Jump to content


Unacceptable Ping at Gcore.lu since 2 days now


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

pjansen2010 #1 Posted 10 October 2017 - 04:25 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 59664 battles
  • 40
  • [ASHES] ASHES
  • Member since:
    01-20-2013

I have 200 ms ping at hop 10 from WG's service provider Gcore.lu since 2  days which makes WOT unplayable.

 

https://gcore.lu/

 

See attached pingplotter graph

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File   92.223.1.92.png   1.2MB


spamhamstar #2 Posted 10 October 2017 - 04:39 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 64301 battles
  • 1,245
  • [LLAY] LLAY
  • Member since:
    12-02-2012

View Postpjansen2010, on 10 October 2017 - 03:25 PM, said:

I have 200 ms ping at hop 10 from WG's service provider Gcore.lu since 2  days which makes WOT unplayable.

 

https://gcore.lu/

 

See attached pingplotter graph

 

 

I'm fairly sure you should send that to support or your ISP.  I doubt very much that anyone here will be able to reroute your connection.

TheSpearman #3 Posted 10 October 2017 - 04:42 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 21314 battles
  • 1,429
  • Member since:
    07-13-2010

As a general point, gcore.lu isn't a provider for WG, it is WG. They use an entity called G-Core Labs incorporated in Luxembourg to handle their infrastructure.

 

But given the hop beyond that shows much lower response rates, it's far more likely they're just deprioritizing ICMP traffic, as is common practice.



pjansen2010 #4 Posted 10 October 2017 - 04:52 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 59664 battles
  • 40
  • [ASHES] ASHES
  • Member since:
    01-20-2013

View Postspamhamstar, on 10 October 2017 - 03:39 PM, said:

 

I'm fairly sure you should send that to support or your ISP.  I doubt very much that anyone here will be able to reroute your connection.

 

If it is occuring at hop 10 then it is far from my ISP,  I am not asking for a reroute either just for WG to sort out the problem with their "SERVICE" provider Gcore in Luxembourg.

Edited by pjansen2010, 10 October 2017 - 04:54 PM.


jabster #5 Posted 10 October 2017 - 04:57 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 12516 battles
  • 21,685
  • [WSAT] WSAT
  • Member since:
    12-30-2010

View Postpjansen2010, on 10 October 2017 - 03:52 PM, said:

 

If it is occuring at hop 10 then it is far from my ISP,  I am not asking for a reroute either just for WG to sort out the problem with their "SERVICE" provider Gcore in Luxembourg.

 

See the post from TheSpearman.

pjansen2010 #6 Posted 10 October 2017 - 05:04 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 59664 battles
  • 40
  • [ASHES] ASHES
  • Member since:
    01-20-2013

View Postjabster, on 10 October 2017 - 03:57 PM, said:

 

See the post from TheSpearman.

See my latest ping plot  ;)

Attached Files

  • Attached File   92.223.1.92.png   1.31MB


LikePike #7 Posted 10 October 2017 - 05:09 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 39929 battles
  • 195
  • [GEN] GEN
  • Member since:
    04-17-2011
Run pingplotter for a longer time (30 to 60 minutes), not just a few seconds... :sceptic:

pjansen2010 #8 Posted 10 October 2017 - 05:16 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 59664 battles
  • 40
  • [ASHES] ASHES
  • Member since:
    01-20-2013

View PostLikePike, on 10 October 2017 - 04:09 PM, said:

Run pingplotter for a longer time (30 to 60 minutes), not just a few seconds... :sceptic:

 

Gives the same result, I was once MCSE 18 years ago before I retired ;)

tankqull #9 Posted 10 October 2017 - 05:22 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 19142 battles
  • 1,122
  • [-FD-] -FD-
  • Member since:
    08-31-2011

 

View PostLikePike, on 10 October 2017 - 04:09 PM, said:

Run pingplotter for a longer time (30 to 60 minutes), not just a few seconds... :sceptic:

 

for what reason? game breaking spike remains game breaking spike rgeardless if the tracert is for a few sec or several hours....

have the same issues the last two days 90% of my deaths results of lag spikes driving through the pampa for 3-5 sec without any chance of correcting that.



LikePike #10 Posted 10 October 2017 - 05:24 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 39929 battles
  • 195
  • [GEN] GEN
  • Member since:
    04-17-2011

View Postpjansen2010, on 10 October 2017 - 06:16 PM, said:

 

Gives the same result, I was once MCSE 18 years ago before I retired ;)

 

It does matter:

First one showed issues with only one hop, which doesn't matter and issues within your ISPs network (packet loss).

Second screenshot showed possible issues with the reverse path of gcore.lu routing, which could also caused by your own ISP.

 

Remember, the internet is full of asymmetric routing, which makes it hard to review such issues, especially with a small set of data from your end (client side) and no data from the other end (server side).

 

PS:

Microsoft (MCSE certification) tells you a s*** about routing issues. :confused:

 

PPS:

Maybe something interesting to read about traceroute:

https://www.nanog.or...ceroute_N45.pdf


Edited by LikePike, 10 October 2017 - 05:31 PM.


Kartoshkaya #11 Posted 10 October 2017 - 05:32 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 20905 battles
  • 335
  • Member since:
    01-01-2015

View Postpjansen2010, on 10 October 2017 - 04:52 PM, said:

I am not asking for a reroute either just for WG to sort out the problem with their "SERVICE" provider Gcore in Luxembourg.

Good luck with that



TheSpearman #12 Posted 11 October 2017 - 02:34 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 21314 battles
  • 1,429
  • Member since:
    07-13-2010

LikePike's linked doc is a good and worthwhile read. Traceroutes/tracerts and what pingplotter shows frequently doesn't provide any usable info. The use of flow logic, asymettric routing, etc means it's all very ambiguous.

 

I don't see anything immediately alarming in the ping plotter graphs. That doesn't mean there isn't an issue, just that the graphs aren't reliable.



Balc0ra #13 Posted 11 October 2017 - 02:49 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 62791 battles
  • 14,395
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View Postpjansen2010, on 10 October 2017 - 04:52 PM, said:

 

If it is occuring at hop 10 then it is far from my ISP,  I am not asking for a reroute either just for WG to sort out the problem with their "SERVICE" provider Gcore in Luxembourg.

 

On that point for me on both servers.. I get a different gcore server listed on that point. A telia gcore one. As Telia is listed all the way down from point 4 to the 3rd last one.

 

Either way. Posting here is not gonna fix it. As none of us will or can do anything about it. Nor do WG admins or mod come here that often to bother with it.

 

 



cragarion #14 Posted 11 October 2017 - 03:19 PM

    Captain

  • Beta Tester
  • 41791 battles
  • 2,164
  • Member since:
    07-10-2010

View Postpjansen2010, on 10 October 2017 - 04:25 PM, said:

I have 200 ms ping at hop 10 from WG's service provider Gcore.lu since 2  days which makes WOT unplayable.

 

https://gcore.lu/

 

See attached pingplotter graph

 

 

Since your computer is not plugged directly into the games servers,

i suggest you contact your isp, tell them your problem and ask if hey can get the phone company to check the lines,

there is most likely a faulty line somewhere between where you live and where the games servers are.

If the games servers were at fault it would effect every single person on the server not just you or people where you live.


Edited by cragarion, 11 October 2017 - 03:20 PM.


unhappy_bunny #15 Posted 11 October 2017 - 10:27 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 17409 battles
  • 2,132
  • [-OC-] -OC-
  • Member since:
    08-01-2012

View Postpjansen2010, on 10 October 2017 - 05:16 PM, said:

 

Gives the same result, I was once MCSE 18 years ago before I retired ;)

 

CCNA would have been a better certificate for proclaiming knowledge of Networking. 

 



Userext #16 Posted 11 October 2017 - 10:35 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 16259 battles
  • 897
  • Member since:
    06-12-2011

View Postcragarion, on 11 October 2017 - 03:19 PM, said:

If the games servers were at fault it would effect every single person on the server not just you or people where you live.

 

Most do feel it, at least I know it effects me as far as an hour long pingplotter results concerned.

However it doesn't effect people as bad if they are closer to servers as those who are away from them.

It's not ISP's fault and no ISP cares about connections beyond their line.

It's caused on WG's end due to who knows what.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users