Jump to content


Is it possible to be top tier while playing in platoon?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

Poll: Is it possible to be top tier while playing in platoon? (26 members have cast votes)

You have to complete 250 battles in order to participate this poll.

Is it possible to be top tier while playing in platoon?

  1. Yes (9 votes [34.62%])

    Percentage of vote: 34.62%

  2. No (17 votes [65.38%])

    Percentage of vote: 65.38%

Vote Hide poll

Erebus_2016 #1 Posted 09 June 2017 - 08:37 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 15095 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    03-15-2016

Helloo to alll

 

i have one question

 

all day i am playing with friend in platoon.. We are playing all time T8 and poent is all day we are mostly in T10 battle...

only 4 or 5 times we was in T9 battle...we are playing MT,HT and TD so its wierd

 

so is realy fcked to play like that and i know they changed MM

 

so did they put that isnt possible to be top tier in platoon or we are having bad luck all fking day?

 

can someone explain me that? i can send all replays to WG if need bcs this isnt normal anymore -.-



Suurpolskija #2 Posted 09 June 2017 - 08:41 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 18692 battles
  • 1,642
  • [URHO] URHO
  • Member since:
    01-26-2016
Yes. I've been top tier many times while platooning. If you want to increase your chances, play tiers 1-3 or 9-10, but it happens on other tiers too.

250swb #3 Posted 09 June 2017 - 10:36 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 22631 battles
  • 5,059
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-23-2015
No, not in the new MM. Good thing as well, it stops platoons unbalancing the MM structure. 

Nishi_Kinuyo #4 Posted 09 June 2017 - 10:40 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 7725 battles
  • 4,122
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    05-28-2011

Mostly depends on which tier you're playing at.

At tier 8 you can more or less forget about it due to its popularity.



Balc0ra #5 Posted 10 June 2017 - 12:54 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 66275 battles
  • 16,274
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

As I've trained a new crew mostly at tier 5/6 today. I lost count on how many Rudy/T-34-85 or Cromwell/Cromwell B 3 man platoons I did see at the top, in both 3-5-7 and 5-10 games today.  And we had a 3 man E25 platoon a few days ago. Played about 10 games, got top tier in most of them as 5-10. 3 as pure tier 7 games,  and a few as mid tier in 3-5-7.

 

But that was mid tier games. Tier 8 is a different ball park due to the popularity vs other tiers, and thus more population. And the later it is, the more +2 games you will see as tier 8 at times. But changing to EU2 that has a lower population usually works on tier 8... at least the past few days.



gpalsson #6 Posted 10 June 2017 - 01:33 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 22134 battles
  • 8,117
  • Member since:
    04-13-2013
Only when playing tier 10

Achibot #7 Posted 10 June 2017 - 01:56 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 17959 battles
  • 2,225
  • [HUSH-] HUSH-
  • Member since:
    05-16-2012
It happens for sure but it's not common, although it's not rare either. People here tend to so dramatical about these things.

Cobra6 #8 Posted 10 June 2017 - 10:08 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 16332 battles
  • 15,770
  • [RGT] RGT
  • Member since:
    09-17-2010

Only a tiny minority will be top tier battles, WG is actively punishing platooning with this new MM.

They think that platoons have too high an impact in randoms so they make sure they are always fighting an up-hill battle by chucking them in the bottom as much as possible.

 

Another reason why I don't like playing randoms much anymore.

 

Cobra 6



_Shak #9 Posted 10 June 2017 - 10:09 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 4440 battles
  • 45
  • [_TOP] _TOP
  • Member since:
    02-17-2012

View PostErebus_2016, on 09 June 2017 - 08:37 PM, said:

Helloo to alll

 

i have one question

 

all day i am playing with friend in platoon.. We are playing all time T8 and poent is all day we are mostly in T10 battle...

only 4 or 5 times we was in T9 battle...we are playing MT,HT and TD so its wierd

 

so is realy fcked to play like that and i know they changed MM

 

so did they put that isnt possible to be top tier in platoon or we are having bad luck all fking day?

 

can someone explain me that? i can send all replays to WG if need bcs this isnt normal anymore -.-

 

It's not just in platoon, tier 8 MM is screwed. You will hardly ever be top tier!

Folau #10 Posted 10 June 2017 - 10:13 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 15254 battles
  • 2,561
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    05-19-2013
It's theoretically possible, but the new matchmaker royally screws platoons.

FluffyRedFox #11 Posted 10 June 2017 - 10:56 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 22967 battles
  • 8,388
  • Member since:
    12-05-2012

I've managed to be top tier in the 3-5-7 format in a 2 man platoon, once.

Spoiler

However, usually with the new matchmaking, playing in a platoon results in appalling matchmaking. Played 32 games in a tier 7 platoon, average battle tier: 8.75 so yeah, the matchmaking definitely needs a bit of tweaking. Moreover, you're playing tier 8 which due to the 9.19 changes now gets even more screwed over by the new MM.



niksa83 #12 Posted 10 June 2017 - 11:04 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 31169 battles
  • 644
  • [FAUF] FAUF
  • Member since:
    04-06-2013
Being top as a 3 man toon can happen....once in a blue moon.

Pansenmann #13 Posted 10 June 2017 - 11:06 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 34106 battles
  • 12,618
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012

View Postniksa83, on 10 June 2017 - 11:04 AM, said:

Being top as a 3 man toon can happen....once in a blue moon.

 

Lies!

tzktk #14 Posted 10 June 2017 - 11:12 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 35876 battles
  • 46
  • [VTRS] VTRS
  • Member since:
    04-14-2013

you can`t be because WG took care about this,play tier 10 and you will be always against tier 10,or you can choice to play tier 10 without platoon and ruin the game to players in tier 8 because with this setup you will catch them battle by battle,this is the smart Ideea from Wargaming staff...why not they shouldn`t ruin this game update by update !! so for they is fair that you play in platoon tier 8 and have only 3-5-7 setup or play in tier 10 platoon and have only 10-10-10 setup,smart move no?so why in tier 8 platoon we don`t have battles like 8-8-8 setup battle by battle like you catch in tier 10 platoons...in my opinion is try to play alone tier 10 and ruin the game to others who play in tier 8 platoons :))) thanks to wargaming this is possible battle by battle !!:)

 


Edited by tzktk, 10 June 2017 - 11:12 AM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users