Jump to content


WG... possible to fix invisible ground?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

HassenderZerhacker #1 Posted 16 August 2017 - 09:18 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 25496 battles
  • 2,239
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

Countless times already I have been playing peek-a-boo with my tank being hull down and it seems very difficult to get a shot past above the slightest ground elevation in front of me while the sniper view camera (which is supposedly situated right UNDER the gun) has a good view of the target and the fully aimed in reticle shows green, i.e. the shot has a direct line to hit.

I run graphics at max settings, max 3D rendering, max details.

I reliably shoot the ground nearly 80% of times in such situations.

 

Why on earth do I often have to expose my lower hull to reliably shoot over a small elevation that is just in front of my tank ??? How is it even possible to hit the ground if the sniper view camera is just below the gun??

 

It looks as if I have to always shoot 50cm above ground to hope for my shell to fly over it, while the enemy can hit my hull ???

 

Drives me crazy.

Please fix.


Edited by HassenderZerhacker, 16 August 2017 - 09:27 PM.


brumbarr #2 Posted 16 August 2017 - 09:19 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 38626 battles
  • 6,326
  • Member since:
    07-30-2012

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 16 August 2017 - 09:18 PM, said:

Countless times already I have been playing peek-a-boo with a hull down tank and it seems very difficult to get a shot past above the slightest ground elevation in front of me while the sniper view camera (which is supposedly situated right UNDER the gun) has a good view of the target.

I run graphics at max settings, max 3D rendering, max details.

 

Why on earth do I often have to expose my lower hull to reliably shoot over a small elevation that is just in front of my tank ??? How is it even possible to hit the ground if the sniper view camera is just below the gun??

 

It looks as if I have to always shoot 50cm above ground to hope for my shell to fly over it, while the enemy can hit my hull ???

 

Drives me crazy.

Please fix.

Whats your graphics setting?



HassenderZerhacker #3 Posted 16 August 2017 - 09:28 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 25496 battles
  • 2,239
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View Postbrumbarr, on 16 August 2017 - 09:19 PM, said:

Whats your graphics setting?

 

max everything, running a GTX 980M

Homer_J #4 Posted 16 August 2017 - 09:30 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27652 battles
  • 29,000
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010
Shoot from 3rd person view in those cases, that allows you to target using the arc of your shell travel. 

HassenderZerhacker #5 Posted 16 August 2017 - 09:32 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 25496 battles
  • 2,239
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View PostHomer_J, on 16 August 2017 - 09:30 PM, said:

Shoot from 3rd person view in those cases, that allows you to target using the arc of your shell travel. 

 

The reticle turns green/yellow/red, meaning I have direct view.

If anything, the shell should fly higher than my aim, not lower.


Edited by HassenderZerhacker, 16 August 2017 - 09:33 PM.


Junglist_ #6 Posted 16 August 2017 - 09:47 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 35855 battles
  • 1,331
  • Member since:
    06-17-2013
Aren't you playing on like 250+ ping?

HassenderZerhacker #7 Posted 16 August 2017 - 09:56 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 25496 battles
  • 2,239
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View PostJunglist_, on 16 August 2017 - 09:47 PM, said:

Aren't you playing on like 250+ ping?

 

not currently... I travel a bit.

now it's around 35ms.

anyway, it shouldn't matter much if my tank is stationary.



SABAOTH #8 Posted 16 August 2017 - 10:04 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 36437 battles
  • 2,913
  • [-133-] -133-
  • Member since:
    08-28-2011

I second this, it is pretty annoying.

 

There are a few spots with invisible terrain.

There is ghost terrain as well, in el halluf you can shoot through a portion of the hill as it has not collision. So by knowing it you can exploit it. :facepalm:



malachi6 #9 Posted 16 August 2017 - 10:04 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 49216 battles
  • 3,231
  • Member since:
    04-14-2011
Screen shots, replay?

HassenderZerhacker #10 Posted 16 August 2017 - 10:12 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 25496 battles
  • 2,239
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View Postmalachi6, on 16 August 2017 - 10:04 PM, said:

Screen shots, replay?

 

as in: it never happens to you?

brumbarr #11 Posted 16 August 2017 - 10:32 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 38626 battles
  • 6,326
  • Member since:
    07-30-2012

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 16 August 2017 - 10:12 PM, said:

 

as in: it never happens to you?

As in: we dont know exactly what you mean so can you give us an example so we can make sure we talk about the same thing?



Balc0ra #12 Posted 16 August 2017 - 10:46 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 64316 battles
  • 15,388
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 16 August 2017 - 10:12 PM, said:

 

as in: it never happens to you?

 

Because what you explain sounds like you are aiming in 3rd person mode. As then its a common issue due to the higher camera angle fooling you. So they might want to know the exact location if it was in sniper view.

 

Yes even on max settings there are some areas that have a bigger hitbox then textures. But those are on obscure locations, like the floor of the blown out wall on top of hill on the south side on Himmelsdorf. And not in the middle of the sand dunes on sand river etc.

 

 



Bucifel #13 Posted 17 August 2017 - 01:01 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 29511 battles
  • 1,373
  • [JDUN] JDUN
  • Member since:
    03-18-2013

i can help you here...i noticed same problem in multiple maps and made some prints...

el Haluf, Lakeville, sand river, Arctic Region, Stepes...its simply bad designed ground (or lazy...just like T26E4 left cupola...but oposite..here we have Extra ground but no visible...on tanks we have visible parts but not modeled 3D..:D. )

 

Spoiler

see how gun is visible above ground...but aim shows some obstacle, aim circle is exactly where gun barrel ends and in 1st person i targeted enemys TD spot...thats some invisible ground..

Spoiler

theres NOT a jump...as you can see im stationary (0km/h)

Spoiler

again...stationary, but with one track in air...(invisible ground)

Spoiler
Spoiler

 

 

all those locations can block your guns and its really nasty...especially because are some common locations...

i found just few prints and mostly done for fun...but i can make more when i play again in certain positions.

Are just like first 2 from Arctic region...same on El Haluf, Sand river...and maybe more


Edited by Bucifel, 17 August 2017 - 01:16 AM.


Balc0ra #14 Posted 17 August 2017 - 01:19 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 64316 battles
  • 15,388
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostBucifel, on 17 August 2017 - 01:01 AM, said:

i can help you here...i noticed same problem in multiple maps and made some prints...

 

That's because you play on low details. Some of the terrain lines have less polygons on lower settings, and thus seem flatter or smaller. But as it's a server side game. The hitbox is still the same. So it seems you are driving on air.



Bucifel #15 Posted 17 August 2017 - 12:34 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 29511 battles
  • 1,373
  • [JDUN] JDUN
  • Member since:
    03-18-2013

View PostBalc0ra, on 17 August 2017 - 01:19 AM, said:

 

That's because you play on low details. Some of the terrain lines have less polygons on lower settings, and thus seem flatter or smaller. But as it's a server side game. The hitbox is still the same. So it seems you are driving on air.

 

well...yes and no :)

you see above a player with max details and same problem (i think).

anyway...if not entire ground have same problem in low details then im 100% sure those parts can be fixed just like rest of ground where is perfectly adjusted for any setings.

 

in first 2 pictures im sure is not all about low details.


Edited by Bucifel, 17 August 2017 - 12:35 PM.


Kozzy #16 Posted 17 August 2017 - 12:39 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 38855 battles
  • 2,705
  • [EAB2] EAB2
  • Member since:
    06-29-2011

View PostBalc0ra, on 17 August 2017 - 12:19 AM, said:

 

That's because you play on low details. Some of the terrain lines have less polygons on lower settings, and thus seem flatter or smaller. But as it's a server side game. The hitbox is still the same. So it seems you are driving on air.

 

Indeed, for most of these cases I think this explains it well.  I even made a quick image to illustrate this phenomenon in another thread:

 



CmdRatScabies #17 Posted 17 August 2017 - 12:48 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 35723 battles
  • 3,794
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    10-12-2015

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 16 August 2017 - 09:18 PM, said:

Countless times already I have been playing peek-a-boo with my tank being hull down and it seems very difficult to get a shot past above the slightest ground elevation in front of me while the sniper view camera (which is supposedly situated right UNDER the gun) has a good view of the target and the fully aimed in reticle shows green, i.e. the shot has a direct line to hit.

I run graphics at max settings, max 3D rendering, max details.

I reliably shoot the ground nearly 80% of times in such situations.

 

Why on earth do I often have to expose my lower hull to reliably shoot over a small elevation that is just in front of my tank ??? How is it even possible to hit the ground if the sniper view camera is just below the gun??

 

It looks as if I have to always shoot 50cm above ground to hope for my shell to fly over it, while the enemy can hit my hull ???

 

Drives me crazy.

Please fix.

 

I think some of the crests aren't perfectly rendered & you shoot the ridge, but it might just be dispersion dragging some of your shots low.

eldrak #18 Posted 17 August 2017 - 12:48 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 46578 battles
  • 1,005
  • [NE-VO] NE-VO
  • Member since:
    01-27-2011

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 16 August 2017 - 08:18 PM, said:

the sniper view camera (which is supposedly situated right UNDER the gun) has a good view of the target and the fully aimed in reticle shows green, i.e. the shot has a direct line to hit.

I think the camera is usually located slightly ABOVE/to the side of the gun and it has different location on different tanks.



Cannes76 #19 Posted 17 August 2017 - 03:08 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 64440 battles
  • 1,610
  • [3V] 3V
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011
Happens to me on alot of maps also, really really annoying. Am running the game at max graphics settings also... Hope HD rocks fixes the problem.

Cobra6 #20 Posted 17 August 2017 - 04:22 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 16332 battles
  • 15,513
  • [RGT] RGT
  • Member since:
    09-17-2010

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 16 August 2017 - 08:18 PM, said:

Countless times already I have been playing peek-a-boo with my tank being hull down and it seems very difficult to get a shot past above the slightest ground elevation in front of me while the sniper view camera (which is supposedly situated right UNDER the gun) has a good view of the target and the fully aimed in reticle shows green, i.e. the shot has a direct line to hit.

I run graphics at max settings, max 3D rendering, max details.

I reliably shoot the ground nearly 80% of times in such situations.

 

Why on earth do I often have to expose my lower hull to reliably shoot over a small elevation that is just in front of my tank ??? How is it even possible to hit the ground if the sniper view camera is just below the gun??

 

It looks as if I have to always shoot 50cm above ground to hope for my shell to fly over it, while the enemy can hit my hull ???

 

Drives me crazy.

Please fix.

 

 

Because Wargaming is having a terribly difficult time matching up collision models to actual visual models. Not only for environment stuff but also vehicles.

They have had this problem ever since 2010.

 

Cobra 6

 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users