Jump to content


Installed the game on ssd.


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

Zodiac1960s #1 Posted 26 August 2017 - 11:52 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 34549 battles
  • 938
  • [VOMIT] VOMIT
  • Member since:
    03-27-2011

I had the game on my good old sata(n) and installed it on a new Samsung ssd. For some strange reason the game is slower now. The synchronization is slow and almost freeze the pc. Especially if I'm trying to open something (like tech tree for example) while a tank returns from battle.

 

have tried with and without any mods.  

 

I have other games on the disc and have no issues what so ever. Have about 110gb free space too.

 


Edited by Blind_Hate, 26 August 2017 - 11:54 PM.


SuedKAT #2 Posted 27 August 2017 - 12:03 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 12154 battles
  • 6,152
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-21-2014

Strange, generally you should only see an overall improvement when running the game from an SSD compared to an HDD.

 

I'd start with going to: 

C:\Users\[YOUR USERNAME]\AppData\Roaming\Wargaming.net\WorldOfTanks

and clear the contents, it will reset most of your settings, cache etc and hopefully clear out any issues.



_b_ #3 Posted 27 August 2017 - 12:15 AM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 53948 battles
  • 3,710
  • Member since:
    04-06-2011

got wot on ssd and wot test server on the hdd ... on ssd everything loads fast as fcuk while the test on the hdd on the laptop loads so that it's done loading just about as countdown is complete ...

 

so go with suedcats suggestion because on a ssd it should be fast!



Zodiac1960s #4 Posted 27 August 2017 - 12:19 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 34549 battles
  • 938
  • [VOMIT] VOMIT
  • Member since:
    03-27-2011

View PostSuedKAT, on 26 August 2017 - 11:03 PM, said:

Strange, generally you should only see an overall improvement when running the game from an SSD compared to an HDD.

 

I'd start with going to: 

C:\Users\[YOUR USERNAME]\AppData\Roaming\Wargaming.net\WorldOfTanks

and clear the contents, it will reset most of your settings, cache etc and hopefully clear out any issues.

I will do this and the usual investigation.  It makes absolutely no sense though.  I'll do a clean install again tomorrow.  Took me about 30-40 min downloading and installing the last time. So no problem with that at least. 


Edited by Blind_Hate, 27 August 2017 - 12:20 AM.


sgtYester #5 Posted 27 August 2017 - 01:00 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 52180 battles
  • 1,398
  • [RANGF] RANGF
  • Member since:
    04-10-2011

try that. 

 

i went form hd to ssd and when i got in battle with hdd was at around 20 seconds to go and now i sometimes have to wait before timer even starts :)



Draqutsc #6 Posted 27 August 2017 - 02:47 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 17567 battles
  • 71
  • Member since:
    11-02-2012

The problem is that Wot does a lot of writing to your ssd. If your ssd can't handle that, it is going to slow down. You need to disable memory swapping of your windows computer.

But before you can do that, you need to make sure that you have enough memory to run this game. I recommend atleast 16gb of ram. 

 

The problem is that wot loads in all the files in the memory and it immediately stops using them until the files are needed. 

But windows will immediately dump files that aren't used into the paging file on the ssd, for no reason.

Then when wot needs those files it will need to take them back in from the ssd, this should work faster on an ssd, but not all ssd's can write lots of data and read data at the same time.

The reason you didn't see this problem with a hard drive is because windows couldn't dump all the "unused" memory of wot before wot needed it again, meaning the files would still be in memory. 

But with and ssd, windows can write and read as fast as the ssd can, and while playing wot, it will. Windows will write the maximum speed to your ssd and read at the same time while you are playing wot.

I had the same problem. If you have enough memory, disable paging, it will increase performance, and lengthen the live span of your ssd. 

 

In short: having memory paging on while playing wot will RUIN YOUR SSD and lower performance.


Edited by Draqutsc, 27 August 2017 - 02:49 PM.


Obsessive_Compulsive #7 Posted 27 August 2017 - 03:25 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23547 battles
  • 8,048
  • Member since:
    09-09-2014
16gb of ram.... thats hilarious.

Laiskamato #8 Posted 27 August 2017 - 03:30 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 42911 battles
  • 314
  • [CIRC] CIRC
  • Member since:
    07-05-2014

View PostConor_Notorious_McGregor, on 27 August 2017 - 05:25 PM, said:

16gb of ram.... thats hilarious.

 

If you have less.

 

Thats hilarious



Ogroid #9 Posted 27 August 2017 - 03:36 PM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 31398 battles
  • 226
  • Member since:
    09-01-2010

View PostLaiskamato, on 27 August 2017 - 02:30 PM, said:

 

If you have less.

 

Thats hilarious

 

Really? Please explain...

Draqutsc #10 Posted 27 August 2017 - 04:00 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 17567 battles
  • 71
  • Member since:
    11-02-2012

View PostConor_Notorious_McGregor, on 27 August 2017 - 03:25 PM, said:

16gb of ram.... thats hilarious.

 

I am talking about disabling the memory paging. An essential component of windows for managing memory.

If you do that with less ram, you will be unable to play wot as wot will just crash randomly while playing and it will give you the too little free memory error.

You could technically do it with 8 gb of ram, but any lower than that and your system will just crash on its own.

 

 



AliceUnchained #11 Posted 27 August 2017 - 10:15 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 37820 battles
  • 8,520
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

View PostDraqutsc, on 27 August 2017 - 02:47 PM, said:

The problem is that Wot does a lot of writing to your ssd. If your ssd can't handle that, it is going to slow down. You need to disable memory swapping of your windows computer.

But before you can do that, you need to make sure that you have enough memory to run this game. I recommend atleast 16gb of ram. 

 

Complete and utter nonsense. WoT does plenty of reading, not writing. And pagefile usage has little to do with it. Furthermore, you shouldn't just recommend disabling it. Especially when you do not appear to have ANY clue what you're talking about. Lastly, you don't need nowhere near 16 GB of system RAM to run WoT. You would need more if you actually want to install WoT in RAM though...

 

So please, keep this nonsense to yourself.

 

View PostConor_Notorious_McGregor, on 27 August 2017 - 03:25 PM, said:

16gb of ram.... thats hilarious.

 

Exactly.

 

View PostLaiskamato, on 27 August 2017 - 03:30 PM, said:

If you have less.

 

Thats hilarious

 

 Only hilarious thing here is your reply. You obviously don't know what you're talking about.

 

View PostDraqutsc, on 27 August 2017 - 04:00 PM, said:

I am talking about disabling the memory paging. An essential component of windows for managing memory.

If you do that with less ram, you will be unable to play wot as wot will just crash randomly while playing and it will give you the too little free memory error.

You could technically do it with 8 gb of ram, but any lower than that and your system will just crash on its own.

 

Again, a load of nonsense. Many application actually require some pagefile to exist in order to perform properly. However, WoT does not require anywhere near 16 GB, or even 8 GB of system memory for that matter. Now stop with this BS advise of disabling pagefile already ffs.    


Edited by AliceUnchained, 28 August 2017 - 11:00 AM.


CmdRatScabies #12 Posted 27 August 2017 - 10:25 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 35165 battles
  • 3,538
  • Member since:
    10-12-2015
Runs fine for me with it installed on the normal HD.  Never felt the need to install it on the SSD.  If I get the synchronising message occasionally I assume it's the server / network.

soul3ater #13 Posted 27 August 2017 - 10:25 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 18434 battles
  • 558
  • [OMNIA] OMNIA
  • Member since:
    07-27-2012
I have it on my HDD and it loads pretty fast, SSD is reserved for the dank games not the likes of WoT.

Edited by soul3ater, 27 August 2017 - 10:26 PM.


SuedKAT #14 Posted 28 August 2017 - 12:09 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 12154 battles
  • 6,152
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-21-2014

There is literally only 1 single advantage with disabling the pagefile, you gain the HDD space the pagefile.sys takes up normally, other than that you gain nothing but potential issues. Sure you can run Windows without a pagefile, you'll see zero impact on performance, however if your applications start to utilize all of your available memory they will most likely crash, some application may not start at all and more.

 

There’s no good reason to disable the page file, all you gain is potential system instability for no reason what so ever.

 

Regarding the pagefile and SSD health, if we look at one of the most popular SSD's on the market today, the Samsung 850 EVO, you can write 20GB/day to it and it will live around 187 years, up that to 100GB/day and you'll lower that to 18,7 years. If you don't happen to edit 4k videos 24 hours a day that ain't an issue, you'll most likely replace your rig multiple times before you need to replace a modern consumer SSD, if your worried about longevity, you can always install an MLC NAND or even an SLC NAND drive and get a couple of extra hundred years of usage out of the drive assuming your a regular consumer.


Edited by SuedKAT, 28 August 2017 - 12:10 AM.


Ferditude #15 Posted 28 August 2017 - 01:53 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 862 battles
  • 419
  • Member since:
    11-22-2016

ssd loading is a lot quicker for me.

I would've thought fresh install would've fixed it.

did you delete the hidden folder in...

c drive/ user/ your comp name/ app data/ roaming/ Wargaming.net

before reinstalling game?



Zodiac1960s #16 Posted 28 August 2017 - 03:07 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 34549 battles
  • 938
  • [VOMIT] VOMIT
  • Member since:
    03-27-2011
I have a solid pc, probably overkill for this game. I built it myself. I only have problems with the synchronization after battles etc. I usually load battles before the timer starts.

I did not get around to reinstalling it yet. I'll give it a go tomorrow if time does not bite me in the azz again.

Thanks for all the suggestions and help!

 

View PostFerditude, on 28 August 2017 - 12:53 AM, said:

ssd loading is a lot quicker for me.

I would've thought fresh install would've fixed it.

did you delete the hidden folder in...

c drive/ user/ your comp name/ app data/ roaming/ Wargaming.net

before reinstalling game?

Pretty sure I did. I use to be quite thural when it comes to my pc. But I'll definitely be sure the next time.  Thanks 


 

jeffrey_mk2 #17 Posted 28 August 2017 - 08:44 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 11639 battles
  • 272
  • [NLWGG] NLWGG
  • Member since:
    04-02-2013

View PostLaiskamato, on 27 August 2017 - 02:30 PM, said:

 

If you have less.

 

Thats hilarious

 

HAHA lol I play wot on a pc that came from  the government from a help desk ,  nothing fancy about it.

Its a I3 550 processor (that was the reason I have the computer) and had a 4 gb ram and standard hdd disk.

Ive put in a ssd harddisk , 8gb ram (somehow windows only manage to use 6gb and cant solve problem) and a budget video card R7 240 Oc 128bit version.

It runs wot without a problem (just 6gb ram also) and its a very fast simple computer , I play it on high settings and some switched off or low.

Loading is hugely improved with the ssd ....Im mostly one of the first people in game  , its giving no problems so far also.



Ogroid #18 Posted 28 August 2017 - 10:39 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 31398 battles
  • 226
  • Member since:
    09-01-2010
According to resource monitor, WOT uses under 1GB RAM in battle on my machine.16GB? Just lol....

malachi6 #19 Posted 28 August 2017 - 10:56 AM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 48570 battles
  • 3,081
  • Member since:
    04-14-2011

View Post_b_, on 27 August 2017 - 12:15 AM, said:

got wot on ssd and wot test server on the hdd ... on ssd everything loads fast as fcuk while the test on the hdd on the laptop loads so that it's done loading just about as countdown is complete ...

 

so go with suedcats suggestion because on a ssd it should be fast!

 

if your fcuk is fast you are doing it wrong.  

STLR #20 Posted 28 August 2017 - 02:48 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 30059 battles
  • 721
  • Member since:
    06-07-2013
what Win do you have installed and since when, and do you have multiple HDD's installed? :)




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users