Jump to content


auto lock failure


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

wowarp #1 Posted 27 June 2017 - 10:16 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7683 battles
  • 11
  • [LUCH] LUCH
  • Member since:
    04-13-2017

Been playing the game and enjoying it again, after 2 years away but getting irritated by persistent ongoing auto lock failure. This is when the auto lock simply wont work. Had the problem intermittently for through 3 different mouses. Anyone else suffering from this and is it a known in-game issue (never had previously i.e.2 years ago). It probably happens once every 20 odd battles and often corrects within a battle, to be ok again, but when fails its often when you need it i.e. in circle of death match with Pz1c etc. any fixes?

 

Plus when I suffer from it, I think hmmmmmmm, lets get rid of auto lock and see how that effects some tanks............ they change view range, change accuracy, change camo etc etc. How about stop autolock. see how those fast firing light tanks, and how they like them onions.......... but I digress....



hjorte #2 Posted 27 June 2017 - 10:23 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 14022 battles
  • 143
  • Member since:
    03-16-2014
You mean Auto-Aim, right? Can you show us a replay where this malfunctioned?

1ncompetenc3 #3 Posted 27 June 2017 - 10:26 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 36897 battles
  • 11,490
  • Member since:
    03-18-2013

I rarely use auto-aim but it works just fine when I do.

 

I'm more interested in your thought process in the second half of your post however. You use auto-aim frequently, in particular when performing CoD around a slower vehicle, and you get irritated when it doesn't work. At the same time when you're playing a slow tank and someone is doing CoD to you, you want to get rid of auto-aim "to see how they like it". You literally just stated you get irritated when it doesn't work. Would you prefer a version of the game that changes mechanics based on which vehicle you play?



Achibot #4 Posted 27 June 2017 - 10:30 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 17959 battles
  • 2,225
  • [HUSH-] HUSH-
  • Member since:
    05-16-2012

View Post1ncompetenc3, on 27 June 2017 - 09:26 PM, said:

I rarely use auto-aim but it works just fine when I do.

 

I'm more interested in your thought process in the second half of your post however. You use auto-aim frequently, in particular when performing CoD around a slower vehicle, and you get irritated when it doesn't work. At the same time when you're playing a slow tank and someone is doing CoD to you, you want to get rid of auto-aim "to see how they like it". You literally just stated you get irritated when it doesn't work. Would you prefer a version of the game that changes mechanics based on which vehicle you play?

 

To be fair I think it's more a case of "if I can't use this mechanic correctly no-one should have it". A distinction without an effective difference? Yeah, reckon so, but for the sake of accuracy and so on.

iztok #5 Posted 27 June 2017 - 10:40 PM

    Captain

  • Beta Tester
  • 35215 battles
  • 2,459
  • Member since:
    10-28-2010

Hi!

> auto lock failure

When in hurry, I simply can't use the auto-aim. My eye-hand coordination is that bad I need to zoom in and right click the opponent if I want him auto-aimed. I miss the "auto-aim helper mod" (or whatever it was called) rather badly... :(

 

BR,  Iztok

 



hjorte #6 Posted 27 June 2017 - 11:20 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 14022 battles
  • 143
  • Member since:
    03-16-2014
I strongly suspect that the "failing" Auto-Aim is caused by user error. Hint: Central Marker vs Gun Marker.

Emeraldweed #7 Posted 28 June 2017 - 06:57 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 8722 battles
  • 849
  • [-322-] -322-
  • Member since:
    05-14-2012
i have an issue with the autoaim that it engages and dissengages at the same time  quite visible here 7:17 https://www.youtube....h?v=hNY26VzIzfo

Consett_Steel #8 Posted 28 June 2017 - 07:07 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 17312 battles
  • 531
  • Member since:
    08-18-2012
I appear to be having trouble with it since the last software update also.

juicyfruity #9 Posted 28 June 2017 - 07:11 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 10204 battles
  • 93
  • Member since:
    12-06-2015
I'm having problems with this also. It takes three of four clicks to lock on to the target.

250swb #10 Posted 28 June 2017 - 08:15 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 21699 battles
  • 4,859
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-23-2015

Happens to me from time to time, again in similar circumstances of circling an enemy and you have the reticule over them, dab RMB, and nothing happens, .........or does it?

 

More often than not it's the voice notification that doesn't kick in quickly enough, and probably interrupted by 'penetration' or other comments, because when I dab the key again to try engaging the aim lock a second time the voice tells me 'we'll find another target'.



Argedeava #11 Posted 28 June 2017 - 08:19 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 28860 battles
  • 512
  • [WODR] WODR
  • Member since:
    10-02-2013

Yes it fails very often if i use it fast.

It also fais to be heared as it often is masked by other useless voice messages like "track repaired" when in fact is still not ready as it was brought down again.


Edited by Argedeava, 28 June 2017 - 08:32 AM.


hjorte #12 Posted 28 June 2017 - 10:29 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 14022 battles
  • 143
  • Member since:
    03-16-2014

View Post250swb, on 28 June 2017 - 08:15 AM, said:

Happens to me from time to time, again in similar circumstances of circling an enemy and you have the reticule over them, dab RMB, and nothing happens, .........or does it?

 

Reticule? Central Marker or Gun Marker?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users