Jump to content


A question for the people who played the Sandbox and about the HD maps.


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

Tinom5 #1 Posted 14 October 2017 - 10:10 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 9651 battles
  • 488
  • [STAR-] STAR-
  • Member since:
    01-29-2014
So, i saw the new HD maps witch look amazing. But since im currently with a shitty laptop ( soon gonna repair my old gaming rig and upgrade it ) i wanna know since i play on the SD client, will i see the HD maps like others in terms of buildings and stuff like that. I mean am i gonna see the new buildings that are added to the HD maps and am i gonna see the zepelin on the redshire map even when im SD. I dont mean max graphics or stuff like that i mean am i gonna see the maps like others just not as MAX SHINNY as others ?

Pansenmann #2 Posted 14 October 2017 - 10:17 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 34106 battles
  • 12,622
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012
yes

Junglist_ #3 Posted 14 October 2017 - 10:24 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 37115 battles
  • 1,348
  • Member since:
    06-17-2013

RagingRaptor made some comparison videos minimum Vs ultra settings, there are in a topic bit below yours if you actually have a look around on the forums before posting

http://forum.worldof...ultra-settings/



jack_timber #4 Posted 14 October 2017 - 10:29 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 33432 battles
  • 2,076
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

Well tried sandbox last night, my laptop has a weedy 840M, let Geforce Experience decide on graphics settings and managed to get 40fps on medium settings or thereabouts.

I was surprised at the increase in quality, maybe not the Max Shiny as you said, but still impressive.



Tinom5 #5 Posted 14 October 2017 - 10:29 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 9651 battles
  • 488
  • [STAR-] STAR-
  • Member since:
    01-29-2014

View PostJunglist_, on 14 October 2017 - 10:24 AM, said:

RagingRaptor made some comparison videos minimum Vs ultra settings, there are in a topic bit below yours if you actually have a look around on the forums before posting

http://forum.worldof...ultra-settings/

 

ohh amazing thanks :)

theSwedishTankDriver #6 Posted 14 October 2017 - 09:03 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 24285 battles
  • 952
  • [KITTY] KITTY
  • Member since:
    03-04-2013
Performance is about the same as in the current version.

HundeWurst #7 Posted 14 October 2017 - 09:35 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 69920 battles
  • 4,337
  • [ROIDS] ROIDS
  • Member since:
    02-06-2012

There wont be a way around the HD maps. WG wont give you an option to enable or disable them. You are going to play them either way.

 

However one thing you have to give to WG they optimized them quit well already. Obviously there is always room for improvement but even now its already great.



Homer_J #8 Posted 14 October 2017 - 10:46 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28767 battles
  • 30,039
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010
If anything the standard render on the HD maps is better than the current standard render, and you even get the odd bit of almost HD rock.

Tinom5 #9 Posted 14 October 2017 - 11:10 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 9651 battles
  • 488
  • [STAR-] STAR-
  • Member since:
    01-29-2014

View PostWunderWurst, on 14 October 2017 - 09:35 PM, said:

There wont be a way around the HD maps. WG wont give you an option to enable or disable them. You are going to play them either way.

 

However one thing you have to give to WG they optimized them quit well already. Obviously there is always room for improvement but even now its already great.

 

Oh no no. I dont mean avoiding them. I mean will they be made or optimised for the SD client.

Homer_J #10 Posted 14 October 2017 - 11:22 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28767 battles
  • 30,039
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostTinom5, on 14 October 2017 - 11:10 PM, said:

 

Oh no no. I dont mean avoiding them. I mean will they be made or optimised for the SD client.

 

Reminds me of the patch years ago where WG thought they could speed up the server patching by uploading the new map versions to the server the night before.

 

Somehow the server started using the new maps but we were all using the old ones on the client.  Since the server decides where your tank can and can't move we had tanks floating in mid air and coming to an abrupt halt against invisible obstructions.

 

So, yes they will have standard render versions of the HD maps.



UrQuan #11 Posted 15 October 2017 - 01:47 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 19467 battles
  • 6,184
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-19-2011

View PostHomer_J, on 14 October 2017 - 11:22 PM, said:

 

Somehow the server started using the new maps but we were all using the old ones on the client.  Since the server decides where your tank can and can't move we had tanks floating in mid air and coming to an abrupt halt against invisible obstructions.

 

 

I remember this, El Hallouf was so weird. My tank was going underground crossing the terrain.

 

Also led to this short lived but fun meme'ish image: Hellcat on steppes

I want to believe

 



vixu #12 Posted 15 October 2017 - 10:42 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 42580 battles
  • 3,348
  • Member since:
    03-19-2011
HD maps are quite impressive. Performance is pretty close to what it is now. Problem is that now I am itching to push to better gfx settings. Anyways, I have a fairly mediocre card GeForce 1050. With most settings at maximum, except for  no antialliasing and very little post processing, I was getting 60-70 fps. 




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users