is not that important compare to Ping rate....    :angry:

Its a shame that THIS is the best that my ISP has to offer..   :huh:  
http://www.speedtest.../1559557872.png
Posted Image

Way faster than I got from Indonesia  :P

keithp #11 Posted 29 October 2011 - 12:01 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 262
  • Member since:
    05-26-2011

View PostCelestia, on 28 October 2011 - 02:29 AM, said:

8800GTX is a high end (but old) card for desktops
GT240M is a low end (but newer) card for laptops

I would do this, but my screen is an 11" 1366x768 (resolution normally used by 15" laptops)
Edit: I did do this, no noticeable difference to frame rate


I think that explains it. Built the machine 3 or 4  years ago but was expecting the laptop to have at least equalled it.
okay my fault