Jump to content


UI Interface scaling too small @2k Res


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

RainbowDasher #1 Posted 01 August 2017 - 01:32 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13759 battles
  • 38
  • Member since:
    08-14-2012

Ok so my UI is tiny and won't get bigger, changing the values in settings and in preferences.ini doesn't change it....

 

Any tips on a larger UI for a 2k monitor, both garage and ingame

 



Homer_J #2 Posted 01 August 2017 - 01:40 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27475 battles
  • 28,493
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010
2k is only like 1080, how small is your monitor because at 1080 on a 24" screen it all seems fine to me.

RainbowDasher #3 Posted 01 August 2017 - 01:43 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13759 battles
  • 38
  • Member since:
    08-14-2012
my monitor is 27inches.... I think the problem is the scaling feature is bugged

Baldrickk #4 Posted 01 August 2017 - 01:54 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29304 battles
  • 13,335
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostHomer_J, on 01 August 2017 - 01:40 PM, said:

2k is only like 1080, how small is your monitor because at 1080 on a 24" screen it all seems fine to me.

Could be 1536 if not using square pixels. 

 

Still, that would be odd



Geno1isme #5 Posted 01 August 2017 - 02:33 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 41108 battles
  • 6,935
  • [TRYIT] TRYIT
  • Member since:
    09-03-2013
Or he actually means 1440p. Though I don't have problems with the UI on my 27" 1440p monitor.

AliceUnchained #6 Posted 01 August 2017 - 02:34 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 37953 battles
  • 8,690
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

View PostGeno1isme, on 01 August 2017 - 02:33 PM, said:

Or he actually means 1440p. Though I don't have problems with the UI on my 27" 1440p monitor.

 

1440p is not the same as 2K, the latter is defined as 2048 * 1080...

Lord_Edge #7 Posted 01 August 2017 - 03:11 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 5902 battles
  • 801
  • Member since:
    11-26-2016

View PostAliceUnchained, on 01 August 2017 - 02:34 PM, said:

1440p is not the same as 2K, the latter is defined as 2048 * 1080...

While this is true, they stopped making actual 2K screens years ago, so he's either mistakenly using it to refer to his 1920x1080 screen or he has it confused with the 2.5K slang commonly used to refer to 2560x1440 screens.



RainbowDasher #8 Posted 01 August 2017 - 03:15 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13759 battles
  • 38
  • Member since:
    08-14-2012

My monitor is 2560x1440 Acer Pred 144hz 27inch....

 

Messed around with the XML file, to no avail.. :( 

 

 



Geno1isme #9 Posted 01 August 2017 - 03:19 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 41108 battles
  • 6,935
  • [TRYIT] TRYIT
  • Member since:
    09-03-2013

View PostAliceUnchained, on 01 August 2017 - 03:34 PM, said:

1440p is not the same as 2K, the latter is defined as 2048 * 1080...

 

Definitions never stop people from referring to them incorrectly. Especially when they are rarely used like 2k.

Baldrickk #10 Posted 01 August 2017 - 03:20 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29304 battles
  • 13,335
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostRainbowDasher, on 01 August 2017 - 03:15 PM, said:

My monitor is 2560x1440 Acer Pred 144hz 27inch....

 

Messed around with the XML file, to no avail.. :( 

Oh that's a nice screen. 

 

Any chance of a screenshot so we know exactly what you mean?



RainbowDasher #11 Posted 01 August 2017 - 03:21 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13759 battles
  • 38
  • Member since:
    08-14-2012

@Geno1isme

 

You say you don't have a problem with UI, so nothing is too small?

 

What settings do you use?



RainbowDasher #12 Posted 01 August 2017 - 03:28 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13759 battles
  • 38
  • Member since:
    08-14-2012

These are default values before I edit

 

http://imgur.com/a/zl1w0

 

problem is when I edit the values, they change back / do nothing. Even making the file Read Only does crapall.... kinda frustrating. 


Edited by RainbowDasher, 01 August 2017 - 03:30 PM.


gpalsson #13 Posted 01 August 2017 - 04:01 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 22134 battles
  • 8,117
  • Member since:
    04-13-2013
Works fine on my 4k 43 inch screen.

Baldrickk #14 Posted 01 August 2017 - 04:01 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29304 battles
  • 13,335
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostRainbowDasher, on 01 August 2017 - 03:28 PM, said:

These are default values before I edit

 

http://imgur.com/a/zl1w0

 

problem is when I edit the values, they change back / do nothing. Even making the file Read Only does crapall.... kinda frustrating. 

I meant what the UI actually looks like :/

 

One of the recent patches linked the resolution and aspect ratios (they can't be set individually any more).

This is probably the reason why setting the aspect ratio isn't working for you.

 

But how is that causing a problem with the UI scaling?

 

View Postgpalsson, on 01 August 2017 - 04:01 PM, said:

Works fine on my 4k 43 inch screen.

Likewise, connecting to my 4k tv doesn't result in any problems for me. Even with the switch from 16:10 to 16:9

 


Edited by Baldrickk, 01 August 2017 - 04:03 PM.


RainbowDasher #15 Posted 01 August 2017 - 04:18 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13759 battles
  • 38
  • Member since:
    08-14-2012

Ok I figured it out, I was adjusting the interface scale and you need to have it set to 1. something for it work.

 

Thanks to everyone who tried to help!! 



Gkirmathal #16 Posted 01 August 2017 - 04:46 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 8125 battles
  • 1,487
  • Member since:
    01-14-2013

View PostRainbowDasher, on 01 August 2017 - 02:15 PM, said:

Messed around with the XML file, to no avail.. :( 

 

Ok I figured it out, I was adjusting the interface scale and you need to have it set to 1. something for it work.

 

Thanks to everyone who tried to help!! 

 

@RainbowDasher, when editing the Interface Scale in the XML to lower than 1.0, some UI features stop working correctly and disappear when in battle! I do now know if the same applies if you increase it above X.

 

The new "Battle Indicators" (introduced in 9.17.1) seem to function as a separate overlay, over the Battle Interface UI.

Scaling the Interface Scale down (0.9 and lower) does not scale the Battle Indicators overlay down as well, these then becomes invisible in when in battle.

 

Months ago I had been debugging this for over 2 weeks before noticing this.

If you notice things missing in game, maybe this will save you time debugging it.



RainbowDasher #17 Posted 01 August 2017 - 04:54 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13759 battles
  • 38
  • Member since:
    08-14-2012

@Gkirmathal

 

Thanks man, I'm gunna test 1.2 for now as that seems about right for my monitor.

 

Really disappointing Wargaming hasn't made more of an effort for *newer* high res gaming monitors. 


Edited by RainbowDasher, 01 August 2017 - 04:54 PM.


AliceUnchained #18 Posted 01 August 2017 - 07:47 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 37953 battles
  • 8,690
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

View PostUbersonic, on 01 August 2017 - 03:11 PM, said:

While this is true, they stopped making actual 2K screens years ago, so he's either mistakenly using it to refer to his 1920x1080 screen or he has it confused with the 2.5K slang commonly used to refer to 2560x1440 screens.

 

View PostGeno1isme, on 01 August 2017 - 03:19 PM, said:

 

Definitions never stop people from referring to them incorrectly. Especially when they are rarely used like 2k.

 

Heh indeed. Makes you wonder my people can't even get those simplest of things correct, but at least the issue is resolved. And perhaps OP will use correct indicator from now on, a win-win then.

RainbowDasher #19 Posted 01 August 2017 - 11:54 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 13759 battles
  • 38
  • Member since:
    08-14-2012

View PostAliceUnchained, on 01 August 2017 - 06:47 PM, said:

 

 

Heh indeed. Makes you wonder my people can't even get those simplest of things correct, but at least the issue is resolved. And perhaps OP will use correct indicator from now on, a win-win then.

 

Thanks Richard on behalf of all simpletons. 



xtrem3x #20 Posted 02 August 2017 - 08:59 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 31369 battles
  • 1,327
  • [EFE-X] EFE-X
  • Member since:
    01-03-2013

I don't see any issues.

I used 2560x1440 for about 3 years and now I'm using 3440x1440. Both work fine.

Tried WoT on a 4k monitor and it was fine too, not sure how you had a problem... The only time I had to mess with the xml file was when I first got my 3440x1440 monitor and WoT didn't support ultra-wide until the following patch






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users