Jump to content


spotting question... I'm confused


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

HassenderZerhacker #1 Posted 28 September 2017 - 01:44 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 25612 battles
  • 2,265
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

Is it technically possible to spot something, i.e. properly be credited with the spot, and less than a second later someone shoots the spotted target, and then not be credited spotting damage?

 

http://wotreplays.eu..._pilot_number_1

 

in the first minute or so


Edited by HassenderZerhacker, 28 September 2017 - 01:49 AM.


ajay3672 #2 Posted 28 September 2017 - 01:46 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 26482 battles
  • 83
  • [BULL] BULL
  • Member since:
    12-20-2013
I don't think so. But I could be wrong on that. I know that has never happened to me, when I have spotted an enemy and a team mate has damaged it afterwards.

Userext #3 Posted 28 September 2017 - 01:48 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 16259 battles
  • 897
  • Member since:
    06-12-2011
it is possible if you drop the spot right before friendly shot hits.

JakeRoook #4 Posted 28 September 2017 - 01:52 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 260 battles
  • 271
  • Member since:
    04-20-2013
One whos view range is farest at the same time spotting receives more credits, so donate more - crew grows faster with premium and buy extra rations, play ranked load full gold get extra optics donate extra credits exchange, just donate more.

HassenderZerhacker #5 Posted 28 September 2017 - 01:59 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 25612 battles
  • 2,265
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View PostUserext, on 28 September 2017 - 01:48 AM, said:

it is possible if you drop the spot right before friendly shot hits.

 

nope, I spotted it, the teammate shot it less than a second later and dealt damage, I got nothing.

But I get credited with the Rhm-B spot in battle results

I'm still confused as to why I didn't get credited with spotting damage


Edited by HassenderZerhacker, 28 September 2017 - 02:03 AM.


Userext #6 Posted 28 September 2017 - 02:06 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 16259 battles
  • 897
  • Member since:
    06-12-2011

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 28 September 2017 - 01:59 AM, said:

But I get credited with the Rhm-B spot in battle results

 

That doesn't neccessarily mean you spotted the rhm when it was shot.

Edited by Userext, 28 September 2017 - 02:07 AM.


HassenderZerhacker #7 Posted 28 September 2017 - 02:12 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 25612 battles
  • 2,265
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View PostUserext, on 28 September 2017 - 02:06 AM, said:

That doesn't neccessarily mean you spotted the rhm when it was shot.

 

it was shot less than a second after I spotted it, so it clearly was my spot, or not ???



Userext #8 Posted 28 September 2017 - 02:17 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 16259 battles
  • 897
  • Member since:
    06-12-2011

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 28 September 2017 - 02:12 AM, said:

 

it was shot less than a second after I spotted it, so it clearly was my spot, or not ???

 

As far as what you said concerned, we don't know if there was another tank that spotted rhm. You might have spotted rhm after the first spot dropped, who knows.

HassenderZerhacker #9 Posted 28 September 2017 - 02:24 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 25612 battles
  • 2,265
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View PostUserext, on 28 September 2017 - 02:17 AM, said:

As far as what you said concerned, we don't know if there was another tank that spotted rhm. You might have spotted rhm after the first spot dropped, who knows.

 

can a first spot be credited to more than one player?

Userext #10 Posted 28 September 2017 - 02:32 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 16259 battles
  • 897
  • Member since:
    06-12-2011

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 28 September 2017 - 02:24 AM, said:

 

can a first spot be credited to more than one player?

 

There is no first spot information on battle result screen other than those spotting medals. You can spot a tank more than once durnig the battle as long as the enemy tank loses sight with your team before you spot it again.

HassenderZerhacker #11 Posted 28 September 2017 - 02:39 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 25612 battles
  • 2,265
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View PostUserext, on 28 September 2017 - 02:32 AM, said:

 

There is no first spot information on battle result screen other than those spotting medals. You can spot a tank more than once durnig the battle as long as the enemy tank loses sight with your team before you spot it again.

 

I think you are in error.

These blue binocular symbols are only awarded for the first spot.



Homer_J #12 Posted 28 September 2017 - 02:55 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27652 battles
  • 29,000
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 28 September 2017 - 01:44 AM, said:

Is it technically possible to spot something, i.e. properly be credited with the spot, and less than a second later someone shoots the spotted target, and then not be credited spotting damage?

 

 

You are confused that something changes from one second to another?

 

Just because you get first spot does not mean you were the one spotting the target as it gets damaged.

 

Is it the RHM.B WT you are talking about?  You get credited with spotting it but it gets shot by the WZ-132 who is sitting along side you and would have been able to spot it himself.  It's just a quirk of the system that gave you the initial spot, i.e. it has to give it to someone and either you were closest or it did your spotting check first or whatever.

 

BTW what's with the waving your gun around pointing it behind you?  You can hold the right mouse button down if you want to look around, that way your gun is pointing at the enemy and your team mates aren't going to wonder what kind of psycho they've got on the front lines.

 

And I'm really not surprised your arty was annoyed at you.  You sat in that same spot all game doing nothing with a scout next to you doing the same job.  At least the scout eventually had the sense to move.  And you could have moved, just like you eventually did, when the rest of your team were dead.


Edited by Homer_J, 28 September 2017 - 03:46 AM.


Spurtung #13 Posted 28 September 2017 - 08:26 AM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 61598 battles
  • 5,900
  • [GW-UP] GW-UP
  • Member since:
    07-05-2013

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 28 September 2017 - 03:39 AM, said:

 

I think you are in error.

These blue binocular symbols are only awarded for the first spot.

 

Exactly, you were the first one spotting the tank. That was it. If the shooter can see it themselves, you won't get any assisted damage. Just imagine a bunch of heavies together and rushing a corner. The first one will spot whoever is around the corner. Everyone else will shoot as well. Do you think that tank will get any spotting damage?

HassenderZerhacker #14 Posted 28 September 2017 - 12:26 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 25612 battles
  • 2,265
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View PostSpurtung, on 28 September 2017 - 08:26 AM, said:

Exactly, you were the first one spotting the tank. That was it. If the shooter can see it themselves, you won't get any assisted damage. Just imagine a bunch of heavies together and rushing a corner. The first one will spot whoever is around the corner. Everyone else will shoot as well. Do you think that tank will get any spotting damage?

 

OK - I didn't know what the exact rule was. I thought if I spot something first and it then gets shot by someone else I would get spotting damage. Now it turns out that I only get spotting if the other tank cannot see the target by itself. Thanks for the explanation.

Spurtung #15 Posted 28 September 2017 - 01:51 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 61598 battles
  • 5,900
  • [GW-UP] GW-UP
  • Member since:
    07-05-2013

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 28 September 2017 - 01:26 PM, said:

 

OK - I didn't know what the exact rule was. I thought if I spot something first and it then gets shot by someone else I would get spotting damage. Now it turns out that I only get spotting if the other tank cannot see the target by itself. Thanks for the explanation.

 

That's why it's called "damage with your assistance" in the battle report. If it weren't for you, nobody would be able to even see the target.

If 2 scouts are seeing the same target, they will split the assisted damage.



RandomBlank #16 Posted 28 September 2017 - 01:52 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 10346 battles
  • 703
  • Member since:
    08-12-2013

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 28 September 2017 - 12:26 PM, said:

 

 Now it turns out that I only get spotting if the other tank cannot see the target by itself. Thanks for the explanation.

 

That's how you're getting the spotting assist damage XP. But you still get a small amount of XP for the "first spot".

Homer_J #17 Posted 28 September 2017 - 03:53 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27652 battles
  • 29,000
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostHassenderZerhacker, on 28 September 2017 - 12:26 PM, said:

 

OK - I didn't know what the exact rule was. I thought if I spot something first and it then gets shot by someone else I would get spotting damage. Now it turns out that I only get spotting if the other tank cannot see the target by itself. Thanks for the explanation.

 

Yeah, the award for getting first spot is like giving the kids a sweet for being the first to see the sea.  You don't get one for everyone else who sees it.

K_A #18 Posted 28 September 2017 - 03:56 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 13588 battles
  • 4,663
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    04-18-2013

View PostHomer_J, on 28 September 2017 - 02:53 PM, said:

 

Yeah, the award for getting first spot is like giving the kids a sweet for being the first to see the sea.  You don't get one for everyone else who sees it.

 

Now now, at least at some point a first spot has been awarded with a whole 3 XP points! How do I know this? This:

 

http://wotreplays.eu/site/249339#teams

 

You see the only person on the enemy team who got more than 0 XP was the Churchill I, and if you see his stats he was the only tank in the whole game who spotted an enemy tank, exactly one.



Homer_J #19 Posted 28 September 2017 - 03:58 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27652 battles
  • 29,000
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostK_A, on 28 September 2017 - 03:56 PM, said:

 

Now now, at least at some point a first spot has been awarded with a whole 3 XP points! How do I know this? This:

 

http://wotreplays.eu/site/249339#teams

 

You see the only person on the enemy team who got more than 0 XP was the Churchill I, and if you see his stats he was the only tank in the whole game who spotted an enemy tank, exactly one.

 

I think the rewards for doing things yourself are all pretty low, I got 12 exp once for a win by cap, there were 6 of us in the cap circle.

 

The bulk of exp comes from the team effort.



K_A #20 Posted 28 September 2017 - 04:02 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 13588 battles
  • 4,663
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    04-18-2013

View PostHomer_J, on 28 September 2017 - 02:58 PM, said:

 

I think the rewards for doing things yourself are all pretty low, I got 12 exp once for a win by cap, there were 6 of us in the cap circle.

 

The bulk of exp comes from the team effort.

 

Avert your eyes back to the replay's score sheet, Marder was afk so he got 0 xp, the rest of our team got 68 xp per player for basically driving around for 2 minutes, and the three idiots in cap got an extra 45 for their successful cap, totalling 113. So yea, the reward for capping is not big. 




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users