Jump to content


Game Settings


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

_EXODUZ_ #1 Posted 18 September 2017 - 04:02 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 34635 battles
  • 1,936
  • [RGT] RGT
  • Member since:
    11-05-2014

So what are your game settings? Do you find it easier to play with lower settings on high end machines? Or do you like to crank up the fancy stuff?

I've used to play on highest settings, but then I've turned it down significantly. Still experimenting with the way it feels, definitely noticed less fps drops in tight situations.

Can't play with low sniper aim settings for some reason. I see a lot of good players using very low value. Maybe an old habit from FPS games.

Increased FOV to 105, helps with situational awareness.

BTW, I've shared Straik's settings with some people, they found it useful.

https://imgur.com/a/nuT1S


Edited by _EXODUZ_, 18 September 2017 - 04:02 PM.


cro001 #2 Posted 18 September 2017 - 04:09 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 28800 battles
  • 1,888
  • [MEME] MEME
  • Member since:
    10-21-2012
For some reason(crapoptimization), when you crank up details, your FPS take a dive no matter what setup you have.

qpranger #3 Posted 18 September 2017 - 04:32 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 31516 battles
  • 5,061
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-25-2013
I used Standard graphics, 1920x1200, everything maxxed out, only FR limited to 60 (Vsync). That my laptop + external display handle perfectly, but on Improved graphics even with minimum settings the game is unplayble. Quite sad that there is such a large gap between Standard and Improved, with no intermediate option.

K_A #4 Posted 18 September 2017 - 04:35 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 13581 battles
  • 4,663
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    04-18-2013
I have improved graphics with everything else maxed but motion blur off, extra effects in sniper mode off and grass in sniper mode off. Aiming at weak spots in sniper mode is much easier with none of the sparks and smoke and stupid grass blocking the clear outline of the enemy tank. And motion blur just makes me sick, it's fine for cinematic stuff but not for gaming.

Edited by K_A, 18 September 2017 - 04:36 PM.


hajoittaja #5 Posted 18 September 2017 - 04:41 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 36655 battles
  • 496
  • [ELC-P] ELC-P
  • Member since:
    02-27-2013
Lowest possible, would like fancy graphics, but old laptop says no.

Obsessive_Compulsive #6 Posted 18 September 2017 - 04:45 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 24364 battles
  • 8,048
  • [ADUK] ADUK
  • Member since:
    09-09-2014
Im playing on a turnip and still get 100+ minimum. averages around 115. max settings

Edited by Conor_Notorious_McGregor, 18 September 2017 - 04:47 PM.


Aikl #7 Posted 18 September 2017 - 04:51 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 25167 battles
  • 4,253
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011

Standard render, because that's what I'm used to, and also because WoT is hardly a looker anyway.

 

Music off, engine sounds turned down to hear the proper music.

 

Mouse sensitivity is probably standard, bit lower on sniper view. Keyboard settings are... a bit borked. The middle consumable is bound to the spacebar (because of fire extuingisher). It also means track repairs are a quick 4->spacebar away. It's basically muscle memory now, which is kind of a problem - with almost only automatic fire extinguishers the only use it has is track repairs. :D

 

(Q serves as the handbrake button. For some reason that kind of works.)

 

View PostConor_Notorious_McGregor, on 18 September 2017 - 03:45 PM, said:

Im playing on a turnip and still get 100+ minimum. averages around 115. max settings

 

WoT likes turnips, they're single-core. My 2004-vintage gaming rig with single-core CPU could handle WoT far better than my 2013-era laptop could.


Edited by Aikl, 18 September 2017 - 04:54 PM.


Homer_J #8 Posted 18 September 2017 - 04:58 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27652 battles
  • 29,000
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

I have everything turned up full on my desktop and a solid 60fps (capped by my monitor refresh rate).

 

On my laptop I have everything on minimum and sometimes drop into single figures, it's only really suitable for arty.



malachi6 #9 Posted 18 September 2017 - 05:01 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 49249 battles
  • 3,236
  • Member since:
    04-14-2011
Always keep terrain complexity high as you may end up shooting un-rendered terrain or getting stuck on stuff you can't see.

Havoc7926 #10 Posted 18 September 2017 - 05:06 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 13083 battles
  • 559
  • [OLDG] OLDG
  • Member since:
    01-21-2011
I think I run reasonably high settings but to compensate I don't use the HD client.   Now that might be one of those things that makes zero difference but I started playing on a potato in beta and even though I now have the equivalent of 2 potatoes of power I never bit the bullet and downloaded the HD client.

AliceUnchained #11 Posted 18 September 2017 - 05:11 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 38165 battles
  • 8,807
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

View Postcro001, on 18 September 2017 - 04:09 PM, said:

For some reason(crapoptimization), when you crank up details, your FPS take a dive no matter what setup you have.

 

At max details and TSAA enabled, while enhancing AA through Nvidia control panel, AF enabled, I still get 100+ FPS. Resolution 2560 * 1440. Or did you simply mean you have your system configured and optimized poorly?

cro001 #12 Posted 18 September 2017 - 05:16 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 28800 battles
  • 1,888
  • [MEME] MEME
  • Member since:
    10-21-2012

View PostAliceUnchained, on 18 September 2017 - 05:11 PM, said:

At max details and TSAA enabled, while enhancing AA through Nvidia control panel, AF enabled, I still get 100+ FPS. Resolution 2560 * 1440. Or did you simply mean you have your system configured and optimized poorly?

 

Perhaps, I didn't even bother lately to check crapout since I'm getting myself new rig soonTM



Steel_Patriot #13 Posted 18 September 2017 - 05:18 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 42672 battles
  • 487
  • [_DOG] _DOG
  • Member since:
    03-06-2011
2560x1440 with Game  maxed out @ 120fps , drops to 100 on some maps

FluffyRedFox #14 Posted 18 September 2017 - 05:22 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 22619 battles
  • 8,111
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    12-05-2012

Standard graphics with highest settings and I get around 80fps - 110fps.

Hoping to play on max setting when I eventually throw a GPU in 'ere 



TsundereWaffle #15 Posted 18 September 2017 - 05:39 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 26579 battles
  • 10,913
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    03-31-2013
Everything compketely maxed out, 60 fps, about 90 fps when I turn off AA

FluffyRedFox #16 Posted 18 September 2017 - 05:41 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 22619 battles
  • 8,111
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    12-05-2012

View PostTsundereWaffle, on 18 September 2017 - 05:39 PM, said:

Everything compketely maxed out, 60 fps, about 90 fps when I turn off AA

but you don't need AA in WoT

is joke no bulli



Junglist_ #17 Posted 18 September 2017 - 05:44 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 35992 battles
  • 1,332
  • Member since:
    06-17-2013
HD client with pretty much medium quality settings on HP laptop and stable 60fps

Dava_117 #18 Posted 18 September 2017 - 06:49 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 18568 battles
  • 2,753
  • [B-BAS] B-BAS
  • Member since:
    12-17-2014
I use HD client, with almost everything maxed or on high setting. I don't use motion blur because I hate it and I disabled track lines. They're so optimized that I gain alost 6 FPS just removing them...

Edited by Dava_117, 18 September 2017 - 06:49 PM.


Snake_Keeper #19 Posted 18 September 2017 - 07:49 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 8587 battles
  • 699
  • Member since:
    02-04-2016

HD client, with textures max, extra effects max, terrain quality max, draw distance max, object lod max, foliage transparency, dynamic change of effects quality. No AA, FOV 105. Everything else is minimum/turned off.

I get 30 to 68 FPS if I max everything, with this I get 119 nearly constantly with some dips to 105.

 

Odd thing is, my card(Sapphire Radeon R9 285 O.C. 2 GB GDDR5) should be able to handle the game at max with no dipping, but I had huge FPS dips with every tank spot in render range when details were all max.


Edited by Snake_Keeper, 18 September 2017 - 07:50 PM.


AliceUnchained #20 Posted 18 September 2017 - 09:04 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 38165 battles
  • 8,807
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

View PostSnake_Keeper, on 18 September 2017 - 07:49 PM, said:

Odd thing is, my card(Sapphire Radeon R9 285 O.C. 2 GB GDDR5) should be able to handle the game at max with no dipping, but I had huge FPS dips with every tank spot in render range when details were all max.

 

And you base this on what exactly? Besides, WoT is heavily CPU single thread dependent.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users