Buying a tank model kit, anyone with experience?

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

markthekiller #1 Posted 19 August 2017 - 10:34 PM

Corporal

• Player
  • 16715 battles
  • [EMOJI] EMOJI

I am going to buy a Panther 1:35 scale model kit soon and I got a question because I'm a beginner and it's only my second model kit (finished my 1:76 Cromwell 5 days ago). 

So what I want to ask:

What is the best (and affordable)  way to paint the tank? I was thinking about using spray paint, but is there a better way?

I painted the Cromwell with a brush and paint that came with the package, but it doesn't really look realistic, probably because I used too much paint... 

Three_Rounds_Rapid #2 Posted 19 August 2017 - 11:30 PM

Warrant Officer

• Player
  • 35144 battles
  • [W__F] W__F
Without even asking I know that's the Airfix Cromwell starter set you built. The acrylic paints in those sets are crap. Brush painting is perfectly viable with decent paints, acrylic model paints are quick drying and clean with water but are a bit more delicate, enamel model paints clean with white spirits (and therefore smell) and take longer to dry but are more hard wearing. When you buy the kit look at the colours you will need and buy a few model paint tinlets of those colours, they are quite cheap and will last a few kits. Brush painting takes a bit of practice, better a few thinner coats than one thick one. Humbrol, Tamiya and Vallejo are good model paint ranges who have colours to match most subjects without requiring mixing (unlike Revell paints). If you can get yourself a bottle of liquid cement glue, it is applied by brush or applicator and is much better than the gloopy tube glue.

FluffyRedFox #3 Posted 19 August 2017 - 11:36 PM

General

• Player
  • 22953 battles

I just use a paint and brush, I'm completely crap with an airbrush.