Jump to content


TANK CONTINUING TO MOVE WHEN WE DONT HAVE INTERNET ANYMORE

bug 9.16 support

  • Please log in to reply
73 replies to this topic

jabster #61 Posted 27 August 2017 - 05:23 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 12168 battles
  • 19,348
  • [WSAT] WSAT
  • Member since:
    12-30-2010

View Posttuxun, on 27 August 2017 - 02:20 PM, said:

 

when its doesnt wait something else. so i dont know what it wait, but it wait :) also its doesnt looks like as the server dot should work, cause server confirm your turret movement

 

I said that when you fire the client renders it before the server. Which bit of this do you not understand.



tuxun #62 Posted 28 August 2017 - 10:59 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21442 battles
  • 394
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013

View Postjabster, on 27 August 2017 - 05:23 PM, said:

 

I said that when you fire the client renders it before the server. Which bit of this do you not understand.

 

Not really... the client need let go that fire, if it want render it!

Which bit of this do you not understand?

no shoot, no fire rendered, it seem logical...

 

I dont get the bit where my client wait network for let us aim, the bit where the game doesnt make shell going out of gun immediately when we click, and the bit where my tanks teleport of 30 centimeter each 100ms of movement ;) but feel free to say whatever uncheckable if you want :)


Edited by tuxun, 28 August 2017 - 11:06 AM.


jabster #63 Posted 28 August 2017 - 11:04 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 12168 battles
  • 19,348
  • [WSAT] WSAT
  • Member since:
    12-30-2010

View Posttuxun, on 28 August 2017 - 09:59 AM, said:

 

the bit where my client wait network for let us aim, the bit where the game doesnt make shell going out of gun immediately, and the bit where my tanks teleport of 30 centimeter each 100ms

 

Which has what to the part of your post I responded to. Do you not understand how the fire mechanism is handled between the client and server?

tuxun #64 Posted 28 August 2017 - 09:18 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21442 battles
  • 394
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013

 i have tank in front of me, when i want aim, it lag, when i press forward it lag, and when i want shoot it, game waits, for mysterious reason, so nope im affraid i dont understand what was working before and what is not working anymore

 

Also what is nowhere explained cant be understand ;)


Edited by tuxun, 28 August 2017 - 09:20 PM.


jabster #65 Posted 28 August 2017 - 09:32 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 12168 battles
  • 19,348
  • [WSAT] WSAT
  • Member since:
    12-30-2010

View Posttuxun, on 28 August 2017 - 08:18 PM, said:

 i have tank in front of me, when i want aim, it lag, when i press forward it lag, and when i want shoot it, game waits, for mysterious reason, so nope im affraid i dont understand what was working before and what is not working anymore

 

Also what is nowhere explained cant be understand ;)

 

May I suggest you actually try and read some of the explanations in this thread then.



RockyRoller #66 Posted 28 August 2017 - 10:07 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 23402 battles
  • 1,041
  • [NR-NS] NR-NS
  • Member since:
    06-15-2016

I was boxing an MMO when the ISP crashed me. I couldn't get my monk back online so I logged in the cleric to witness my LD monk beating the crap out of the goblins.

 

LD monk was more awesome than with me playing it ((



tuxun #67 Posted 29 August 2017 - 07:34 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21442 battles
  • 394
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013

View Postjabster, on 28 August 2017 - 09:32 PM, said:

 

May I suggest you actually try and read some of the explanations in this thread then.

 

May I suggest add explanations to this topics so i'll could read them? Also, feel free to explain them, genius.

Edited by tuxun, 29 August 2017 - 07:35 PM.


tuxun #68 Posted 04 September 2017 - 04:30 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21442 battles
  • 394
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013

i have a replay of gun  "waiting for shoot" than ennemy move, with server dot activated. its seems no lag. i click on the ennemy tank but the client doesnt render shoot immediatly.

included dot glitches when tanks disapears! http://wotreplays.co...a-tuxun-ikv_103


Edited by tuxun, 04 September 2017 - 04:30 PM.


Homer_J #69 Posted 04 September 2017 - 04:41 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 25918 battles
  • 25,340
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Posttuxun, on 19 August 2017 - 10:04 AM, said:

 

Well, a server not receiving tanks order should stop tanks on maps, like it was used to do before 9.16?

 

View Posttuxun, on 19 August 2017 - 10:22 AM, said:

 

do you mean i played 16k battle since 9.16?  

Nope.  The behaviour has always been like that when you get a complete disconnect.  Three or four years ago I had ISP issues and could reconnect with my tank at the far side of the map.

 

View Post15JG52Brauer, on 20 August 2017 - 05:12 PM, said:

 

well - I am sure before that a tank wouldnt keep driving no matter what if it DC's - it would eventually stop , while our FC's tank just kept on going and going - maybe that would have happened before , but I haven't seen it in 6 years like that...

Nope. It would never stop unless it hit something, was destroyed, or drowned.  It's been like that since I started playing.



tuxun #70 Posted 07 September 2017 - 11:12 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21442 battles
  • 394
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013

View PostHomer_J, on 04 September 2017 - 04:41 PM, said:

 

Nope.  The behaviour has always been like that when you get a complete disconnect.  Three or four years ago I had ISP issues and could reconnect with my tank at the far side of the map.

 

Nope. It would never stop unless it hit something, was destroyed, or drowned.  It's been like that since I started playing.

 

Thanks. i noticed recently when i lag (red dot) sometime my tank cant move on client. could it be that which changed? do you have server dot activated? :D If you check the replay above, do you see to moment where I stop to move my gun on target cause i'm not understanding why my shell isnt going out of my barrel? (It 3second before i died) (and did you experimented this kind of issue).

I would like to be sure, maybe i lag longer than before, but i have the same isp since start and only recently i noticed this kind of comportement (9.16,9.17, with real patch notes it would be easier to dig than with my mt-25 showel  :D )


Edited by tuxun, 07 September 2017 - 11:17 AM.


Ze_HOFF_fverhoef #71 Posted 07 September 2017 - 11:26 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 13997 battles
  • 2,812
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    03-18-2012

View Posttuxun, on 19 August 2017 - 08:52 AM, said:

TEST:
1)launch game. press z or w depending your keyboard layout.
2) cut internet.
3) release z or w.
4) wait 1 minute
5) connect internet


tank ran away whitout keeping receiving your keystroke but repeating the last one forever!!!

 

TEST2

1)press 100ms left key

2) press 100ms right key...

Your tank will move (100ms+random ping maybe 20ms)=120 ms at left,

then it will move (100ms+random ping maybe 30ms)=130 ms at right.

 

Do you expect your car move 3° at left when you turn from 1° at left and move from 2° at right when you turn for 1° at right?

 

Answer of support: its not a bug its expected comportement (have tanks on wrong place on server, and lag controling our tank direction)

 

Your reaction time is most likely much longer than the ping, so in case of a good ping it's completely negligible.

 

And git gud please

Next!



Maki711 #72 Posted 07 September 2017 - 12:11 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 23960 battles
  • 348
  • Member since:
    06-09-2011

No idea what you all are talking about BUT:

 

The point here is that if you lose the connection to the server, your tank should just stop.

When you lose your connection, the server is still looping thru your last command that your client send to it, for some stupid reason (pure bad programming logic).

 

With that we can clearly see how the game and the server work.

 

Your tank will only respond if your client send new command to the server.

If no new commands are received, continue the old command, else old command equal  to new command, roughly said.

 

The only time you will see your tank in full stop is when the server cannot send you new information or/and your client cannot receive the new information.

Your client will only show you the last known information for few seconds until you get the "You have lose the connection" message.

 

If you get the new information after few seconds, your client will instantly refresh your view, showing the new information.

With that, your tank will "teleport" to the new location it traveled on the server while looping thru his last known command from the client.


Edited by Maki711, 07 September 2017 - 12:19 PM.


Homer_J #73 Posted 07 September 2017 - 02:17 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 25918 battles
  • 25,340
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostMaki711, on 07 September 2017 - 12:11 PM, said:

 

The point here is that if you lose the connection to the server, your tank should just stop.

 

Not instantly or your tank would be jerking to a standstill every dropped packet, but it probably shouldn't go on forever.

tuxun #74 Posted 07 September 2017 - 09:34 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21442 battles
  • 394
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013

View PostZe_HOFF_fverhoef, on 07 September 2017 - 11:26 AM, said:

 

Your reaction time is most likely much longer than the ping, so in case of a good ping it's completely negligible.

 

And git gud please

Next!

 

you are right, that perfectly explain why i notice this lag. did you have a look to the replay posted  three post above, dude?

you think I'm surhuman to notice a delay when 30ms network lag become a 1s game freeze when gun wait for shoot?


Edited by tuxun, 07 September 2017 - 09:43 PM.






Also tagged with bug, 9.16, support

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users